We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trebah There To Be Enjoyed Even With Mobility Problems”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Trebah Garden

Trebah Garden
Ranked #1 of 58 things to do in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This magnificent 26-acre Cornish ravine garden features a rich collection of rare and exotic plants, trees and shrubs.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Trebah There To Be Enjoyed Even With Mobility Problems”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

As with the nature of many of these Cornish gardens Trebah is on the side of and goes down a steep valley which means that it might not be easy for those with mobility problems like me and our friend who is in her late70s. Both of us have back problems but this doesn't mean we didn't see this lush and often green jewel of a garden. So more than a few steps or climbing down the paths wasn't for me but in the main area is a TV showing images of the garden. Lucky for us my hubby camealone and used my camera. He took photos on his way down to the various parts of the garden we couldn't reach.
What we did manage to see for ourselves we really enjoyed. The large shop had plenty tempt. Plus side our tickets allowed us to return free of charge but this was limited to only a few days after so plan ahead.
The selection of plants to buy was fairly small but they all looked healthy and many were unusual. The staff bent over backwards to later send me a few of them by post. They arrived in a few days, posted within the UK.
The cafe served a good and welcome cup of tea. They had a good selection of food but we only shared a cream tea which was very yummy.
Having visted Trebah before find it is best seen when it hasn't recently been raining as the paths can be slippery.
Trebah is to our mind one of many great gardens that Cornwall has to offer.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank dbverycherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,212
    320
    46
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Rare find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Such beauty is hard to come across and when you do (especially when least expected) you want it to last and last.

We really did not know what to expect and thought it would be just another NTrusty type gardens but we were so surprised at the expanse on show, the rare species, the water features, including a beach cove area which you seem to discover by accident, and a monet esque scene complete with bridge.

We truly did not expect it but were all wowed by the experience. Even our usually grumpy teens enjoyed the visit.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Enjoyable visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Very nice interesting gardens of medium size with lots of Hydrangears still in bloom but will need to go back in the spring for the Rhododendrons!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Thisisanuisance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Spectacular Wedding Reception Venue - and the Friendliest Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

The view from the reception venue is breathtaking down the valley, to Helford Passage. Walking down through the gardens with lush, subtropical plants reminiscent of New Zealand, to the beach for photos was an unexpected treat.... koi carp in a dazzlingly clear pool... giant gunnera... a fabulous glade of hydrangeas... what a lovely place to celebrate a wedding!!
And it wasn't just the beauty of the setting - the staff were very welcoming to all guests, and caring and helpful to those who needed transport to the beach.
The next day when I went back to look for a precious ring lost during the reception, they could not have been more helpful or concerned.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank J&BTauranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cullompton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“good garden with a hidden history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

this garden meanders down the valley, given hidden views and amazing plants as it goes. leading to a little beach that was one of the departure points for the d day landings. well worth a visit

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ourpetunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trebah Garden also viewed

 

Been to Trebah Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing