We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'd certainly book again.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tregenna Guest House
Ranked #12 of 83 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2012

It was graduation week, and Falmouth was pretty full. Went on LateRooms and saw Tregenna had a room available. Rang and booked direct with the owner. Arrived a bit late, but still a very warm, friendly welcome.

Double room very clean and comfortable with ensuite bathroom also very clean. Bedroom a bit on the small side but nothing worth complaining about. The only downside was that our room was at the front, very close to the main road. The windows are double glazed, but we like to sleep with the windows open, so it was a bit noisy with traffic, but that died down eventually.

The breakfast room is lovely: a large conservatory-type room, with a lovely view over the locality towards the sea. There's also a large sofa and coffee table, so a great place to relax at any time. There's also a covered seating area just outside (for smokers or anyone else).

Both owners very friendly and helpful, particularly when our car broke down right outside the front door as we were about to leave! Arranged for us to be seen and checked out at a local garage (no charge).

Excellent location. Centre of town within easy walking distance. Parking very limited on the premises itself but plenty of space on the side road a few paces away.

If we were to visit Falmouth again we'd certainly book again and look forward to it...but we'd probably ask for a room with a view i.e. at the back away from the noisy road.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter. They also have a nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarleyPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 174 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2012

We arrived for our 3 night stay and were shown to our room (room 6) the room is advertised as a double but would not recommend a couple stay there. The room is very small with very low ceilings for the toilet room and above the bed, recall hitting my head about 6/7times. There is no separate room for sink and shower facilities. Shower is a clear glass door which opens straight in to the carpeted room. Breakfast is low quality ingredients. You are told which table is yours, would prefer to choose where to sit. Hotel is advertised as sea front but it's not. Also mirror above sink is very small and not at head height, only other mirror is situated inside the wardrobe and is nowhere near a plug.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woodzy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoonageDaydream, Owner at Tregenna Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2012

I am sorry you didn't like your room. I have given some thought, in the past, to making this room into a single, but it is one of our most requested rooms for couples, partly because it is quirky, quiet and has the best view.
On that note, I would like to advise ANYONE who is reading this, that it is always better to book direct with your accommodation provider so that your booking can be customised to your requirements. Using third party booking agents can lead to personal needs not being met.
I would be really grateful if you could let me know where we are advertised as sea-front, so that I can get this changed. It is certainly not my intention to mislead anyone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights and would be happy to return. Very clean facilities. Double room was adequate in size but well equipped, with excellent en suite. Proprietors and staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good with locally sourced produce. Good location for access to town centre and beaches. Some guest parking with plenty of extra space in quiet road opposite.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BWhitley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stayed here at the end of March - enjoyed so much we stayed an extra night. The rooms are lovely and clean and some have sea views. Lovely big towels and mugs to have tea or coffee in - not like some of the big hotels who provide a towel the size of a postage stamp. A friendly welcome and always an offer of local information. Breakfast was freshly cooked and very tasty - better than some big hotels I have stayed in by far. Will definitely stay here again. Local for the town and also the beach both within a short walk.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Having stayed @ Tregenna a few years ago with several friends, prior to the current owners we were very disappointed with the alterations made and the rooms our friends & we occupied were very small. Our friends booked for 2 nights so 1 of them could participate in the Falmouth half marathon in order to register they needed to breakfast promptly, only had cereal, but we're reluctantly offered toast. We arrived on Sunday to provide moral support for the race and after spending the day with our friends we arrived at Tregenna @ about 3 to read the notice stating that checking was between 5 & 8. On phoning the number provided was advised that they were out at lunch and if we were with our friends they could let us in but we would be unable to have a key our room until they returned. As we had only booked for 1 night we had only been able to book a double room, but not ensuite. On collecting our key later I was advised that breakfast was between 8 & 9, I indicated that my husband and i would be there at 8 and was asked if we would require a full English breakfast to which I responded in the affirmative. On arrival at breakfast with our friends, 1 of our friends indicated he would like a full breakfast, he was advised that he would not be able to have a sausage as the were cooked at 7.30. As mentioned by a previous reviewer our friends credit was debited on booking which was at least a couple of months ago, despite being told it was just for security.

Stayed: March 2012
1  Thank Elaine01202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoonageDaydream, Owner at Tregenna Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

The good thing about Trip Advisor is that people who are looking for petty things to pick fault with always stick out like a sore thumb, amongst all the other lovely reviews we get. 
Sadly, half these gripes are down to the fact that this guest did not read our terms & conditions properly before booking, with regard to payment & check-in times. I suggest that if this guest expects someone to be on reception 24/7 then she should pay the extra and stay at a hotel in future. Bed and Breakfasts are generally run by couples/families and it is unrealistic to expect us to be on the premises all day. 
I have tried to deal with the issues raised below.                                                       Point 1. Yes we have made many improvements, but none of them resulted in the rooms becoming smaller than they were when you stayed previously. 
Point 2. Your friend asked for cereal & toast as he did not want a full breakfast before running the marathon. This was the morning before you arrived, so don't think you are qualified to comment.
Point 3. Our check-in times are stated on our booking sites, you actually rang me while I was having Mothers Day lunch with my family, and I was quite happy for your friends to let you in - perhaps you think you should have also been allowed into our private accommodation to get your room key? Or should I have popped home between courses to let you in? 
Point 4. Please read carefully when making a booking, it clearly states in our terms & conditions that the first night is taken as a non refundable deposit. 
And finally - really sorry about the sausage - we had our wires crossed, but I'll hold my hands up to that one.... 

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Nice relaxed b&b, clean and comfortable, friendly owners and a good breakfast.

Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank ckdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

tregenna guest house infalmouth cornwall , great family run guest house, very clean and tidy, room lovely and bright, lovely view, lovely clean tidy shower room.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank busterwills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Lerryn Hotel
The Lerryn Hotel
#6 of 24 in Falmouth
426 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#5 of 24 in Falmouth
366 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#12 of 24 in Falmouth
363 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#10 of 24 in Falmouth
1,169 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tregenna Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregenna Guest House

Address: 28 Melvill Road, Falmouth TR11 4AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range: $98 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tregenna Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tregenna is a family-run guest house, within walking distance of the town, restaurants, harbour, beaches, Pendennis Castle, Princess Pavilion, docks, Falmouth Town Railway Station, and University of Falmouth - Woodlane Campus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tregenna Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tregenna Guest House Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing