We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place to stay in falmouth”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dolvean House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Falmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dolvean House
Ranked #32 of 80 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tetbury, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great place to stay in falmouth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Just spent 2 nights at dolvean house top quality rooms and great breakfast
made very welcome and is in a good location walking distance to the town and the beach.
parking on site which is very important in Falmouth also we were given a1 advice off where to eat
and some walks in the area

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buzz26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
30
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We booked into the Dolvean House on a family recommendation as we were attending a wedding in another hotel. All we can say is, lovely room and en-suite. Very clean. Sean and Renate were great hosts and nothing was too much trouble. Excellent breakfast with lots of choices. We will definitely stay there again if we visit Falmouth.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TREMETHICK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

I have nothing but praise for Shaun and Renate, the owners of Dolvean House.
I stayed for two nights in a single room at the top of this beautiful house. When I arrived I was met by Shaun who was friendly, welcoming. My room and en-suite bathroom were immaculately clean, comfortable and well equipped with a fantastic view out towards the harbour, despite being a single it was very spacious.
Breakfast was a real treat; as well as fruit, cereal, meat and cheese there was a large choice of cooked food and very good coffee.
The house is situated about 10 minutes easy walk from the Maritime Museum, harbour and town centre.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pkh1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WILTSHIRE
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Dolvean House was a great choice of guest accommodation, with its position halfway between the beach and the harbour. Renate and Shaun the perfect host friendly and attentive at all times, and between them they do a great breakfast. Our room was nice with good linen and towels, and I must give a mention to the range of teas and the quality of the biscuits. The other guest was a mix of ages and nationalities and this made for a great week. So Shaun and Renate keep up your good work.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WESSEXMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Lincs
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed as part of a group of twelve car enthusiasts. The owners are clearly devoted to providing a good service and could not have been more helpful. The building is a large converted Victorian (?) house with very comfortable dining room and lounge. An honesty bar is provided. The rooms were a decent size, the beds were excellent and the bathroom was fully functional. Everything was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was freshly cooked to order. The wi-fi was a little variable in our room but worked well in the lounge. Falmouth centre is a 10 min walk. An excellent B&B.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljrNLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun24, Owner at Dolvean House, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your time in writing such kind words of your stay with us. We very much enjoyed having you all with us and fun to see all the cars lined up washed and polished. Hope we see you all again soon. Take care & Safe driving. Shaun & Renate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incline Village, Nevada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

I stayed here for three nights as part of a small group tour and found it to be an excellent accommodation in a good location. The hosts are lovely and bags were carried to the rooms in a cheerful manner. My charming room (#4) had a nice outlook and was clean, airy and comfortable and well arranged. Good quality linens and a most comfortable bed were very welcome. The bed lamps were a bit low but better than most and the heating and lighting overall was very good. The small but adequate bathroom offered quality towels (and facecloths!!!) with plenty of hot water and an easily controlled shower.

A workable desk and chest, a nice tea tray and good amenities all added up to a very pleasant atmosphere. (Small gripe: the closet was small which was okay but the front to back hanger system was not very convenient.)

The breakfast was excellent, served to order and nicely presented. Dolvean is definitely recommended!

Room Tip: Room 4 was quiet, clean and well arranged.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inclinekiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
102 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed two nights when walking the Coastal path. Everything good including a comfortable sitting room which was much appreciated as it was our rest day and it rained!. Dolvean House is a short walk into the centre of Falmouth

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randjcheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Melvill House
Melvill House
#21 of 80 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosemullion
Rosemullion
#15 of 80 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Telford Guest House
Telford Guest House
#8 of 80 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lugo Rock
Lugo Rock
#12 of 80 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westcott
The Westcott
#6 of 80 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oasis Guest House
Oasis Guest House
#30 of 80 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolvean House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolvean House

Property: Dolvean House
Address: 50 Melvill Road, Falmouth TR11 4DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Dolvean House 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA 5 Star Victorian house offering luxurious B&B guest accommodation, all en-suite rooms are individually decorated and most have sea or harbour views. Beds have pocket sprung mattresses, there is a guest lounge with licensed bar, free wifi & free easy car parking. A few minutes walk away from beaches and shops or a short drive to many of Cornwall's finest gardens, there is so much to do. A warm welcome awaits you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dolvean House Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing