We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“WOW, Fantastic, amazing, brilliant, superb and...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Falmouth Scene View over harbour to Pendennis Castle
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Falmouth Scene
View over harbour to Pendennis Castle
Living room with funky sofa
Front elevation
Historic Plaque
New roof and windows to the observatory deck
The Observatory Deck is something special
Bespoke sofa
The kitchen is designed to fit the octagonal space
First floor staircase
Flexible living space
Flexible bedroom
Bathroom
Information point on landing
Staircase to entrance hall
Reclaimed lighting by Skinflint
Main Bedroom
Wetroom Ensuite
Floor Plan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Tower -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Falmouth, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 24, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the top of the tower.
Liked least: Coming home.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Olsens
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unique Stay with all needed amenities”
Reviewed May 23, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Very unique and well equiped self catered accomodation. Lots of stairs but all worth the experience. Beds were very comfortable, kitchen had everything needed and the coffee and cookies were a welcome suprise. The view from the top floor was outstanding. Thank you very much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about the unique experience.
Liked least: Nothing other than we needed a spare rool of toilet paper.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali2509
Stratford-upon-Avon, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow, a truly amazing place to stay”
Reviewed March 20, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We stayed for my Husband's 40th Birthday and we could not have wished to stay in anywhere more breathtaking. The whole of this building is finished to the highest specification and the attention to detail and little extras are so well thought out.

The view from the observation deck is amazing, we spent hours up there looking out and enjoying the view and the comings and goings of the boats etc. The top floor is made all the more pleasant by the boiling tap, wine cooler and fridge and we enjoyed many sunsets and sunrises with a glass of wine or cup of tea.

The position of the tower is also great for walking into town to the shops and restaurants as well. I cannot recommend this accommodation enough and we hope to return in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the top of the tower
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CardiffMa...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
627 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
“Breath-taking views, wonderful restoration - real WOW factor!”
Reviewed March 5, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Well, I'm reluctant to write this review as I'd like to keep this wonderful secret to myself, but I owe it to the owners to celebrate their tasteful restoration of this quirky inland 'lighthouse'. The 'Observatory Tower' has been restored to a high specification. The master bedroom with ensuite is on the ground floor with four other levels above, with the kitchen being in the midway point. However the real wow factor is when you reach the observation deck and see views all around Falmouth and the surrounding area from the highest point around. The 360 degree views never failed to take my breath away (literally) as I gasped my way to the top deck. The 66 wooden stairs are not for the faint hearted, but would surely keep you fit if you lived there. We parked up at the beginning of our 3-night stay and only returned to our car to leave. You can walk everywhere in Falmouth, take in the scenery along coastal walks or catch the ferry across to picturesque St Mawes. We visit this area regularly, but cannot return to Falmouth again unless the Observatory Tower is vacant.
Only one picky point - the master bed is still uncomfortable with a saggy mattress in the middle. It really does need replacing with a quality mattress to match the rest of the quality surroundings and perhaps a little bigger too.
Would have liked to see the Camera Obscura in action, but couldn't find any information on how to see it in action - next time though....
Thanks and well done Alen and Linda

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wonderful views
Liked least: The bed unfortunately
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ptdj
Hertford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A quirky & unique place to stay!!”
Reviewed August 27, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Cornwall for our family is always special, and we look for a holiday let that has a sea view -WOW! We certainly got that!! We were a little concerned that the Observatory Tower would be a bit small for our family of four, but we were pleasantly surprised of its internal space. Upon arrival, our kids could not wait to get to the top floor followed by a couple of 'puffed out' parents (the steps were a lot in one go!) The view was spectacular, It was a lovely sunny day and we could see for miles - Lucky for us also was the beautiful sunset that we had that evening.

Regarding the living accommodation -
Good points - High quality finish in all rooms * Great clean, modern bathrooms/Fab shower
Fully modern kitchen * Good 2nd bedroom (which our kids used) * Large flat screen TV with surround sound in Living room.

Not so good points - (hate to say this as it's such a lovely place) - Ground floor bedroom felt rather claustrophobic & dark - unable to leave a window open at night due to it opening out into the outside path/road * Bed was very uncomfortable *

The Observatory Tower is a really unique place to stay and we would frequently look out for it whilst in Falmouth, knowing how lucky we were to be staying there for the week.
Its steps take a lot of getting use to, and its unbelievable just how many times one finds oneself going from top to bottom. If you are looking for something with a difference with the best sea view Falmouth can offer you will not go far wrong staying at the Observatory Tower.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Observatory floor with its fab views
Liked least: Master bedroom
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 19, 2012
We thank you for your comments and are glad that you enjoyed your stay.

We have since changed the mattress in the master bedroom and the feedback we have had has been positive.

It is true that the front window opens onto the pavement as do all the other houses on the streets nearby. However, it can be securely opened to vent only. The adjacent ensuite also has a window which opens into the private courtyard and will also adequately vent the bedroom.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KennStarr
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fabulous - The most wierd and wonderful place we have ever stayed at.”
Reviewed July 25, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
3
people found this review helpful

What can I say? The observatory tower has a unique wow factor about it, right from the moment you see it and up to the observation deck (room) that has amaing 360 degree views of the area.

The observatory tower perches at the highest point of Falouth and from the harbour dominates the sky line. I resisted the urge, whenever I could see the tower, to tell other people that was where we were staying, it really is that amazing.

The Observatory Tower has been carefully restored to the highest specification to create a unique, luxury stay, my only complaint would be the bed in the main bedroom was not that comfortable for us.

The whole place was amazing, right down to the boiling water dispenser taps and the bespoke furniture and kitchen that left us wanting for nothing during our very enjoyable stay.

This is a truly amazing residence, unique in that it is a former weather observation tower but feels much like being in a lighthouse and watching sunsets and sunrises fom the top room is incredible. The stairs were steep and many but worthwhile for the amazing views. Falmouth is a fabulous and the Observatory Tower is almost like the cherry on top, unless you have mobility problems or are extremely fussy, you will not be disappointed with the accommodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The truly unique but luxurious residence and panoramic views
Liked least: The bed i the master bedroom
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 19, 2012
Great feedback. Thank you.

We have since changed the mattress in the master bedroom and the response we have had has been positive.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galabut
Bocholt, Germany
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Die Aussicht!
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$130
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an inquiry to the owner using the above make inquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Payment Protection
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing