We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing or antiseptic: it all depends what you're looking for”
Review of Pendra Loweth

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Falmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pendra Loweth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2014

I take it readers know that Pendra Loweth is a "village" of holiday rental units, arranged as row housing (but each one looking a little different) in a quiet, even picturesque setting outside Falmouth. I'd been afraid it would be noisy, with small children shrieking and music playing, but I must say the project has been carried off as well as it possibly could be. As for our individual unit (Gew, #65), it was quiet, clean and spacious. On top of it all, the price was right, being quite a bit lower than one would have to pay in Falmouth itself, at least in the summer months.

Two minor peeves before getting to the decider: there was no wi-fi in our unit (though it was available at the reception area in the centre of the "village"), and the laundry machines were expensive at four pounds for a fairly small washer.

Any decision to return to Pendra Loweth would depend entirely on the length of my stay. I know Falmouth quite well, having lived there for three years as a boy. Thus, for a short stay of a day or two, it would be frustrating to stay at PL - it's about a couple of miles away from the town centre (less to the beaches) and, although I'm a keen walker, there's not much alternative to relying on the car. Also, at night, one feels isolated in the pretty PL "suburb", with no sense at all of being in Falmouth. One might as well be anywhere.

On this occasion we stayed, though, for three nights, and by the end of our stay I was beginning to appreciate a quiet base for the evening. We spent our days "doing" Falmouth, and other places in the area, after which we'd go back to PL, cook supper and relax. If I were in Falmouth for a week or more, I'd find PL quite an attractive option for the reasons I gave earlier. (By the way, I believe most units ask for a week-long minimum stay but am not certain of this. We were able to get an exception as the unit's owners agreed.)

The long and the short of it: this is a very agreeable "suburb" which, if you're in Falmouth for a week or so, you're likely to appreciate. For a shorter visit, though, try to get something closer to town.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank botafogoblogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
There are newer reviews for Pendra Loweth
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 75 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2014

Our cottage (Gillan - Number 60) was very comfortable and well furnished. We had booked the cottage for my wife's "significant" birthday, and everything about the cottage helped our celebration. It was light, airy and very well located for a range of Cornish attractions - Trebah Gardens was a particular favourite. Our cottage had three bedrooms, sleeping six people. Our bedroom came with an ensuite bathroom - a nice touch.t
There was a reasonably priced pub/cafe on site, together with a gym/steam room/pool, so lots to do for a family visit. This was our second vist to this cottage - we will return!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank bourneirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed at Pendra Loweth in August 2013, at the cottage “Rainbow’s End”. The cottage, and “village” was fantastic – within walking distance of three brilliant beaches. The kids favourite was Maenporth, but the ice-creams at Swanpool need to be seen (and tasted) to be believed!

The village is very well presented, with a well-stocked bar on site, which doubles as a small general store during the day if you need to pick up essentials. There are tennis courts and ball game areas, and a small play area too, so plenty to do for the children! The only down side was that the pool is quite small, so can get quite busy. There is a small gym on site, which I never had time to try out.

The food on site was excellent – could not complain about the quality or the quantity of the varied menu choices. Also, the desserts were fantastic!

Booking was very easy, and any queries I had were quickly answered by email. Nothing seemed to be any trouble to the staff there, before or during our visit.

Pendra Loweth is a great base to head of further afield into Cornwall, but Falmouth has plenty to offer, and even with a 7 and 3 year old, was within walking distance along a pretty coastal path. The castle is worth a visit, too.

We will be returning in the future.

Room Tip: Rainbow's End was a very spacious and well fitted cottage, but from talking to other holiday mak...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in Mulberry Cottage no 95.
Lovely modern cottage in quiet location.
This cottage is equipped to a very good standard and there was nothing missing a real home from home.
WiFi povided which was great for planning on places to visit using the smartphone.
I will return to this cottage again, we were there during some very wet and windy weather and hardly noticed at all. Benefits of the beautiful wooded valley.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gk1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

A surprise as the location is very hidden away in a narrow stream valley about half a mile inland from Maenporth beach. The houses (about 120) are modern but nicely done, extremely well equipped and spotlessly clean. Every house faces south or west and has a screened patio with furniture - not completely private but the site feels spacious and the occasional passer-by on the paths not a bother. Easy parking and beautifully landscaped gardens around the central stream. The cafe was very good and the staff friendly, we didn't use the pool but it is on the small side and really only good as a children's splash pool. But Maenporth and Swanpool are close by with clean, shallow safe bathing. It isn't the sort of complex with a kids club and cabaret every night. There were plenty of families, but it's mainly geared to a mature and more self-reliant type of holiday maker.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adfbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

A very nice development of modern cottages with good facilities, including an onsite bar/restaurant, shop and leisure facilities including splash pool, jacuzzi, steam room, gym and games room with pool table. Lots of open spaces and paths for kids to cycle, plus tennis and ball courts across the site. The only thing I would want to see is a bigger pool - a swimming pool rather than a "splash pool".

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank gordoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Pendra Loweth is great as we can take the dog. The complex would be improved if it had a proper swimming pool (the splash pool is jacuzzi sized) and views - can't really do anything about that. To be honest if we didn't have the dog we would stay at Maenporth Estate, the quality is higher. Our boys enjoyed the tennis courts and we enjoyed the location as its near to areas we visit. Be warned no dog friendly beaches nearby. The only one is at the gardens of Trebah. You pay £8.50 entrance however it's then free entry for a week and it is beautiful.
The cottage was OK however we stayed a couple of doors down last year at Herons Reach and that was much nicer - larger and decorated to a higher standard. There was a distinct lack of kitchen equipment a 103, this was noted by others in the visitors book. This meant planning meals carefully. Some of the furniture and pictures etc were tired and needed replacing. The double bed in my room squeaked and creaked terribly and there was just me in it! I couldn't turn over without everyone knowing. When you are paying nearly £1000 for the week it really isn't good enough. Yes we'll return to Pendra so long as we have the dog (he is 15) however we won't choose 103 Waterside.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank sweetpe4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falmouth
4.0 mi away
Trengilly Wartha Country Inn
0.8 mi away
Penmere Manor Hotel
Penmere Manor Hotel
#16 of 24 in Falmouth
299 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Merchants Manor
Merchants Manor
#14 of 24 in Falmouth
574 reviews
2.8 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
691 reviews
20.9 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pendra Loweth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pendra Loweth

Address: Maen Valley, Falmouth TR11 5BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Falmouth
Number of rooms: 116
Also Known As:
Pendra Loweth Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing