We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice comfortable room,shame we were refused breakfast.”
Review of The Red House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Red House
Ranked #14 of 82 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice comfortable room,shame we were refused breakfast.”
Reviewed July 26, 2009

All good points irrelevant when we were refused breakfast because we turned up for breakfast just after 9.05am on a Saturday morning. Strict adherence to stopping serving at 9.00a.m. Humiliation in front of other guests busy tucking into full cooked English.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndyPandyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sailornick, Owner at The Red House, responded to this review, December 21, 2009
We serve breakfast between 8.00am and 9.00am we think this is adequate time to appear for breakfast. If you are late for breakfast we do offer tea,coffee, cereals and toast but this was refused on this occasion. It is a shame that this person responded by walking across the bed sheets with muddy feet and walking off with the room keys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    43
    10
    2
    9
See reviews for
50
113
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2009

I'd like to point out that i'm not someone who has ever written on tripadvisor before, but i always search for reviews before booking anywhere. My girlfriend and i have today returned from a long weekend at the Red House and feel i have to write a review. The Red House is a fantastic b&b. Karen & Nick are great hosts and made us feel right at home. We booked a Super King room with ensuite. The room was very large, the bed was a true superking (6' WIDE)...which my girlfriend appreciated, as i have been known to fidget during the night and move onto her side. The room included tv,dvd,freeview,fridge,tea& coffee,wifi, and ensuite shower room, what else could you need? The tv could've been bigger but we weren't there to watch tv all day, we did stay in and watch a dvd 1 night and it was fine. Breakfast was brilliant. All in all a great place and fantastic hosts. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andysniper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2007

This quiet B&B is in an ideal location to explore Falmouth. With parking available and just a short walk into town.

We only stayed for one night. The room was quite small. However; our hosts were very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and fresh nice linen. Breakfast was great and filling.

My gripes would be the size of the room and its decor was in need of an update. The bathroom was tired and shower very weak power wise. We had a ground floor room and you can hear all the noise along the corridor so no chance of a lie in.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bug-x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nickone, Owner at The Red House, responded to this review, March 19, 2008
We had only taken over the guest house 3 months previously and this room had not been updated at this time. The room has now been completely redecorated and furniture has been repositioned. The room size is the standard required by National Quality awards to gain 4 stars. The shower is a new electric shower.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2006

Like most B+Bs, space was tight in the room, but everything fit and there was even a trestle for one suitcase and space on the top of a low bureau for another so we were happy. The bathroom was ensuite. It could use better ventilation to keep it drier, but that's a minor complaint.

We had a room at the back -- lovely and quiet. I think the rooms at the front might be a little noisy from the cars rushing past on the road on the front, but probably OK at night -- can't imagine there'd be much traffic at that end of Falmouth at night.

The host and hostess provided an excellent breakfast -- hot and cold -- everything one could desire. They were also very kind, letting us leave suitcases around as we arrived early on the day we checked-in and left late on the day we checked-out. (The vagaries of train times.)

The B+B had wireless with a high-speed connection which worked fine.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ggfgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
1.0 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 23 in Falmouth
1,110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#4 of 23 in Falmouth
347 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 23 in Falmouth
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#9 of 23 in Falmouth
1,118 reviews
0.5 mi away
Merchants Manor
Merchants Manor
#14 of 23 in Falmouth
550 reviews
0.3 mi away
St Michael's Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red House

Property: The Red House
Address: 24 Melvill Road, Falmouth TR11 4AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Red House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and join us for a restful and relaxing break at our family run guest house here in the heart of Falmouth. The Red House is an elegant and distinctive Victorian house which overlooks the picturesque harbour and the River Fal. This beautiful William Morris designed Victorian house was originally built for and owned by Lord Kimberley around 1870. This family home has been lovingly transformed into a bed and breakfast and is ideally positioned to capture the full beauty of Falmouth and the surrounds. Situated about 150 meters from the sea front (Gyllyngvase and Castle beaches) and about 7 minutes walk into the town and harbour. Near to Princess Pavilion with its beautiful gardens with free entertainment in the summer, The Maritime Museum, Pendennis Castle and Falmouth Town train station is also nearby. This is family a run guesthouse offering a quality bed and breakfast to make your stay as relaxing and enjoyable as possible, special diets can be catered for i.e... Wheat, gluten free, vegetarian, vegan or raw vegan (please advise in advance). There is onsite parking for 6 cars with free street parking also available all nearby. Free Wi - Fi is available in all rooms or use of a computer with printer in the breakfast room. There are three rooms on the ground floor for ease (not having to use the stairs) and a further 6 rooms on the first floor. A galleried landing on the first floor with stunning views across the bay to Flushing making an ideal photo opportunity or to sit and gaze at the boats going by, it is also a tranquil place to sit write post cards or just read. Pet friendly: We accept pets in certain rooms please telephone prior to booking to check a room is available. There is a charge of £5.00 per night; unfortunately we cannot accept pets in the breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Red House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red House Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing