We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Falmouth Aquarium” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Falmouth Aquarium - CLOSED

Falmouth Aquarium
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A Whistle-stop Visit… The aquarium is located in a four-storey town house in the heart of Falmouth teeming with colourful marine life including lionfish, clownfish, frogfish, moray eels, seahorses, garden eels, shrimp, starfish and pipefish --- The first floor -- emphasising the history on our doorstep – including a tank replicating a pier and what lives below it. This area currently displays tanks with sea bass, mullet as well as a 5ft adult sea porpoise skeleton as one of the feature exhibits, along with a large crawfish, large than you've ever seen! -- The second floor focuses on marine education and conservation issues around the world, complete with a life sized loggerhead turtle - demonstrating their grandness yet vulnerability around the world - as well as fossils, bones, artefacts and multimedia. We have two real shark jaws displayed, along with a loggerhead turtle skull. Make sure to watch the movie about unsustainable fishing around the world, and read on the walls about the history of the ocean through different prehistoric periods. ---- The third floor ---- is an open space ideal for classes, training, workshops, films and lectures. This is where you will find the Ocean Today multimedia exhibit, in partnership with the Smithsonian Institute.Ocean Today enhances museumgoers' understanding of the ocean realm through an enticing multi-media experience that illustrates both the ocean's influence on them and their influence upon the ocean. This enhanced understanding is called "ocean literacy."You will also see the exhibit of 30 x-ray photographs, from the Smithsonian’s National Museum of Natural History in Washington DC, includes large mammals to small fish - portraying the beauty of fish and demonstrating why marine conservation is so important.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Falmouth Aquarium”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

I visited last week with my family. The staff were extremely helpful and the whole experience was great. A fabulous place to take children with hands on activities . The admission prices were very reasonable . I wholeheartedly recommend it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cornwall12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    25
    2
    6
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice project”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Lovely to see an independent project like this, kids loved it, staff were young, enthusiastic and friendly, I wish them every success.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“More Fish is Needed.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

My feeling is that this place is trying to do something its just not able to do, and thats be educational effectiivly. There is simply not the space to do it. Its no use trying to compete with the National Marine Aquarium at Plymouth. What this place needs is more fish, bigger tanks. I often viisit places where they sell tropical fish and there is much more to view in the way of species at those places.
The Garden Eels were delightful to watch and really made our visit. Not an outragious entrance fee.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris551953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Save your entrance fee and buy your own fish.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

I appreciate this place is less than a year old but you would think they started last week. This town house, yes town house is home to a fascinating collection of several fish tanks, plastic sharks and ping pong balls supposed to be turtle eggs. You can even buy your loved one a season ticket. Next stop the divorce court. Save your money and avoid this compendium of crap at all costs.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jamessals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FalAquarium, Manager at Falmouth Aquarium, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We are very sorry that you were disappointed during your visit. We are proud that we are one of the only charity-run aquariums in the country, which focuses on marine conservation and education. Many of our visitors have positively commented on our exhibits, and I would have hoped you would have enjoyed our coral displays, our garden eel collection, the exotic Red Sea frogfish just as a few examples. We take our mission as a charity seriously and display educational materials; often the best way of communicating marine facts is through using props, such as the mentioned ping pong balls for turtle eggs (although we would like to have used the real turtle eggs, it wouldn't have been appropriate as I am sure you can understand), we also use real artifacts alongside, for example the plastic shark that you commented on is right next to real shark jaws and teeth, from bull sharks to reef sharks to saw fish.

We are placing a new large rock pooling tank in the Cornish coastline floor, constantly improving and changing the species in our exhibits. We would be happy to give you a personal tour of the Aquarium so that you can see our 8 clown fish hiding in the anemones, learn about their symbiotic relationship, watch us feed the corals, fish and anemones (which we do live for the public everyday at 11:00am and 2:00pm) and more...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Educational and Fun Experience the kids have had!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

We all learned so much about marine conservation, species of fish and their habitat. The best bit was when the children were invited to feed the fish. The people who work there are so passionate and knowledgeable and keen to share their wisdom with children and adults alike. For a couple of pounds, we had super value for money and were in there ages. It is only small but you could spend a long time if you learnt about everything on offer. Because it was interactive, the children did not lose interest and asked to go back the day after!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SkiMummie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Falmouth Aquarium also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing