We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful Break.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hawthorne Dene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hawthorne Dene Hotel
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Falmouth
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Peaceful Break.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

My wife and I booked a four night stay here as we have visited Falmouth many times but only ever for a day and wanted the chance to explore what it has to offer.
We were made to feel welcome on arrival and shown to Harvey's room (10) on the top floor which afforded great views across the bay and had the bonus of a Velux window at the rear which was very useful as temperatures were approaching 30 degrees for the duration of our stay. The shower and toilet facilities were compact but adequate for our needs. Bed was very comfortable and room was kept spotless. Breakfast was lovely with a good choice of fruit, yoghurt,cereals and a sensible sized full breakfast offered along with options if you don't fancy the full "Monty".
The Hotel is located approximately 15 minutes walk from the town centre but allow 20 to get back as it is uphill. There is also a stop for the shuttle bus nearby which at £2 for an all day ticket is another option. We used this as I have recently had a knee replacement and although I did manage the walk down to the town one day, I don't think it would have done me any good to walk back up. The lovely Gillyvase beach is only about 10 minutes walk away.
Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely consider staying in this lovely Hotel again.

Room Tip: We liked room 10 but there are 3 flights of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    30
    14
    4
    0
See reviews for
10
32
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

I spent one night here, in a small but more than adequate room. Lovely shower, comfy bed, sea view, excellent value for money. A friendly and welcoming B&B with a hearty breakfast even when you're quite picky with food. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julia201101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

My mother and I stayed at Hawthorne Dene for 1 night as we had to attend a funeral.
We stayed in Mortimer's room which was Twin Bedded, the view was lovely as we could sit on the window seat and lookout towards the sea.

The ensuite was great my only criticism was that there was nowhere to put your washbag especially when there is two of you.

The breakfast was excellent we both had scrambled eggs and they were some of the best I have ever had.

I would certainly stay here again as we were made to feel very welcome.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

We have stayed at the Hawthorne Dene many times over the years, with and without offspring, and have always been satisfied and well catered for. The couple who own and run the hotel offer a warm welcome and a positive response to any needs, and have put their own stamp on this property that has a unique appeal for us. All rooms are clean and the beds are especially comfortable, with those at the front of the house offering wonderful sea views across the bay. The Hawthorne Dene is well situated for the short walk to both Falmouth town centre, and beaches.

Room Tip: For sea views ask for a front of house bedroom (downside is passing road traffic).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Just had an overnight stay, very good value. My room had a lovely view across the Fal estuary - very warm in fact had to turn the heating off. Good ensuite facilities plenty of hot water - macerator a bit noisy. Some traffic noise at front of house but very quiet at night.
A substantial full English breakfast set me up for the day.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJDunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

The Hawthorne is situated on a hill overlooking the bay. This gives you breath taking skies in the morning and a nice view during breakfast. The rooms are named and the reason will be clear :-) Take one person room Humphrey! The walls are paved with historical pictures going back a long time. Take some time to absorb them. The interior is dated but well maintained and the lovely land lady favours classical music, which when you are a fan like me will make you feel going back in time.
The room I stayed in was for one person with a nice bed. The shower and toilet worked fine. Unfortunate there is no dinner in the evening but the centre and port are at walking distance (down hill) if you are a difficult walker look for a better located place.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edwehnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed just one night because we were attending a function at a hotel round the corner which was full. The accomodation has an 'old fashioned' feel to it but all the facilities are good. Our 'luxury' room was large as was our firned's, who also stayed. Both their bed and our bed were uncommonly comfortable! Lovely views. Each room 'belongs' to a teddy bear which is a delightful touch! Plumbing a bit dodgy but we have experienced very musch worse. Breakfast freshly cooked and unhurried. I would stay here rather than in the hotel round the corner where we were the previous year!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#4 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 25 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Merchants Manor
Merchants Manor
#14 of 25 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#9 of 25 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Lerryn Hotel
The Lerryn Hotel
#6 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorne Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Dene Hotel

Property: Hawthorne Dene Hotel
Address: 12 Pennance Road, Falmouth TR11 4EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorne Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run, the Hawthorne Dene is "a smal Edwardian hotel of character and distinction". 4 star,silver award,RAC rosette dinning award family run, cosy log fire,superb food,wine and dinning.All rooms de luxe en suite.Stunning panoramic views of Falmouth bay and close to town and beaches. 10 bedrooms all with individual de luxe quality beds and full facilities. Non-smoking.Ample off road parking. Soil Association members and environmental organic establishment."we look forward to welcoming you" ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Dene Falmouth
Hawthorne Dene Hotel Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing