We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel and location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grove Hotel
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great hotel and location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for a night in mid November and had very pleasant stay. As with most places there are positives and negatives. However, at The Grove Hotel the positives definetly far outweighed the negatives (only a couple).

Positives:
Location - The hotel is located near the harbour and provides an excellent location for walking around town.
Parking - We were provided a pass to park in the lot across the street.
Rooms - The room was quite nice and spacious. Nicely decorated, clean, warm, comfortable bed, linens and pillows. Not cluttered or excessive. Bathroom recently renovated and nice.
Breakfast - Good breakfast. Typical options of cereal, fruit, toast and hot options. I had the full English and it was quite nice.
Price - Definite value for money. In many of our stays throughout England we've paid quit a bit more for B&Bs and ended up with accommodations of far less quality.

Negatives:
We could only think of two negatives with our stay.
Shower - The shower has an electric shower so the temperature is a bit difficult to get to your liking and the flow was quite low.
Bed Frame - The frame was a nice wooden frame, but unfortunately was quite noisy. Being a light sleeper, every time my wife turned the bed made quite a bit of noise and woke me up. Easily remedied with the use of ear plugs.

Without a doubt we found the Grove Hotel to be more than expected and as a result had a great weekend stay in Falmouth. If we returned, we would definitely stay again and would recommend to anyone.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dlowe903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    91
    20
    4
    2
See reviews for
67
114
24
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 10 days whilst working at the shipyard nearby.

Firstly, I've got to say that breakfast is excellent, probably the best I've had anywhere in the UK and the staff are very helpful.

The location is also very good, right on the edge of town and close to lots of restaurants, Tesco is also opposite. Although there is no car park the large one over the road is free after 17.30.

I stayed in more recently refurbished side of the hotel and my room was excellent although the shower is a little small I can't think of another negative.

My booking process was a little confused, although the owner in a nice chap there is no computerised system here!

I needed some laundry done and it was dealt with in house with no problem at all at short notice.

I will definitely return on my next trip.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian_C96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

A welcoming, friendly hotel with very helpful staff. We spent 2 nights at the Grove in a lovely room with an extremely comfortable bed. The bathroom was bright and modern with all the necessary toiletries.Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleEgret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Just a short 2 night stay, made very pleasant by good quality room and general decor & nice ambiance of hotel generally. Proprietor Geoff very relaxed and aminable with tips for places to visit / eat. Hotel short walk from town centre, approx 5mins. 1 minute from harbour and choice of eating venues.
Will visit again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FELLOWTRAVELLER66Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We had a two night stay in this hotel and were made to feel very much at home. Our room was perfect for our needs and the breakfast was amazing. With views over the harbour and looking straight at Rick Stein's fish restaurant...what more could you ask for!! All staff were really helpful, parking was free and i would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 4 with a double and single bed has a wonderful view, although with it being at the front there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Lovely holiday spent in a great location with lovely staff and top "mine host" - the breakfast is legend - especially the "award winning sausages" and home-made bread :) ... really couldn't ask for more.

Room Tip: the back is quiet and peaceful, but the front have great views of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacqui S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We chose this hotel because of its position - just a walk away from many fabulous restaurants and the main streets of Falmouth so this was our second visit . Good comfortable bedroom with modern ensuite and plentiful supply of hot water. Fabulous breakfast - we loved that it was freshly cooked & had waitress service. The staff were all really friendly and helpful . What more is needed? We shall be back

Gill

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#4 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 25 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#8 of 25 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lerryn Hotel
The Lerryn Hotel
#6 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grove Hotel

Property: The Grove Hotel
Address: Grove Place, Falmouth TR11 4AU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Falmouth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grove Hotel has been renovated to a high standard preserving its historical Georgian charm. Facing the National Maritime Museum and the River Fal estuary with its busy harbour the en-suite rooms have far reaching views. The hotel is perfectly located for exploring Falmouth being only one minute's level walk into town with its varied choice of restaurants, harbour side pubs, shops, ferries, diving centres and sailing clubs. Please note we have no car park. There is street parking and several public car parks in the immediate vicinity FIBRE OPTIC BROADBAND HAS RECENTLY BEEN INSTALLED ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Grove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grove Hotel Falmouth
The Grove Hotel Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing