We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Like Home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Falmouth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Falmouth Hotel
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Just Like Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

We chose the Falmouth Hotel mainly because it was on the sea front and looked very nice. We also had not been to Falmouth before and the hotel was very close to the town, but also enjoyed spectacular sea views. Our seafacing room was very comfortable up on the 2nd floor. The staff and food were excellent for a 3 Star hotel, and so was the indoor pool facilities. We definitely plan a return later this year.

Room Tip: It's worth upgrading to a seafacing room just for the changing sea views alone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Young_RGM, General Manager at The Falmouth Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2012
Dear David R

Thank you so much for this review, I will enjoy discussing your comments with all the team.

We really hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future, please drop me a line should you wish to return so I can personally attend to your booking.

Kind regards
Ben Young
Regional General Manager
Richardson Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    342
    148
    71
    22
See reviews for
221
512
37
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
oswestry
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

we spent three nights at the hotel in late march 2012. There was nothing to complan about with this hotel but somehow it wasn't quite great. our sea veiw room was wonderful - fantastic views, warn, clean. spacious. the teenagers' twin ( inland view) was really very small for two older teengaers so we paid for na upgrade. the double bed in our room was actually two singles with no attempt to hide the fact - separate sheets, separate duvets - and the latch between the two beds not fastened so I slipped between the two.

The position of hte hotel in terms of amenities was brillaint. v short walk to beautiful beaches and gardens, short walk to the docks which are bustling and interesting, short walk to the shops nad v short walk to many excellent retsaurants. the ferry to st mawes was in easy reach too.

Food at this hotel in the bar was good.

the weather was superb so we were outdoors most of the time and did not use the leisure club.

the hotel was clean, the staff were pleasant. the gardens spacious and reasonably maintained.

Room Tip: sea view rooms are excellent. we had 207 and 304.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helenOswestry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Young_RGM, General Manager at The Falmouth Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Dear helenOswestry

Thank you for your review, I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

As the new General Manager here, it is of huge value to me to read your comments.

I do hope you may consider a future visit as you will witness our ongoing commitment to constant improvement. I am certain that the hotel will once again be 'Great' before too long.

Kind regards
Ben Young
Regional General Manager
Richardson Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

We enjoyed a two night break at this hotel in late February when the weather was excellent. We paid extra for a sea view which was pleasant and the room while spacious was a little tired as was the bathroom. Both the bedroom and the bathroom were very clean and everything functioned well.
The food in the hotel was good both at breakfast and dinner and the staff were very obliging.We could have done without the uncouth language of certain male guests in the bar on one evening. The hotel is well located and the break was good value.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GandISomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth_GM, General Manager at The Falmouth Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Dear GandlSomerset,

Thank you for your review after your last stay with us. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit. We have worked on many of our rooms and are planning now for the next phase when we will also catch up on some of the bathrooms.

I do apologise for the bad language you heard from some of our other guests, while this is a rare occurrence we do try to minimise the impact of our mixed business markets.

we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel shortly when I trust you will see some more improvements.

Regards

Andrew

Andrew Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

This is our second visit to The Falmouth, both times we have taken two rooms, this time the rooms were not as good standard as the first visit but overall still perfectly fine. We understand some parts are being renovated so maybe we had a couple of the older rooms this time.
Complimentary Tea/Coffee on arrival is a nice touch and the staff are excellent.
Breakfast is exactly as you would expect, its really good with plenty of choice.
My only slight criticism is no wifi in the rooms, there is a ethernet connection in the rooms but no good for ipad users but there is free wifi in the bar/lounge areas.
Overall a really nice hotel.
Hopefully if our daughter gets into the University we will be a regular visitor at The Falmouth.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JasonO1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth_GM, General Manager at The Falmouth Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Dear JasonO1971

Thank you for your review following your recent visits to Falmouth, I was very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your time here. We have the basic infrastructure in place for wifi in the bedrooms now and hope to have this operational within the next few months.

We will be doing more work on all areas of the hotel in the next few months - hopefully your daughter will get into Falmouth Uni and you will be able to see the hotel develop while visiting.

Hope to see you again shortly,

Regards

Andrew

Andrew Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel from eleventh February for three nights, on a mixture of their "Valentine" and "Classic" breaks. It was such excellent value for money, it made it worth the long drive down from London.
On arrival we were very kindly upgraded to an excellent sea view room as there was one available.
A big thank you to all the staff as nothing was too much trouble, they made our visit perfect.
We ate in the restaurant every evening, the food and service was outstanding.
We had visited The Falmouth before and we stayed last Summer in another of The Richardson Group of hotels before.
We are already thinking of going back to The Falmouth again, this time with a group of friends.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth_GM, General Manager at The Falmouth Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Dear David S,

Thank you for your review, I was very pleased to read how much you had enjoyed your stay with us, most particularly how helpful my team was and how enjoyable you found the food.

I look forward to welcoming you and your friends back to the hotel.

Thank you once again

Regards

Andrew

Andrew Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

My room smells damp, this may have something to with the stains on the cieling? There is no wifi and I had to pay a £5 deposit for an ethernet cable which doesn't work. The carpets on the stairs are held together with black masking tape, It's advisable to use the stairs because the lights in the lift don't work.
The bar/restaurant is also dated and grubby, I had toyed with the idea of eating but while waiting to get served for drinks (overpriced) another customer returned his chicken pie for being frozen in the middle.
For the price of the rooms I can't help thinking the other reviews on here have been done by people who have never stayed in a hotel before? Poor!

Room Tip: Book a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gus1Cornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth_GM, General Manager at The Falmouth Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Dear Gus1 Cornwall,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, may I apologise for the disappointment you experienced. While we do still have a few older rooms we are working hard to improve these and bring them all up to the same standard, I will ask the team to track down the source of the damp smell in your room.

We will also check all our ethernet cables as they do get a lot of use. We have fixed internet to give added security though we are adding wifi in the future.

It was unfortunate that you did not eat as our bar and restaurant food is good, I was made aware of the one issue with a cold pie but this is far from the norm.

If business does bring you back to Falmouth we would very much like you to give us another chance.

Yours sincerely,

Andrew

Andrew Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel last week , from the moment we arrived on the Wednesday till we left on the Saturday we were looked after like royalty.
We stayed in Room 212 which is huge , I have stayed in hotel rooms that are smaller than room 212`s bathroom.
The hotel is old and has plenty of Victorian grandeur, good to know that they are in the process of giving the attention the hotel needs;dont get me wrong It is very clean just needs a bit of TLC, the food is to die for -try the fine dining ; but the best aspect of the visit was the staff - Sue, Sam and others you are all stars .
Hope to be back in June for a full week ; failing that Liz my wife has asked for her birthday present next February to be a visit back to the Falmouth- keep the Skinners on ice.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martin f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth_GM, General Manager at The Falmouth Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Dear martin f

Thank you for your review, I was very pleased to read that you had a good time on your break with us and that my team did their bit to make it special for you.

I will pass on your comments to them, thank you again and we hope to see you back here soon.

Regards

Andrew

Andrew Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 25 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#4 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lerryn Hotel
The Lerryn Hotel
#6 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
4.5 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falmouth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falmouth Hotel

Property: The Falmouth Hotel
Address: Cliff Road | Castle Beach, Falmouth TR11 4NZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Falmouth
#8 Family Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Falmouth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Falmouth's Landmark Hotel Steeped in history and with striking Victorian architecture, The Falmouth is Falmouth's first ever hotel. Situated in 5 acres of beautiful gardens and overlooking Castle beach, the hotel offers 71 individual bedrooms, stunning views, the award winning Castle Beach restaurant and an Elemis Spa... the perfect coastal hideaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Falmouth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Falmouth Hotel Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing