We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 nights b&b at the lugo rock”
Review of Lugo Rock

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lugo Rock
Ranked #18 of 83 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“3 nights b&b at the lugo rock”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

best way to describe the experience was that everything was ok also good position for falmouth town and beaches

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pier49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    47
    11
    6
    5
See reviews for
57
145
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2012

My wife and I have been visiting Cornwall for as long as we can remember. We have stayed in the best, and worst, places Cornwall has to offer. The Lugo Rock is an absolute "little gem"
Jane & Philip Carmichael - the proprietor's - make you very welcome and nothing is too much trouble. The staff are young, clean, happy and extremly polite. The Lugo Rock is advertised as a B&B, and it is one the very best we have stayed at. However - with 12 rooms, (two or three of which are famliy rooms), it has the feel of a cosy little famliy run hotel. The full english breakfast is second to none! - well ballanced, fresh, hot and served up quickly on spotlessly clean crockery. Recently re-decorated, our room was bright, clean and just what we would have expected at the price. The Lugo Rock has ample parking space for cars and would even take a small mini bus, (say a 12 seater). It's just a short walk to both the beach and town centre.
All-in-all it is definitely worth a visit. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to say if the room is not quite what you expected.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seaboots96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2012

If you are staying here ask for a room in the old building. The rooms in the new wing are small and characterless. As a previous reviewer noted, it is more like a motel than a B&B. On the upside, the hosts are pleasant, the room was very clean and the breakfast was reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank em123627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying here last October with a few friends. The hosts and staff couldn't have been more welcoming and friendly, it was great to chat with them- especially when we found out we had the local beer festival in common!

The rooms were spotlessly clean and very comfortable - everything you could need. The breakfasts were excellent - more or less anything you liked cooked with all the other usual breakfast items.

We wouldn't hesitate about going back and are looking forward to our next trip down later this year.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sussexb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012 via mobile

I would not generally book a B&B but was travelling with a colleague who had made the booking as we were looking for a place within walking distance of the town centre, however our stay was very good nothing like my pre conceived notions and concerned of staying in someone's house.

The owner not too intrusive but friendly and helpfully, had to write our breakfast requirements in the book the night before which was novel but I guess ensured the kitchen were ready for you and food very freshly cooked not an overheated buffet.

Both of our rooms were pleasant and modern, flat screen tv's and quality free wifi

Short walk into town for dinner where there was plenty choice and topped off in the morning with a hearty breakfast,

Would I do B&B again ....I would this one

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shotokan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We wanted somewhere centrally located, and the Lugo Rock fitted the bill perfectly. Philip and Jane were very welcoming and easy going. We were located close to the beach and within 10 minutes walk of the Maritime Museum, and all the restaurants. Nice room and lovely breakfasts.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CherryCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon UK
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Four of us thoroughly enjoyed our stay last week, Friendly welcome from Philip and Jane,wonderful breakfast, comfy room with tea making facilities lovely large well furnished sitting room, very attractive dining room large car park.We would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eunever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
1.0 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#5 of 24 in Falmouth
353 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#4 of 24 in Falmouth
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#11 of 24 in Falmouth
1,137 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#12 of 24 in Falmouth
359 reviews
0.3 mi away
Merchants Manor
Merchants Manor
#13 of 24 in Falmouth
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lugo Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lugo Rock

Property: Lugo Rock
Address: 59 Melvill Road, Falmouth TR11 4DF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lugo Rock 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lugo Rock Bed and Breakfast is located in Falmouth, Cornwall it is a lovely historic old house set in a stunning location with the Blue Flag Gyllyngvase Beach and Falmouth sea front literally at the end of the road. All of our rooms have private en suites, we have unlimited free Wi-Fi access throughout the entire building and a free car park for all our guests. We have a large guest lounge with sofas, papers, board games and magazines leading out on to our sun deck with tables and chairs. We have many larger deluxe rooms with Kingsize beds and seating areas and also combined double and single rooms as well as standard doubles and deluxe twins. We serve an extensive breakfast everyday and guests have the option to purchase takeaway picnics or packed lunches. The Lugo Rock is a non smoking guest house. We also now have a Television which includes BT Sport in the Guest Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Lugo Rock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lugo Rock Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing