We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Chellowdene

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chellowdene
Ranked #21 of 82 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 4 days in this hotel and it was great, close enough to the town yet far enough to be quiet, close to a great little beach
Down a quiet room with safe off street parking
Troy the owner couldn't do enough on arriving, the breakfasts were great
Would go back again :-)

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank MattGrosvenor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 168 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013

Superb Guest house, warm welcome, Friendly hosts that leave you to your devices but available if needed. We are fussy re hygiene, not the slightest blemish ! everything spotless with quality items throughout. Many hoteliers could learn a lot from TROY AND FAMILY. We will be back, thank you for your excellent treatment.

Room Tip: Balcony view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DivesMablethorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Having just spent 2 nights at the guest house(uni visit) i can honestly say it is excellent, the rooms were spotless and the food very good. The parking is limited but alternatives are available.All in all a very enjoyable experience in a lovely town

Room Tip: sea views are stunning from the balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeremy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

just been to falmouth for one week we could not fault the hotel in anyway service first class,rooms spotless,fantastic choice for breakfast,would recommend for anybody,julie the host we could not fault.really welcoming.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liam519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

From first stepping in to this small hotel/guest house, you can see it is well loved by it's owners. The staff we met are very friendly and seem to be putting your needs to the forefront. We had one of the superior rooms with a balcony and sea views. Although the bedroom was small it contained all that is needed and of course very clean. The bathroom was very small and cramped due in part to the excellent large shower cubicle with power shower.
For us the breakfast times were fine, 8:15 to 9:00 but I could see if you had to be on the road early you could miss out. When we did have breakfast service was very good and food tasty.
However small car park so can get blocked in or find you have blocked someone in.
Location is fine for local beach and only 10 mins to town centre which is mostly downhill. Yes uphill on the way back but moderate hills which had us breathing hard at the top but not exhausted.
Did not sleep well due to the bed being uncomfortable so although a lovely hotel a longer stay would have left us drained.

Room Tip: Even rooms with balcony there is no smoking but they are additional area to sit out of small rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redKev21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

we recently had a week at Chellowdene, we both found it very clean, comfortable and friendly. Plenty of variety at breakfast, but feel there could be more flexability with the time; currently 08.15 to 09.00. Really can not fault this guest house

Room Tip: Lovely to have a balcony,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendyUK07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We spent 4 nights at this very nice guesthouse. Extremely friendly host, nice co-guests, a very friendly family-style atmosphere. Great locatation 100 yards from the beach, 10 minutes walk into the center of town / to the harbour. Great!

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor have a separate bathroom which you reach via the corridor. It isused only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UrsulaHans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#5 of 24 in Falmouth
389 reviews
1.8 mi away
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
#14 of 24 in Falmouth
257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gyllyngvase House Hotel
Gyllyngvase House Hotel
#17 of 24 in Falmouth
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Westcott
The Westcott
#8 of 82 in Falmouth
280 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Red House
The Red House
#16 of 82 in Falmouth
226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Braemar Guest House
Braemar Guest House
#15 of 82 in Falmouth
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chellowdene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chellowdene

Address: Chellowdene Gyllyngvase Hill, Falmouth TR11 4DN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range: $90 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chellowdene 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chellowdene is a friendly family run guest house, 50yds from blue flag gyllyngvase beach and a 10 min walk to the town and harbour ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chellowdene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chellowdene Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing