We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two nights in August disappointing.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Falmouth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Falmouth Hotel
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Clevedon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Two nights in August disappointing.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

I can only agree with “Disappointing Hotel” 15 August 2012. Tired paintwork, threadbare and mis-matching carpet on main staircase held together with duct tape. We only had breakfast on the first morning found it disappointing(*) and went out to buy breakfast elsewhere on the second day. The pepper pot for example had a completly solid lump (of pepper) in it so obviously had not been checked recently, no check if more coffe/tea toast required etc. Also ordering in the lounge coffee for two gives you a single cafetière rather than one per person etc.
Our room main light did not work and staff were unable to find a replacement bulb, and it was not repaired the next day whilst we were out as promised. The sash window in our romm would not close properly. Ordering in the lounge coffee for two gives you a single cafetière rather than one per person etc.

Overall there is a lack of attention to detail, but all the staff we spoke to were pleasant.

I would not stay at this hotel again at these prices for which I would expect a higher standard.

(*) we have always found breakfast better at one of the chain budget hotels, and their building fabric is well maintained.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Young_RGM, General Manager at The Falmouth Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear andrew d

Thank you for your review, I am sorry that we failed to deliver a satisfactory experience to you during your recent stay.

I am disappointed by your comments which demonstrate some inconsistencies in the service provided. I have also received your completed guest questionaire - many thanks for completing this - I shall respond to your personally in due course.

Thank you again for your feedback which is warmly welcomed and appreciated. It will prove invaluable as we seek to improve and enhance the experience of all our guests at the Falmouth Hotel.

Kind regards
Ben Young
Regional Manager
Richardson Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    342
    148
    71
    22
See reviews for
221
512
37
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed for a week - premier room and standard twin room.

Rather run-down hotel, carpets and sofas need a clean, stair carpets are thread-bare and balding, and held together with duct tape! Paint is old-looking and yellowing everywhere. 'Gym' is really just a pokey little area in the basement with worn-out equipment.

Only ate in the restaurant once - not great! The bar food is much nicer. Breakfast is a bit sad with a few slices of melon, cheese and meats laid out with flys buzzing round. Cooked breakfast was nothing like you get in a good B&B. Toast was burned every day!

There was a big wedding on the Saturday, no notice given to us as guests but the music thumped out until nearly 1:00am and it was nearly 2:30am by the time doors had stopped slamming and we could get to sleep.

Twin room was acceptable but a bit small. The premier suite was nice and spacious though, otherwise would have rated overall as Poor!

Falmouth is great with loads to do but we wouldn't go back to this hotel or recommend it.

Room Tip: Premier suite was very good, standard twin room was a bit small but acceptable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CosmicRay2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Young_RGM, General Manager at The Falmouth Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear CosmicRay2012

Thank you for your review, although it was a shock to read your comments.

We have no record at the hotel of any such dissatisfaction this summer; either on our guest questionaires, in Duty Managers diarys or within departmental handovers. Clearly though if you didn't wish to register any of your feelings during your stay then this is entirely your perogative.

I am so sorry that we appear to have underdelivered so dramatically.

Please contact me directly on ben.young@richardsonhotels.co.uk so I can investigate further and attempt to reinstill your faith in the hotel.

Once again, may I apologise for your dissatisfactory stay, the only small cheer is that you enjoyed the standard of our bedrooms.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards
Ben Young
Regional Manager
Richardson Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights at the beginning of this month and it is wonderful. A traditional seaside hotel, beautifully clean & well maintained, right on the beach front in an excellent location. A short walk one way takes you to Gyllynvase beach & nice coastal walks and the other way a short walk will take you into Falmouth centre with it's harbour & many shops, bars & restaurants. The hotel itself is clean in all areas and the staff on Reception & in the Bar Lounge & Restaurant are friendly and welcoming. The room we had was large, light & very nicely furnished with a large modern bathroom. Breakfast was also very good.
In a previous review a comment was made about the stair carpet being worn. This is true in some places and I feel sure that the Hotel will replace the carpet in due course. But don't let it detract you from staying here. If you don't want to look at the threadbare carpet, I suggest you take the lift !!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyHolidays4us2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Young_RGM, General Manager at The Falmouth Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear HappyHolidays4us2

Thank you so much for your review which I read with pleasure.

When the hotel was built, 150 years ago, (as the towns first commercial hotel) they certainly knew a thing or two about location!

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much, and you are quite right about the carpet - the entire staircase (all 12 levels!) and the ground floor are booked for replacement this October, once we get slightly quieter.

I do hope you will come back and see us again in the future.

Thank you again.

Kind regards
Ben Young
Regional Manager
Richardson Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camborne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

From the first minute we entered the hotel, the staff wer excellent, the whole experience, was 1st class, from the bar, the restaurant, and the room was over and above what was expected, going to stay again on our next anniversary next year.

Room Tip: we had 201 what a fantastic choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Young_RGM, General Manager at The Falmouth Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear Richard H

Thank you so much for this lovely review, it is so rewarding to read that we provided you with such an excellent experience during your recent stay.

I look forward to ensuring that your anniversary with us next year is at least as memorable and even more enjoyable!

Kind regards
Ben Young
Regional Manager
Richardson Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camelford
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Whilst living in Cornwall,we find the Falmouth Hotel really great for having a relaxing break between staying in Hospital for Operations and treatment. We have always been well looked after.The Food, whether it is served in the Restaurant or Bar is always of an excellent standard. The Bar serves a really good local Real Ale at a very competative price

Room Tip: Can always find a room to suit your needs.very quite higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank james c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Young_RGM, General Manager at The Falmouth Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear james c

I am very pleased to read that as a resident of our fine County, you enjoy visiting the hotel - afterall we are here for everyone - Onen hag Oll!

Thank you for sharing your comments with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards
Ben Young
Regional Manager
Richardson Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

We were greeted with a smile and a cool glass of Pimms on arrival. The hotel staff are wonderful and nothing is too much trouble. Very clean if slightly tired room but it was just a basic one and the service more than made up for that . Food excellent

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dustmitex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Young_RGM, General Manager at The Falmouth Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Dustmitex

Thank you for this lovely review, it is so motivating for all the team to read such great feedback and I am delighted with how much you enjoyed your stay!

I do hope you will consider us again for a stay in the future.

Kind regards
Ben Young
Regional Manager
Richardson Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Popped down to Cornwall on 22/07/2012 and stayed for a few days at this hotel in the lovely room 201. Splendid hotel, brilliant location, fantastic weather and friendly attentive staff made this an excellent Cornish holiday.

Also, The Gurkha restaurant in Falmouth is recommended for an excellent meal, ignore the plain outside and enter for friendly helpful service and delicious food.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KenZel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Young_RGM, General Manager at The Falmouth Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear KenZel

Thank you for this review, I am genuinely delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so thoroughly.

I agree with your comments about room 201 and also re the Ghurka Restaurant!

I do hope you will come to Falmouth and "The" Falmouth again in the future.

Kind regards
Ben Young
Regional Manager
Richardson Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 25 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#4 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lerryn Hotel
The Lerryn Hotel
#6 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
4.5 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falmouth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falmouth Hotel

Property: The Falmouth Hotel
Address: Cliff Road | Castle Beach, Falmouth TR11 4NZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Falmouth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
#8 Family Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Falmouth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Falmouth's Landmark Hotel Steeped in history and with striking Victorian architecture, The Falmouth is Falmouth's first ever hotel. Situated in 5 acres of beautiful gardens and overlooking Castle beach, the hotel offers 71 individual bedrooms, stunning views, the award winning Castle Beach restaurant and an Elemis Spa... the perfect coastal hideaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Falmouth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Falmouth Hotel Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing