We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cute cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Harbour Cottage

Stunning views across the Carrick Roads to Flushing from the private, fully enclosed garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning views across the Carrick Roads to Flushing from the private, fully enclosed garden
Dining area with incredible water views Comfortable and light living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
44 reviews
Stunning views across the Carrick Roads to Flushing from the private, fully enclosed garden
Dining area with incredible water views
Comfortable and light living room
Bedroom with fabulous views over the water
Comfortable double bed in the master bedroom
Double wardrobe in the master bedroom
Living area
Comfortable sofa in the living area
Living area
Fully equipped kitchen and dining area
Fully equipped kitchen and dining area
Dining area looking in to the cloakroom area
Enjoy the views over dinner
Front entrance to the 19th century cottage
Compact but pretty and stylish bathroom incorporating bath, shower over, basin and WC
Comfortable single bed in the second double bedroom
Second bedroom shown with the truckle bed made available for a fourth guest
Panoramic views from the master bedroom
Pretty, private, fully enclosed garden with table, chairs and sandstone paved patio/barbecue area
Treat yourself to a nice, cold glass of something special at the end of a busy day sightseeing...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Falmouth, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Gibsonsof...
Truro
2 reviews
“Cute cottage”
Reviewed February 27, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Very nice cottage. Clean, comfortable and the decor was really tasteful. Location couldn't be better. Would stay again for sure.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray F
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Cute cottage with wonderful views.”
Reviewed February 25, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We booked last minute and owner couldn't have been more helpful. Directions to find it might have included mention of the local pub and the fact it's at the end of the one way road (plus another cottage with same name as previously mentioned!). Inside is cute with really lovely views. A nice new bathroom and comfortable beds. Falmouth was lovely to explore and we REALLY recommend Dolly's - lovely to sit in the window seat and look down on the street.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 26, 2015
Hi there, thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review - I'm only sorry that it's taken me nearly a year to figure out that I could respond... Your comment about improving directions was an INCREDIBLY good point! Whilst a little embarrassed that I hadn't thought about this earlier, I do now include mention of the one way system and the pub in my directions, so thank you again for this. It only remains for me to say that I couldn't possibly agree more with you about Dolly's being fantastic. What could be better than pouring yummy gin cocktails from a cat's paw teapot into an antique teacup, then sipping it slowly while watching the world go by? Glad it's not just me :))
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanna n
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic central location, clean, well equipped, perfect for family getaway.”
Reviewed February 24, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

The cottage is in a fantastic location, nestled in the harbour area of Falmouth. The town cantre is less than a two minute walk. The house was very clean, and the kitchen is well equipped with everything you need from a choice of coffee makers to scales for baking a cake. My husband and I went with two young children aged 4 and 6 years, it is a small cottage but perfectly ample space for a family of four. Initially I was weary of the dog friendly policy as I do not have any pets and I am hyper-senstive to smells. This was completely unfounded as the house was spotless and smelt very clean. The heating is superb, within minutes of putting the heating on, the house is roasting. The beds were comfortable and the bedding cotton, plenty of fresh towels were provided and the owners very nice and offered their help if required. They have a comments book, encouraging any improvement suggestions, which you can see they have used to improve your rental stay. The bathroom is downstairs, and it is tiny but we had no problem using, and the house is a small cottage so it is not too much inconvenience going down to use the toilet in the night if required. The garden views are fabulous, which you can also see from master bedroom ad kitchen. It is located next to a pub, but this is a small local type friendly pub, that doesn't even play music in, even on the Saturday evening the noise was barely audible from the bottom of the garden, which is as near to the pub as you can get. I have already recommended this property to some of my friends as I think it is great value for money. There are three beaches in and around Falmouth area. We visited Trehar Gardens, which has a beautiful private beach within the grounds, well worth a visit, reasonably priced, and tickets are valid for a week. Thank you for a fab stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and views
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ner0n
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy with splendid views of the harbour”
Reviewed February 5, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our objective was to find a small and affordable place to stay with our little dogs for a long weekend in Falmouth. Harbour cottage fitted our needs: dog-friendly, small enclosed garden looking out onto the harbour, all the amenities in place for self-catering and located a couple of minutes walk from the town center. And after a pleasant conversation with the owner Lee-Anne on the phone, we decided to book.
Upon arrival we got a little confused, for a neighbouring property carries the same name, featured on a sign outside their drive. But a quick call to the owners of "our" harbour cottage, and we had the thing figured out!
Yes, parking is tricky in the immediate vicinity of the cottage, but not impossible. A little drive around and you'll always find something to ditch the car in.
We visited during a period of extreme cold, but the cottage had a good central heating system and the duvets and other bed linen were good for the job of keeping us warm when we were in. This was mostly just in the evenings as we spent most days out and about discovering this fantastically dog-friendly area of Britain.
The FAQ binder was very useful as it gave us the immediate indication of where the closest amenities where located and how to manage the central heating (hardly complex i'll admit, but after a long tiring drive...) and bins etc.
All in all, i can't find much to fault the cottage and its owners for the budget we had set ourselves in our holiday rental search. Falmouth and its immediate surroundings were wonderful this time of year, and lets just say we're looking forward to visiting again and staying in the cottage again in warmer months ahead...so we can take advantage of the little garden and its views over the harbour some more.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Views, cosiness, basic yet comfortably fitted out
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue_John9...
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful little cottage, perfect location”
Reviewed January 19, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Harbour Cottage is a delightful little house in an excellent location, just a couple of minutes stroll from shops, pubs, restaurants and tourist attractions in the charming old town of Falmouth. We felt instantly at home, and found that most of the rooms were more spacious than we had expected. It is well-equipped and very comfortable for two people. The views are wonderful, and the garden is a huge bonus.
We were not bothered by noise from the excellent neighbouring pub, and did not have any trouble finding parking during the weekend we were there; though it is possible that it would be different in the middle of summer.
The only problem for us was the very small bathroom, which we found awkward, though I am sure that younger, fitter people would manage ok.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden
Liked least: The small bathroom
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mikericha...
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Compact, cosy, central and views to die for and a great little retreat for two in a happend town of Falmouth!”
Reviewed September 12, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The entry is nothing to write home about and parking is pot luck (but never an issue), but once through the shared hallway and in the front door it's like a worm hole into another world of beautiful views across the harbour to Flushing littered with boats and then the verdant and golden fields and hedgerows of farming hinterland. The cottage is, well a cottage, compact, but with all the essentials and more. The backyard which won me over when selecting the place via the web, did not disappoint and was lovely to have breakfast in the sunshine. The location was also perfect being close to the harbour and interesting shops. A big thumbs up for use and a place I would recommend for a couple, or maybe three friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanderer7...
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great view”
Reviewed May 31, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Central venue with a spectacular view.
Having a garden is also a luxury enabling you to sit outside and gaze at the estuary over morning coffee or pre dinner cocktails

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing