We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great property, great location”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Captains Reach

The 32 inch HD TV has wifi, Netflix and a DVD player.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The 32 inch HD TV has wifi, Netflix and a DVD player.
The living room is spacious and seats 6 people comfortably You can eat your breakfast and look at the spectacular views.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
The 32 inch HD TV has wifi, Netflix and a DVD player.
The living room is spacious and seats 6 people comfortably
You can eat your breakfast and look at the spectacular views.
The kitchen is well equipped and huge.
We have tried to think of everything so that you don't have to.
The Rangemaster double oven gas cooker is really great for master chef creations.
The art work found throughout the property is by local artists.
The twin room is great for children when they are ready for a good night's sleep.
We have been told by many guests that our beds are really comfy.
The ensuite kingsize room is great place to escape to  and relax on the reclining sofa.
Both kingsize rooms have flat screen TVs,DVD players and hairdryers..
All of our rooms are spacious and decorated to a high standard.
The ensuite bathroom has an electric Mira shower, the best shower on the planet.
Sit out on the enclosed terrace which is a real suntrap in the afternoon and evenings.
Captain's Reach was built in the late 1800's as a Captain's home.
Look out for the slate Captain's Reach sign above the porch doors.
Only two doors away from our property this pub serves excellent food.
This is a view from outside the house we look forward to seeing you soon.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Falmouth, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
M9304PPri...
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great property, great location”
Reviewed August 13, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Fantastic property. Very well equipped with everything you would expect and a lot more besides. Property is very close to centre of Falmouth for shops, eateries, ferry to St Mawes etc. Owner very helpful. Lots to do in local area and we easily filled a week with two young children with variable weather. Would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 15, 2017
Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will return to Falmouth soon to stay with us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john o
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“better than excellent”
Reviewed June 19, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

my family and i have just returned from captains reach,
the house is beautiful,far better than the pictures in the ad
everything you could possibly require and more is supplied
even toys for our grandchildren aged 3 and six months,
gaye the owner is a wonderful lady and could not do enough
to help.
our granddaughter chloe fell in love with a toy penguin in the
toys supplied, gaye insisted she take him home.
if you are looking for a perfect place to stay in cornwall please form a que.

love and best wishes to gaye and her partner
from the o'connor family

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 20, 2017
We are delighted that you felt so at home and that you felt everything was above just standard. Hope Chloe brings her penguin back to visit us in Falmouth very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pathfinde...
1 review
“First class accommodation with great attention to detail.”
Reviewed June 12, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Gaye was an extremely lovely person, helpful but not intrusive. The house was beautifully decorated with some outstanding contemporary artwork. As far as we could see everything we could require was available in the house plus more. First visit to Falmouth for many years. This time our children and partners, not forgetting our beautiful one year old grandson came too. All my paternal ancestors came from Cornwall. My husband and I have spent many holidays based in Falmouth, some with my late parents. My father was brought up in Falmouth and moved to Scotland after the War when he married his wartime sweetheart. We were only down for a week but visited the Maritime Museum in Events Square and had many dinners in a variety of good restaurants. We also payed visits to the Eden Project, Durgan, Truro Cathedral and spent a day in St. Ives. Altogether a wonderful time was had by all and the ultra comfortable home from home was a bonus.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 13, 2017
We are so glad that your enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back much sooner than the last time!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pharr2280...
Chalfont St Peter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful location for a relaxing comfortable place to explore South West Cornwall.”
Reviewed September 5, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We have stayed here before, and would book it again. Very high standard of comfort and cleanliness which has been maintained. Great location to explore South West Cornwall

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stylish interior but fully equipped for a very comfortable stay.
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 22, 2016
Thank you so much for your glowing review, it is always good to have repeat visitors, and even better to know that our standards are being maintained. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goerge
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed September 4, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

A lovely spacious, comfortable house, with a great view of the harbour. An excellent base for exploring Falmouth and the surrounding area. Everything we needed was on hand. Gaye was very helpful and knowledgeable with her suggestions for places to visit. On street parking is available (although it can be a bit of a squeeze-normal for Cornwall) and handy steps down into the town mean you can leave the car at home and enjoy more of the fabulous view as you take the short walk down into the town (although this is significantly harder on the way back up)! Beautiful cut flowers were provided and scones on arrival, which was a nice touch, and the little extras in the well equipped kitchen were also appreciated. Washer and dryer were a welcome sight as we had already been travelling for several days before we spent our week here in July. We were lucky with the weather but I could imagine staying in this house very comfortably during the winter also. Netflix and the Wii console went down well with the younger members of our group while I enjoyed having my breakfast sitting out back in the small garden with more lovely flowers. All in all, a most enjoyable experience for everyone all round.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 5, 2016
Thank you so much for your splendid review. We are so glad that you found the property comfortable and that the facilities met everyone's needs. We would love to welcome you back to stay any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destinati...
1 review
“Half Ton Classics Cup in Falmouth”
Reviewed August 23, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We rented Captains Reach as crew accommodation for a sailing regatta. The standard of the accommodation and facilities provided were superb. Gaye and Jeremy went out of their way to help us in any way they could. I would have no hesitation in recommending this property.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2016
Thank you for your lovely review and so glad you enjoyed yourselves. We look forward to welcoming you and your crew back very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeffmillw...
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great House lovely view”
Reviewed July 14, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

What a great house, photo's do not do it justice, it is much bigger than it looks. Handy for Falmouth pubs and restaurants and central for touring anywhere in Cornwall. The weather was sunny and fine but staying here would lovely even if the weather was not. Parking is a small problem as its in the road and I would imagine it is difficult to get a space in high season.

Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2016
Thank you for your lovely review we are so glad that you enjoyed staying at Captain's Reach. Street parking is a lottery anywhere, but other guests have not found parking here too much of a problem even in high season. Hope to see you next time you come to Falmouth.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing