We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Step Back In Time”
Review of DeWynns

DeWynns
Ranked #61 of 229 Restaurants in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Tea shop
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pleasant Step Back In Time”
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Warmly greeted. Small place with quirky feel. Clearly the old-fashioned values for being pleasant, polite and helpful are all alive and well here. Lovely resting place at end of busy day. Check out the downstairs room too - has the feeling of private club room. Tea and coffee selection great. When so many coffee shops all feel the same, this one stands out as unique and authentic.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    42
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Brilliant!!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I would go back to Falmouth just to have their coffee and buttered toast again. If I lived in Falmouth I think I might even go there every day for breakfast! Lovely, quaint premises with estuary views if you can get the window seat. Perfect coffee every time and the bread is from the baker across the road (Tom's?) and fantastic. The Saturday girls seemed a bit anxious about how much coffee one of our party was drinking (!) but the service was generally very friendly and efficient. Brilliant place. Highly recommended and that coffee is so good.............

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
278 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Step back in time”
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

A cafe from yesteryear! Staff are friendly and the food is very good if not massive in portion size. Crab sandwich was lovely. People on the next table had soup which smelt fabulous!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SFWOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Old fashioned but nice”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The title says it all. Been going there for years. Much nicer than the Costa type places along the same street

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank GreenOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullion, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Fantastic Coffee Variety”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

DeWynns is my favourite coffee shop in Falmouth, it's on the high street yet even when the town is very busy we always manage to walk in and get a table straight away. There is a nice atmosphere, with traditional decor. The downstairs seating area is currently being refurbished.

Another purveyor of fine cream teas! However it is the coffee variety that impresses me, the filter coffee is from a different part of the world every time I visit. Everything is homemade which is always nice, especially the cakes!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DeWynns also viewed

 
Falmouth, Cornwall
Falmouth, Cornwall
 
Falmouth, Cornwall
Falmouth, Cornwall
 

Been to DeWynns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing