We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice, generally quiet, perfect location”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Harbour Cottage

Stunning views across the Carrick Roads to Flushing from the private, fully enclosed garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning views across the Carrick Roads to Flushing from the private, fully enclosed garden
Dining area with incredible water views Comfortable and light living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
43 reviews
Stunning views across the Carrick Roads to Flushing from the private, fully enclosed garden
Dining area with incredible water views
Comfortable and light living room
Bedroom with fabulous views over the water
Comfortable double bed in the master bedroom
Double wardrobe in the master bedroom
Living area
Comfortable sofa in the living area
Living area
Fully equipped kitchen and dining area
Fully equipped kitchen and dining area
Dining area looking in to the cloakroom area
Enjoy the views over dinner
Front entrance to the 19th century cottage
Compact but pretty and stylish bathroom incorporating bath, shower over, basin and WC
Comfortable single bed in the second double bedroom
Second bedroom shown with the truckle bed made available for a fourth guest
Panoramic views from the master bedroom
Pretty, private, fully enclosed garden with table, chairs and sandstone paved patio/barbecue area
Treat yourself to a nice, cold glass of something special at the end of a busy day sightseeing...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Falmouth, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
OttawaEdd...
ottawa
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice, generally quiet, perfect location”
Reviewed June 26, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This place was perfect for my vacation. A great location to all the walking paths in the region. On two floors, the place is small compared to North American standards but large for Europe. The price was good, the garden lovely. It had everything I needed and although next to a bar, was only an issue on soccer nights when England was playing. Lee Ann was great to deal with, and everything was arranged perfectly. Only a 15-20 mins walk to three train stations, and if you buy the Fall River transport pass, it was easy to get around. Was a ten min walk to the local busses and ferries and groceries. I appreciated the views from the windows of the bay and the major appliances. I would and will stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and views
Liked least: Very small bathroom
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 27, 2016
Hi Ed, thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review; I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay.
I really hope I get to meet you next time - I was disappointed not to this time.
My very best and warmest wishes, with many thanks again. x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mimiandpo...
Adelaide, South Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed June 13, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Very comfortable, clean, warm, well equipped cottage with fabulous view over the harbour from upstairs bedroom window. Steep stairs to bedrooms would pose problem to anyone with mobility problem.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane H
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Nice cottage in a great location with fantastic views.”
Reviewed April 3, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The cottage is as described, small but absolutely fine for our family of 4, including 2 teenagers. If you are wanting a lot of space, then this isn't for you; But there is enough space to cook, eat, sit in the living room, and the Bedrooms and Bathroom are fine. The cottage is in a great location, 2 minute walk down the hill and you are right in the centre of Falmouth. The Boathouse pub was nice,some people had commented about noise from the pub, We never heard any. The views from the bedroom and kitchen are lovely, try and catch a sunrise! Some people complained about lack of parking, that is the nature of the beast when you rent a cottage, they don't usually come with parking. We always managed to park somewhere close by, so again, it wasn't a huge problem.
The only slight negative, is when you find the cottage, which is actually around the back of the pub, even though I had got the key out of the key safe, I thought I had gone into a property that was being renovated, and wondered for a moment if I had the right place. The communal entrance hall lets down what is a nice little cottage, it isn't very welcoming. Other than that , I would love to return to Harbour Cottage in the summertime to make use of the garden!
Thank you for a lovely stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: the entrance to the property
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 7, 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a detailed review, and I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Sadly, you're absolutely right about the communal entrance. I know it doesn't help you, but we are in fact planning to remedy this in early May by laying new flooring in the hall. I hope you will be able to return in the summer to see the new and improved communal entrance hall, and also to enjoy the garden which is indeed glorious in the sun :)) You would always be most welcome. Thanks once again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickiandJ...
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
Reviewed March 13, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Warm, clean, cosy cottage close to High Street. Steep stairs to bedroom not suitable for people with mobility problems.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allotment...
hertfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delightful cottage”
Reviewed November 2, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Great cottage in a super location. There is a pub next door but it was not noisy and they seem to close up at a reasonable hour too. The views are beautiful and the town, including all the shops, are a short stroll away. Cottage is cosy , very efficient heating system, and well equipt.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 5, 2015
Hi, thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review, it means a huge amount to us. I'm absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found everything to your satisfaction. Thanks once again and my warmest regards, Lee-Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPrynne19...
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cosy semi detached cottage with wonderful views and just a short walk into Famouth centre”
Reviewed October 24, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The location of the cottage is fabulous and the views over the harbour towards Flushing simply breathtaking. The owners write up is excellent and perfectly portrays the cottage. It is small but extremely clean and had everything we needed for our weeks stay. We were always able to park within c100 metres of the cottage (for free) and could walk into the very centre of Falmouth within 5 minutes. On cold evenings the cottage was warm in minutes!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and location
Liked least: Some noise from students walking home late at night - typical of a town centre location however!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 25, 2015
Dear Richard, thank you so much for your kind review; we are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your week in the cottage. We tried very hard to ensure that the write up on the cottage is accurate and comprehensive, so it's great to hear that Harbour Cottage fulfilled your expectations. We really hope to hear from you again in the future :))
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
disabledb...
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“disablitity”
Reviewed September 30, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

the cottage is in a great location if your fit and well but as I am parcaily sigted which they knew when I booked they should have told me about the steep stairs to the bedrooms and that the toilet was down stair which made it difficult for me also the steep steps to the garden yes I would recommend to others as long as they had no disabilities

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: not cleaned on arrival and not suitable for disable persons
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 25, 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. I am SO sorry to hear that you found the narrow stairs to be a problem. I did indeed know that you were partially sighted, but in my naivety it didn't occur to me that the stairs would be a problem - in fact I actually thought that as they are quite narrow and enclosed they would be easy to navigate as they have handholds close by on each side. Had it occurred to me for even a moment that they would pose a problem to you I would have advised you of it. I make a great effort to ensure that the cottage description is very full and comprehensive, as I personally hate dishonest advertising, and am always extremely disappointed if my expectations are not met. Once again, I am so sorry that you were disappointed, and if there is anything that we can do to make things up to you, please don't hesitate to let me know.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing