We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”
Review of Cafe Mylor

Cafe Mylor
Ranked #24 of 230 Restaurants in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $21
Cuisines: Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Cafe Mylor specialising in offering great coffee and tea with breakfast, brunch and lunch. Enjoying a scenic position in Mylor Yacht Harbour our sun terrace overlooks the hustle and bustle of the marina. A spacious warm interior offers a comfortable spot to catch up over a meal or simply enjoying a coffee, cake and a chat. We offer a perfect spot to take a break with a cream tea or toasted tea cake and a cup of fine Tregothnan Tea if you fancy a walk around the scenic edge of the Falmouth Estuary. There is plentiful parking so you can begin your journey here or it is the ideal spot to take a break if you are have commenced your walk from either Mylor Village or Flushing. The Marina is accessible at all states of the tide with a fuelling berth for both diesel and petrol - The Cafe is situated next to a well stocked watersports shop and marine chandlers and a wide variety of watersports activities takes place from the site including sailing lessons and boat, kayak and stand up paddle hire.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

After a lovely walk on Mylor beach in the only glimpse of sun for weeks, we decided to stay around for a spot of lunch. Seeing as Cafe Mylor was dog friendly our choice was made. It was busy, they had tables outside but our young ones wanted to be inside. Thoughtfully crayons/felt tips/paper are on hand to keep young hands occupied. Hubby opted for Eggs Royale (£7.50 poached eggs, smoked salmon,hollandaise sauce) and I the fish finger butty. Hubby thought the butty was overpriced at £7.50.....until it arrived! Not your bog standard Cap'n Birdeye but freshly battered strips of fish fillet. Absolutely delicious. Staff were fine, our table was cleared promptly and our food wait was only 10-15 mins. Seeing as it is a child/dog friendly cafe, and the food was fab we will definitely go back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank minxiesmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_JW_Stephens, Owner at Cafe Mylor, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thanks so much for your review of our Cafe. I am personally very glad you found one of our best kept secrets 'the fish finger nutty' as it is one of my favourites too.
We hope to welcome you back to Mylor Yacht Harbour soon and with a forecast of summer heatwave you can hopefully make the most of our offerings basking in the sunshine on our terrace.
Even if the harbour seems busy when the sun comes out we always have plenty of parking spread up the valley so you should never struggle to find a place to park although we are accessible by boat or on foot via the many scenic local footpaths too.

Regards
Peter Stephens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    52
    11
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place shame about the miserable manageress.”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Excellent location and excellent food. The staff are great and helpful. The only problem is the manageress, she hardly smiles, she makes you feel like you shouldn't have bothered to go there. She is not helpful in anyway and to be honest has stopped me from wanting to go.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jawc5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_JW_Stephens, Owner at Cafe Mylor, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our Cafe and we are obviously delighted that you rate our food location and atmosphere in such a positive light - It is disappointing for us to read your reaction to our Manageress. but with the inevitable seasonal staff changes that take place in our trade you will find that any of the misgivings you had about visiting us are no longer relevant. i am sure you will be always welcomed in future with some happy smiley faces despite the rather inclement weather that seems to be flying past our window.
With this in mind we hope to see you again down at our Cafe in Mylor Yacht Harbour soon as we are still open 7 days a week from 9.00 am to 3.30 pm and our Car park scheme is still in operation so If you are spending over £3 in Café Mylor, take the tear-off stub from your parking ticket to get up to 2 hours of parking refunded! Just hand over the ticket stub at the counter.

Lokk forward to seeing you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food, great position shame about the manageress.”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We live in mylor bridge and over the last year we have visited cafe mylor on a number of occasions. The food has always been excellent, although maybe a little over priced, however we are never disappointed. All the waitressing staff are very smiley and helpful however the manageress is a different story. Every time we go in there she is sour faced and unfriendly, it wouldn't be a problem if she wasn't the one serving customers and taking orders. In the summer we thought it was just because it was busy but it hasn't changed since the end of the season. It's such a shame because more often than not we consider walking out because we feel so unwelcome. Over all it's a great place though.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aetetley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_JW_Stephens, Owner at Cafe Mylor, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for you positive review about our cafe - With a very recent change of staff at the cafe , we hope to see you again down at Mylor Yacht Harbour soon as we are still open 7 days a week from 9.00 am to 3.30 pm and be welcomed with some happy smiley faces despite the weather that seems to be flying past our window currently.
Mind you with our position you can watch all manner of meteorological phenomenon get deposited on the Fal river whilst enjoying our teas and coffee, cakes, breakfast or lunches from the warmth and comfort of Cafe Mylor inside. We still operate a BYO policy if you fancy bringing a bottle of wine to enjoy your lunch and we will only charge a small corkage charge for this.
Our Car park scheme is still in operation so If you are spending over £3 in Café Mylor, take the tear-off stub from your parking ticket to get up to 2 hours of parking refunded! Just hand over the ticket stub at the counter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lunch at Mylor”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Had lunch on Saturday, the flat bread and baguette were filled to the brim and it was really tasty. Service seems quicker and more organised than earlier in the year when we had been a bit disappointed. Bonus is the fantastic view and its reasonably priced.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_JW_Stephens, Owner at Cafe Mylor, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Apologies for our somewhat tardy response to your review - All feedback is very useful and we would like to thank you for your comments, they are very welcome to both the Staff and the owners.
We continue to be open 7 days a week for breakfasts, brunch and lunches. Our doors open from 9am until 4pm what ever the weather and our new menu for the autumn and winter has a very extensive specials list and it changes daily.

We look forward to seeing you again shortly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A welcome watering hole, though at a price!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We came upon this on a circular walk from Mylor Bridge to Falmouth. The venue is, I would say, more of a cafe than a restaurant and two coffees and cakes cost £10, which was a little on the high side. Clearly there is a "captive audience" with boats moored in the harbour and I should imagine that it gets very busy, though on an autumnal Monday morning it was not too bad. There is one loo, better than nothing as the municipal conveniences nearby were closed! It's definitely worth a visit if you are in the area, and the lunches look good for a future visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew_Moodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Mylor also viewed

Penryn, Falmouth
Falmouth, Cornwall
 

Been to Cafe Mylor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing