We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4pm - 7pm Check-in Window - Disappointed”
Review of Lugo Rock

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lugo Rock
Ranked #16 of 82 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“4pm - 7pm Check-in Window - Disappointed”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Having booked this hotel a few days before, we were looking forward to travelling from Buckinghamshire to Falmouth. Being high season, it was tricky finding a room for myself and two daughters - and were delighted to have found the Lugo Rock - at £130 for the night.

What I hadn't noted was the very short check-in window just 4pm - 7pm - only 3 hours. This was on the confirmation email from Booking.com (with whom we booked) - however was in a small print and in brackets, and sadly we'd missed this - our fault.

As we approached the hotel (the email address says hotel), it was 7.23pm - and as we looked again for the accommodation address - we noted the limited check in times - and I asked my daughter to quickly call. After not being able to speak to anyone, she left a voice message to say that we're on our way and apologise for arriving after the check in time.

And after leaving the message, she noted that at 7pm the hotel had left us a voice message saying that as we hadn't arrived we were now classed as a 'no show' and not to come to the accommodation, but to contact booking.com.

We called booking.com who said that we needed to now find alternative accommodation - that someone from Lugo Rock had heard our voice message, had called them to say that we were considered a 'no show' - and that we had been charged the full £130. This seemed rather shocking, surreal and unfair.

And as we arrived at the property - we noted the unwelcome message on the door, which said "If you have booked your room through Booking.com and you have arrived outside of the check-in time (After 7pm) please do not ring the door bell, do not enter the premises but contact Booking.com to arrange alternative accommodation. Thank you."

Ultimately, I accept that the check-in times were on the booking form and that it was my responsibility to check it thoroughly. However, in 2013, I'm surprised and disappointed that a hotel or guest house has such a short check-in window, with no provision for those guest who may arrive slightly later. And for a property in Cornwall which many guest will travel to from some distance (5 hours in our case), it seems unreasonable. It really wasn't the kind of warm Cornish welcome we've come to know and we left Cornwall that evening feeling very disappointed.

If you're considering booking accommodation here, please, please, please - check in within the 3 hour window.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alisoncyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LugoRockHotel, Owner at Lugo Rock, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
It is very regrettable that this guest did not stay with us on the 11th August 2013 and that she has given a review even though she has not stayed with us.
The Lugo Rock is a family run guest house not a hotel. We are not a big hotel with a 24 hour receptionist available to welcome guests and as a family we have other commitments outside the check-in times. We have a three hour check-in time between 4pm and 7pm (which is comparable to many other guest houses) and which is stated on Booking.com along with the price of the rooms etc. All B&B’s (even hotels) have check-in times of some sort and this should be something a guest has regard to when making a booking rather than expecting to check in at any time. If guests contact us in advance, we are happy to make arrangements for a late check-in and we do this quite often. However, if a guest does not mention a late check-in upon booking and does not contact us at all, and is not contactable and only rings us after the check in times have passed and we happen to have other prior engagements which means that we won’t be on the premises then, unfortunately a situation like this can occur. I don’t enjoy being put in a position like this (I would much rather have had this guest stay with us) but
there is only so much we can do in such a set of circumstances.
On the day in question, we had 6 guests who were due to arrive. One guest arrived at 1pm and as we were around, we checked them in early. All our other guests arrived by 7pm apart from that lady making the review. There was no request for a late check-in on the booking form nor had there been any other communication from the guest. As we were going out after 7pm, we rang the guest at 6.30pm and left a message asking her to give us an idea of when she would be arriving and reminding her of our check-in times. We did not receive any reply to this message. We also rang Booking.com and asked them to try to contact her as well to inform her of the situation (I understand that they could not contact the guest either and they had to leave a message). At 7pm we left a further message stating that as we had not received any communication from the guest at all we assumed that the guest was not going to attend. We informed her that she should now contact Booking.com direct and we left her a contact number. Just in case the guest unexpectedly arrived (without our knowledge), we also left a note on our front door. We then went out and did not get back to the Guest House until after 11pm.
The next morning I noticed that I had two voice mail messages. The first message was left by the guest at 7.23pm on 11th August stating that she had only just read the check-in times and hoped that everything is still OK for that night. The second message was left at 8.30pm (I assume when the guest had just arrived at the property) from the guest stating her disappointment with the limited check-in times.
We feel that this review is particularly unfair as we did all we could under the circumstances. Most guests who want to check-in late kindly contact us in advance and then we are happy to make alternative arrangements. If a guest doesn’t contact us, we can only assume that the guest is going to arrive during the checking-in times. In this instance, we tried to contact the guest twice to find out what was happening. At no time did the guest contact us before the check-in time had ended and consequently we could not make any arrangements for them to check-in. The review also makes comment regarding the check-in time’s being in “small print”. As the guest booked via the Booking.com website and not our own website, it is a matter the guest should take up with them direct as we have no control on how they set out their website. Booking.com also clearly states that we are a Guest House not a hotel.
Finally, on the 11th August when this guest was due to arrive, we were on the premises checking in guests for at least 6 hours (1pm until 7pm), but we do have to have a cut off point at some stage. We cannot be on the premises continuously. If we paid for someone to be here throughout the day, then our prices would have to rise accordingly. Although we do not like to be put in this situation, we cannot be held responsible for those guests who do not read the information provided nor answer their phones whilst en route. There was nothing more we could have done to help this guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    47
    11
    5
    5
See reviews for
51
141
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here last minute after deciding to stay an extra night as the hotel where we had been couldn't accommodate us. We weren't disappointed with this hotel- the room and en suite was spotlessly clean and the hotel very quiet at night. Excellently located near to beach and town centre. Lots of car parking space. The breakfast was very good and the staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. There is a nice little lounge for guests to use and a small decking area in the garden with seating. Very happy with our stay and good value at £80 for the night!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Interrailed2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2013

...what can I say about Lugo Rock?! Stayed once in February 2012 and been back 4 times since then so Philip and Jane must be doing something right to make us want to stay with them each time! The hotel is conveniently situated with the beach just a few minutes away and the busy town centre less than 10 minutes away in the other direction. Always guaranteed a friendly welcome and they can't do enough for their guests. A wide choice of breakfast is available each day, although it can be tricky getting up for 09:00 on a Sunday for one! Nothing is too much trouble for them...if only they could make it sunnier for us! Kevin & Stephanie

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

My wife, daughter, and I stayed here for three days at the end of May 2013. Great location, great breakfast, good service, well-appointed rooms. They have a very comfortable guest lounge on the ground floor. Jane and Philip are friendly, hands-on, and helpful hosts.

Remember that there are stairs to climb for almost all the rooms, which can be a problem if one has more than cabin baggage (although Philip cheerfully - and voluntarily - helped us get our luggage upstairs).

I found the bed a little too soft and 'sinky' for my liking, but then I have found that most people seem to prefer these kind of beds; if, like me, you prefer a firm mattress, then you may have the same problem.

Room Tip: The rooms that have some sea view are great because they also have large bathrooms. The "two-in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ap-india
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Situated so close to the beach, about a minute walk, and 10 minute walk into the main high street couldn't be better.
Hosts were great on arrival giving maps and details of all we wanted to know before having to ask.
Really friendly staff.
Room was good for all that we needed, shower a little big of a squeeze.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newlands, South Africa
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We only stayed here for 1 night en route to North Devon. Accommodation was superb, lovely room overlooking quiet street at night, very small shower but otherwise all was good and clean. There is a lovely guest lounge and sun deck for use with magazines and books at your disposal. Down the road is a lovely beach, pity it was too cold for us to enjoy, but there were a lot of brave people in the water! Also situated very close to town approx 10-15 minutes gentle walk. Breakfast was fresh and served with a smile, very good breakfast to sustain you up until lunch. Phillip and Jane are lovely friendly hosts and this accommodation is highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Childa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I had not been to Cornwall since the mid 1970's and, following this visit, it won't be another forty years before I return.
Lugo Rock is an excellent base for both Falmouth and Cornwall. We hired the family room which is ideal for a single dad with two boys. The room and bathroom were clean and there were fresh towels every day. Phil (the proprietor) doubles up as the chef and his breakfast is a great way to start the day. During our four day stay I alternated between the full English (with tasty Kernow sausages) and smoked salmon and scrambled egg. He was also on hand to offer advice on where to visit.
Falmouth is a working port with lots to do and see. There are many of good eating places (we were particularly impressed by the Warehouse) and great views of the harbour from the streets in the higher part of the town and from Pendennis Point. Make sure to take in a walk of the castle grounds particularly in the evening as the sun goes down.
Another must is the 9 mile coastal walk from Falmouth to Helford Passage. The pint of St Austell Tribute in the Ferryboat Inn at the end of the walk is to die for, but make sure you don't stay too long and miss the last bus back to Falmouth which leaves at 4.05pm from the hill above Helford.
A great four days made all the better by our accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkBrennand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#4 of 23 in Falmouth
337 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 23 in Falmouth
1,081 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 23 in Falmouth
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 23 in Falmouth
165 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#9 of 23 in Falmouth
1,105 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#10 of 23 in Falmouth
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lugo Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lugo Rock

Property: Lugo Rock
Address: 59 Melvill Road, Falmouth TR11 4DF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lugo Rock 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lugo Rock Bed and Breakfast is located in Falmouth, Cornwall it is a lovely historic old house set in a stunning location with the Blue Flag Gyllyngvase Beach and Falmouth sea front literally at the end of the road. All of our rooms have private en suites, we have unlimited free Wi-Fi access throughout the entire building and a free car park for all our guests. We have a large guest lounge with sofas, papers, board games and magazines leading out on to our sun deck with tables and chairs. We have many larger deluxe rooms with Kingsize beds and seating areas and also combined double and single rooms as well as standard doubles and deluxe twins. We serve an extensive breakfast everyday and guests have the option to purchase takeaway picnics or packed lunches. The Lugo Rock is a non smoking guest house. We also now have a Television which includes BT Sport in the Guest Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Lugo Rock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lugo Rock Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing