We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant stay”
Review of The Westcott

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Westcott
Ranked #8 of 82 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2012

The B&B is very clean, the owners are very friendly and helpfull. They will let you know where to eat and what to do. The breakfast is delicious and there is plenty to choose from. It is only 1 minute walk from the beach and 10 minutes from the city centre. Good choice!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Justyna06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 275 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2012

this b&b is very friendly with a helpful staff who go out of their way to make you welcome. the room was a good size and the breakfast was excellent and i am someone who rarely eats breakfast so that is quite something. you can choose what you like from cooked menu and they make it fresh. there is also a lighter option. the hotel is very well located with a nice beach at the end of the road and a 10 minute walk to the centre of falmouth. the railway station is a few minutes walk away. they provide a lounge with games for rainy days and are happy for you to leave luggage and use facilities after check out. attractive and very friendly b&b.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anita470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Recently stayed at the Westcott for 3 nights. We had a wonderful welcome from Mark and Sally, the owners. Superb stay in great cosy room, excellent breakfast, and only 2 min walk from the beach and a delicious restaurant. Would fully recommend staying there, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Defgef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Friendly, welcoming hosts; great location; delicious breakfasts; excellent service; clean and quite comfortable. We stayed three nights here in Falmouth at the beginning of a three-week vacation in England. Mark and Sally were wonderful hosts, providing valuable information as to where to eat and what to see. At our request, they arranged for a taxi to meet us at the train station the day we arrived. (That is actually a walkable distance from the hotel, but not with three weeks worth of luggage that included hiking gear!) The hotel is just minutes from one of the wonderful beaches and perhaps 10 min walk into the center of Falmouth. Great choices for breakfast that was graciously served by the staff. (We tend to be picky about these things since we run a B&B ourselves.) We did find our room to be on the small side considering our two suitcases and backpacks, but the bathroom was pristine. Absolutely would choose to stay here again if we ever get back to Cornwall!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BellaBaggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

What great value for money at The Westcott ! Lovely rooms, absolutely immaculately clean and comfortable. Great choice and quality of food at breakfast, service to table second to none! Sally and Mark are on their way to 5 stars.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

I stayed for a couple of nights in early June 2012 while attending a wedding in a nearby village and was very impressed. I needed somewhere accessible from the train station (Falmouth Town) and affordable, with The Westcott delivering both.

The welcome upon arrival by Sally was friendly and informative, as was the help and assistance throughout my stay (eg. taxis, buses, directions, recommendations for food). The breakfast was great, with a good choice of food. The freshly prepared cooked breakfast was very good as was the fruit salad!

Would recommend to others and return myself if I visit Falmouth again. Thank you for a enjoyable weekend stay in Falmouth!

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 5 which is on the second floor and have no complaints about the room. Small ensuite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhys001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed for a week and really enjoyed it. We used it as a base for touring Cornwall. It is very convenient, about a 12 minute walk to the town centre and only about 100m from the beach. Sally and Mark, the owners, are very friendly, helpful and professional. Room was spotless and was cleaned daily during our stay. Breakfast was excellent, with a good choice. The breakfast waitresses were unfailingly cheerful and helpful.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Our room was on the top floor and final flight of stairs is quite steep. We had no problem but bewar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben9Dublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.4 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#4 of 24 in Falmouth
1,141 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lerryn Hotel
The Lerryn Hotel
#7 of 24 in Falmouth
433 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#10 of 24 in Falmouth
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chelsea House
Chelsea House
#2 of 82 in Falmouth
154 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sandy Duck
The Sandy Duck
#6 of 82 in Falmouth
80 reviews
0.2 mi away
Telford Guest House
Telford Guest House
#7 of 82 in Falmouth
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westcott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westcott

Address: Gyllyngvase Hill, Falmouth TR11 4DN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range: $78 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westcott 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly family-run bed and breakfast offering good quality accommodation at affordable prices. Ideally situated, it overlooks the award winning, Blue Flag Gyllyngvase beach and is just a short walk away from Falmouth Centre. Less than 1 mile from Pendennis Castle a truly Fantastic location to explore Cornwall's coastline and gardens. We have single, double & twin rooms all with ensuite available. We have a luxurious kingsize room with separate seating area overlooking the beach/sea. We have an outside seating area for guests to sit and watch the sun go down over the sea in the evening. We now have Infinity Wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Westcott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westcott Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing