We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“25 th Wedding Anniversary” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Falmouth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Falmouth Hotel
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
“25 th Wedding Anniversary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We arrived at The Falmouth Hotel on the 19th September exactly 25 years to the day that we celebrated our wedding reception there. Our two grown up children gave us a gift of one nights Bed Breakfast & Evening Meal for a silver wedding anniversary present. When we booked in the hotel reception staff were very professional. When we got to our room we found a great anniversary present welcome gift of Champagne and a card from all the staff. We then went down stairs and went into the lounge where we had complimentary tray of tea and biscuits. We then went for a lovely walk and on return sat again in the Lounge bar and had a drink from the bar. We then went to our room to get ready for our evening meal. We went into the Dining room we were greeted by the hotel staff and escorted to our table which was in the window overlooking Pendennis castle. The Menu had a spectacular choice of food which was divine. We both enjoyed a lovely meal. The next morning we enjoyed a scrumptious local sourced Cornish cooked breakfast. We then took our bags to the car and came back in and had morning coffee. And once again even after 25 years, we both found the hotel overall to be very spacious and clean and one again exceeded all our expectations. We found the staff to be very curtious and polite and extemly professional at all times. We will be recommending it to all our family and friends.

Room Tip: first floor rooms are more easier to get to after a few drinks
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris-Roberts_HM, General Manager at The Falmouth Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Margaret714,

Thank you so much for your kind words - and congratulations on your anniversary.

I am so happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations on your stay with us, and to see that you were so well looked after by all our staff.

We are very lucky to have such a magnificent location, with sea views to the south, and the harbour and river Fal to the north - and it would be easy to rest on the laurels of this. However, we strive to make every other aspect of our guests' stay with us memorable, from the friendliness and hospitality of our staff, to the quality of our food.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Regards,

Christopher Roberts
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    342
    148
    71
    22
See reviews for
221
512
37
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

I arrived at the Falmouth Hotel on my own with two small children and was given the keys to our room and not offered any assistance with luggage or told where our room was. We had a pushchair on various occasions and not one member of staff offered to open the door. The rooms are clean and the house keeping staff are very good. The rooms need updating and we had to wait ten minutes for hot water to arrive on the third floor! The gym is very dated which was a huge disappointment. The service is very slow at breakfast and nobody acknowledges you have small children and a high chair may be required. I have to say I am very disapointed by The Falmouth Hotel and it's customer service. The Hotel needs thoroughly updating and the staff need to be trained on their customer service skills.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elliottandoliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Young_RGM, General Manager at The Falmouth Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Elliotandoliver

I am devastated to read of your experience at the Falmouth Hotel and I offer my sincere apologies that we appear to have failed so dramatically to deliver on our usual standards of customer care.

Would you please be kind enough to email me personally - ben.young@richardsonhotels.co.uk in order that I can understand and perhaps learn from your unacceptable experience.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards
Ben Young
Regional Manager
Richardson Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, UK
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

In August we stayed in the hotel for one night, followed by a four night stay in one of the self catering cottages. The night in the hotel far exceeded our expectations, the room was very spacious and very clean and looked lovely. We were disappointed with the self catering cottage as it felt cramped and not particularly clean and a few things needed fixing/some general maintenance. We would have no hesitation to stay in the Falmouth Hotel again but will not be returning to a self catering cottage there.

Room Tip: I wouldn't hesitate to stay in the hotel again but the cottages could do with some maintenance a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caz4365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Young_RGM, General Manager at The Falmouth Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Caz4365

Thank you for your review, I am delighted that you found the hotel to be excellent!

I am, however, less than content reading of your experiences within our self catering apartments, if you would be kind enough to email me; ben.young@richardsonhotels.co.uk with the apartment details I would be extremely grateful.

I do hope that you will consider another stay with us in the future.

Kind regards
Ben Young
Regional Manager
Richardson Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atworth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We have just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel which has a fantastic location. Food is excellent and the staff very helpful however the hotel is in need of some TLC carpets are frayed(especially the stairway) and paintwork is peeling. We stayed in a premier plus room which had lovely views, very spacious but the balconies were very unclean and needed some repainting also although we had a sofa and chair in the room it lacked a coffee table and it took the staff two days to bring one to the room. The bathroom vinyl flooring has started to "lift" and the tiling could do with some sealant.

Room Tip: Suggest you take a seaview room to benefit from the hotels location
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Young_RGM, General Manager at The Falmouth Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Stephen258

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry that we did not deliver a better experience to you 'in the round' and that you found some areas wanting. I shall certainly be investigating these matters further.

I am cheered to read that you enjoyed our food, service and location and I do hope that you may consider a future revisit, as you will witness many further improvements and enhancements at the hotel.

Kind regards
Ben Young
Regional Manager
Richardson Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
93 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

The Falmouth is a traditional quality seaside hotel. Lovely grounds, high ceilings, big rooms with freestanding furniture. the opposite of the slick, modern approach. (If you want that, try the St Michael's) Some prefer the latter, because such grandeur is always a bit faded, but the elegance and character can't be beaten and it really assists getting relaxed fast.

Our room had a huge terrace overlooking the ocean, was vast, comfortable, with spa bath and very comfy. So what that there were some signs of wear? It was lovely.

The desk staff were absolutely fantastic and the breakfasts excellent. The even serve proper draught beer (Batty Stoggs from Skinners, wonderful stuff) not just the keg garbage that 90% of hotels stick to.

Downsides? The health spa is pokey and popular with local kinds and mums, so gets a bit crowded and noisy and they little ones do ignore the signs prohibiting them from the jacuzzi (I don't care, but some would). It was mainly unstaffed and was a bit under the mark really.

We'll be back: this is everything a seaside hotel should be.

Room Tip: You can't beat the sound of the Atlantic breakers for a good night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UkJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Young_RGM, General Manager at The Falmouth Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear UkJoe

Thank you for this lovely review, I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Falmouth Hotel so much.

You are entirely correct that there are modern, less traditional alternative hotels nearby and that these will appeal to some. Equally for those that wish to experience a properly elegant English seaside experience, such as has been the case here for 150 years, there is no better hotel in Cornwall than the Falmouth and I am delighted that you recognise this fact!

I am extremely grateful to you, and I do hope that you will consider a revisit to our hotel again in the future.

Kind regards and thanks again
Ben Young
Regional Manager
Richardson Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

This was a last minunte break for us, 2 adults and 3 under 6. From the moment we arrived we felt comfortable and relaxed, the room was lovely with sofa bed and travel cot set up, so there was no fuss. The location was great for restaurants, beach and local attractions. We are planning to visit again! Great value for money and the staff were fantastic and so accomodating.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deesunshine1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Young_RGM, General Manager at The Falmouth Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Deesunshine1970

Thank you for sharing your experiences with us on this site, I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed the hotel so much that you are planning a revisit already. Really, I cannot ask for more!

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in person.

Many thanks again,
Ben Young
Regional Manager
Richardson Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We have just returned from a lovely visit to the Falmouth Hotel where we stayed in Apartment 22. The apartment was clean and tidy and included a fridge freezer and washing machine. We also had lovely views over the well kept gardens and it also included our own parking space. As previously mentioned in other posts, the main hotel building could do with some refubishing, but to be honest it did add to the charm of the place. My only negative comment is that our children aged 7and 9 were refused entry to the pool after getting all ready and excited about going - the hotel has a policy of signing into the pool at reception, however, when they went to sign in they were told that the pool was full due to a party of non-residents beating them too it. Needless to say the kids were extremely disappointed - I personally would have thought that residents should have priority to access the pool, but unfortunately this is not the case at The Falmouth. All things considered though a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitchell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Young_RGM, General Manager at The Falmouth Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Mitchell C

Thank you for your review, which is very gratefully received.

Whilst I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit, I am very sorry that we disappointed your Grandchildren - this is the last thing we would want to do!

At times, and for the usual health and safety (as well as comfort) reasons, it can be necessary to limit access to the pool and I am very sorry that you were affected by this.

I do hope this would not put you off from revisiting us again in the future, as it would be our pleasure to look after you all again.

Kind regards
Ben Young
Regional Manager
Richardson Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 25 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#4 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lerryn Hotel
The Lerryn Hotel
#6 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
4.5 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falmouth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falmouth Hotel

Property: The Falmouth Hotel
Address: Cliff Road | Castle Beach, Falmouth TR11 4NZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Falmouth
#8 Family Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Falmouth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Falmouth's Landmark Hotel Steeped in history and with striking Victorian architecture, The Falmouth is Falmouth's first ever hotel. Situated in 5 acres of beautiful gardens and overlooking Castle beach, the hotel offers 71 individual bedrooms, stunning views, the award winning Castle Beach restaurant and an Elemis Spa... the perfect coastal hideaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Falmouth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Falmouth Hotel Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing