We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once again, fantastic hospitality”
Review of The Grove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Grove Hotel
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2009

With rooms having been refurbished, the quality and comfort of the accommodation is incredible for the price. A very pleasant, comfortable bar and efficient breakfast staff serving a high quality start to the day.

From the Management down, one is made to feel very welcome and at ease whatever the purpose of your stay.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonty147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 363 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2009

What a great little Guest house this was! Well deserved of its reputation on Trip Advisor.

We ended up booking a four poster room on the ground floor (room 17), which had limited views of the harbour (We were told this when booked though, so fully expected it!), however we got our own front door into the Hotel, and our own private entrance lobby which were all recently refurbished and looked excellent.

Noise from the road outside was acceptable, and even though we stayed there over a bank holiday weekend, there was no real noise after 11pm or so, and on the second night we had the shutters closed making it quieter still.

The room itself was also recently renovated and had all the expected amenities, (Kitkats on arrival were greatly appreciated!) The only thing I noticed was there was no phone in the room, so dialling 0 for reception would have been tricky!

Staff were all excellent and very friendly, the two girls in the restaurant seemed very pleasant and diligently took our orders for the excellent breakfast whilst asking how our day before was (Great food and great selection by the way).

I think the overall attention to detail of the hotel was very high which is really nice to see, and made it a very pleasurable stay - In fact the hotel's website doesn't really do it justice.

One comment about the parking. There is no parking off road for the hotel, there are spaces right outside on the road, and if you are lucky you may be able to catch one. Failing that, there's a single yellow on the opposite side of the road, which gives you until 9am to move the car. The Groves car park opposite the hotel was a pay and display for those who could be bothered to park elsewhere. The Hotel does have some permits, but we were not able to get any, I would try requesting one when booking over the phone.

We found a parking space a couple of times on the road directly behind the hotel (about 5 mins walk), which was a bit tight street to park in, but very typical of seaside towns.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donut_Mouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2009

My friends and I stumbled across this hotel whilst on a road trip. What an absolute find!!!

We turn up at 7pm and were greeted by the legendary Mr Cumins (hotel owner).
Luckily, we grab the last available room, which had to be modified slightly to accommodate an extra bed. Cute rooms with everything you could need - even had Wi-Fi!

As we were last minute drop-ins, we had to change rooms for our second night and were treated to a four-poster chamber bedroom with a lovely bathroom.

Included in our price was an amazing breakfast served by the most charming of waiting staff.

Our trip to Falmouth would not have been complete without meeting Mr Cumins (with the driest sense of humour in the world!) and staying at The Grove.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2009

It's basically a nice family run hotel, the owner was so friendly at check in and even moved his car so we could park for free on the street!
The rooms are nice and clean, the furniture looks in good condition and the bathrooms are good.
The feel of the hotel isn't polished but cosy.
Breakfast is reasonable and if you fancy a drink in the bar the owner will serve you like you were a guest in his house.
Excellent location for Flamouth, even though there is no hotel car park there is plenty of public car parking opposite (they have a limited number of free permits).

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aeonf242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2009

Stayed here while attending a wedding for two nights in May 2009. We had a lovely en-suite room overlooking the harbour that was ample for our daughter's travel cot and also had a flat screen tv and i-pod dock. Breakfast was very good with a good choice and the staff were all excellent and very helpful. This place is a breath of fresh air in the hit and miss world of small hotels and B&B's in the UK. Keep it up The Grove!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brj1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2009

Geoff and Sian are very welcoming. The rooms are always clean. We have stayed at The Grove for business and have gone back for pleasure.

The service is great and the staff are helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nawtHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2009

We booked through lastmiute.com on the morning of departure down to Cornwall as the weather forcast looked good!
On arrival the front of the hotel and reception looked a little shabby and we thought oh oh!
However the room was very nice and fairly recently refurbshed with views of the main road over to the harbour. A real result was the pizzaexpress across the road for the kids.
Cleanliness was spot on throughout. The bar and dinning room were modern and stylish and breakfast was fantastic with proper sausages and home made hashrowns.
The owner was incredibly helpful and gives you a parking permit (if available) for the car park across the road. He even let us keep it for the following day after checkout while we sauntered off to St Mawes! Overall an excellent experience...highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skidder652003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.8 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,185 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#10 of 24 in Falmouth
1,171 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#4 of 24 in Falmouth
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
207 reviews
1.1 mi away
Penmere Manor Hotel
Penmere Manor Hotel
#16 of 24 in Falmouth
304 reviews
2.1 mi away
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
#14 of 24 in Falmouth
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grove Hotel

Address: Grove Place, Falmouth TR11 4AU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
#1 Family Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range: $111 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grove Hotel has been renovated to a high standard preserving its historical Georgian charm. Facing the National Maritime Museum and the River Fal estuary with its busy harbour the en-suite rooms have far reaching views. The hotel is perfectly located for exploring Falmouth being only one minute's level walk into town with its varied choice of restaurants, harbour side pubs, shops, ferries, diving centres and sailing clubs. Please note we have no car park. There is street parking and several public car parks in the immediate vicinity FIBRE OPTIC BROADBAND HAS RECENTLY BEEN INSTALLED ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your The Grove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grove Hotel Falmouth
The Grove Hotel Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing