We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of Chellowdene

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chellowdene
Ranked #21 of 82 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Although our recent stay was fine there were areas that we felt were wanting

1] The room [2] was rather small.
2] The water pressure on the shower was low.
3] The car parking was limited and tight.
4] The biscuit on our tea tray was not replaced during our stay.
5] We could hear the person next door snoring !

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chellowdene, Owner at Chellowdene, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you for your review, we are sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations but if you had raised these issues during your stay we would have done our best to rectify them.
Unfortunately we cannot change the room sizes as it was once a residential property there are some physical restrictions such at chimney breasts.
We are aware of the parking issues but as long as everyone parks considerately then there is enough room for every one to park. Thank you for bringing to our attention the issue with the shower and we are going to get it looked at but if you had mentioned it while here it would have been done sooner.
We do only leave biscuits daily only upon arrival in the welcome tray but if you had requested more this would not have been a problem.
Unfortunately someone snorting in the next room is completely beyond my control.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 167 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

Firstly don't tell everyone about this little gem of a place or they will always be booked up. We did a last minute booking and all I can say is, "its a brilliant place to stay". The owners are very helpful the whole place is immaculate and the location is as they say - the beach is a few minutes walk down the road. Breakfast spot on. Would we go back YOU BET YOUR LIFE ON IT, ASAP.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 397MikeG397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Found this guest house on line. This was the 1st one i looked at, gammbled and booked it, Absolutley thrilled when we arrived, spottless, food great, owners lovely,service great,could not do more for you,only yards from the beach.Town only 5 minute walk, Would highly recommend,hope this helps you choose

Room Tip: We had a room for 3 people great room with sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carl d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Cjelloedene is a comfortable B and B 50 yards from the beach in Falmouth. In an area of many hotels andB and Bs, it stands out with its level of service and attention to detail.
How lovely to have a Cornish establishment boasting all ingredients locally sourced (except Heinz baked beans..), Cornish slate place mats and coasters etc. The rooms are beautifully appointed, warm, modern fitments, comfortable beds etc.
Julia is a welcoming hostess, just the right level of attentiveness and discretion. There is on-site parking in an area where this is at a premium, lthough there is plenty of free on-the-road parking out of season.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Seems to be just the one single room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chrisnik48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This was our second visit to Chellowdene and we were keen to visit again. The first time was a couple of years ago and it seemed even nicer this time. We has such a cosy and clean room with a lovely view of the beach. We were there to visit our son who is at the university, and this was a perfect base to meet him at Gylly for lunch, or walk into town and have a drink and a meal together. Everywhere was spotless and very comfortable. The shower was great. We thoroughly enjoyed our breakfasts which were locally sourced and cooked so well. The owners were very friendly and accommodating. We felt very welcome and look forward to visiting again!

Room Tip: Luxury Room No1 was lovely but we peeked at No2 and it looked just as lovely but a touch bigger!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristinaClayden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chellowdene, Owner at Chellowdene, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Thank you for your complementary review, it was so nice to see you both again and we look forward to your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Chellowdene is a B&B in an excellent location just 100 metres from a nice beach in Falmouth. It is clean and the breakfast is pretty good. The rooms in the main house are attractive if compact but the annexe is a bit poky. Bathrooms are quite small but well fitted though the hot water pressure at the top of the house makes a shower a lengthy process!

Room Tip: Main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank profp42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chellowdene, Owner at Chellowdene, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Hello
Thank you for your review, you will be pleased to know that we have just had a pressurised hot water tank fitted to deal with the problem of pressure on the top floor but I am sure that when the house was built in 1910 the did not imagine that at any point would chellowdene become a bed and breakfast.
When you booked the room with us you did specifically ask me for that ground floor room in the annex even though I gave you a choice of others. When your wife asked if she could move rooms upon arrival we then gave you a choice of 2 others and you chose the one on the top floor after looking around them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

This was a very clean hotel.
The owners were informative and very nice.
The breakfast was great with plenty of choice
The location is great with easy access to town, the castle and the beach is nearly by the front door.
There is parking which is off the road
Would go back again

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chellowdene, Owner at Chellowdene, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Hello
Thank you for a lovley review it is always a pleasure to know that all the hard work the staff put in at chellowdene is appreciated. Hopefully we will see you all again many thanks
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#5 of 24 in Falmouth
374 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seaview Inn
Seaview Inn
#17 of 82 in Falmouth
128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chelsea House
Chelsea House
#2 of 82 in Falmouth
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rosemullion
Rosemullion
#20 of 82 in Falmouth
115 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Thirsty Scholar
The Thirsty Scholar
#3 of 6 in Penryn
64 reviews
0.7 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#39 of 82 in Falmouth
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chellowdene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chellowdene

Address: Chellowdene Gyllyngvase Hill, Falmouth TR11 4DN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range: $85 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chellowdene 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chellowdene is a friendly family run guest house, 50yds from blue flag gyllyngvase beach and a 10 min walk to the town and harbour ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chellowdene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chellowdene Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing