We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worth extra for harbour view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Greenbank Hotel
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Poole
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“worth extra for harbour view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2010

Stayed here for a night in October with my teenage son . Hotel is in a lovely position right on waters edge with fabulous views across the estuary. Takes prob 15 mins to walk into centre. Parking it seems is fine if there is no event on, we arrived at tail end of a wedding and there was no hotel parking to be had, so we parked along the rather narrow public road, also the weather was grey and stormy so those who had parked down on the hotels own quayside ended up with very salty cars !! Also parking/turning on the quay is very tight for larger cars, ideal for minis !! Walked into reception to be greeted by ghastly purple carpet everywhere ,overshadowing what is a lovely historic building entrance, and a slightly offkey receptionist. From then on everything improved dramatically as we were given keys to a wonderful large room with huge bay window overlooking harbour, with 2 comfy armchairs in which to relax and enjoy the views, equally huge bathroom with vast shower, large welcome tray of coffees teas etc and flat screen tv. Comfy twin beds and upmarket interior decor, very quiet at night, and excellent evening dinner and breakfast in the hotels restaurant, again situated along the waters edge with fine views. The night we were there it was a very mixed age range of guests - everyone from dynamic young London type professional couples to rather mature hiking types. Bar area was bright and friendly and relaxing to chill out and look and the scenery, with newspapers and comfy sofas. Would definitely stay there again and would forgive the small niggles and purple carpet !!. Just a welcoming smile from the receptionist on duty would make all the difference to this beautifully situated hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lagoon44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    673
    262
    77
    29
    8
See reviews for
186
533
29
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2010

It has a great location, with views accross the estuary. Falmouth town center is a good 10 min walk.
Parking is an issue, and if you get there during an event (and there are lots of events), it won't be easy. The underground car park is not always open, and is too full of rubbish & junk to get many cars into.
Harbour view room clean and has the basic facilities. French doors opened to very small balcony but rattle in the wind, which along with thumping of disco was enough to see off any decent sleep. Common areas old & tired, with about a dozen layers of paint on everything except the apalling purple carpet. Lots and lots and lots of doors to get through between reception & room. Bar area comfortable & has odd decor - a mix of colonial & 70s. Great to relax in and watch the boats leaping about in the weather, unless there is an event on in which case you'll be lucky to get in. There is a dark, gloomy lounge area with a computer along the corridor past reception, but it's very unwelcoming. Dining room is well appointed and again, has those great views. Shame the cuisine doesn't match up though. Good ingredients ruined by a tendency to empty the herb garden into the dish, & some odd mixtures. Gracious and understanding waitress. Other diners had same opinion. Didn't eat in restaurant again - lots of much better alternatives in Falmouth. Breakfast equally poor but also with a long wait. The cheapest bacon & sausages you can buy don't taste good. Thankfully I had the fish which was merely overcooked.
The worst problem is that the whole hotel is way too hot - stifling in fact, and apparently unable to be moderated due to oldness of the system. On the whole, the hotel is outdated and overpriced, and lacks any real quality. However it does have the view over the estuary, on which it is able to survive in spite of its shortcomings.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

With fabulous views over the Fal Estuary this hotel doesn't dissapoint. The rooms are very good, large and and comfortable with tea/coffee making facilities. Without doubt the staff are the most friendly and helpful that I have come across, nothing was too much trouble. Food in the restaurant was extremley good, made even better by the wonderful views of the estuary. Plenty of car parking spaces at the front and rear of the hotel. Breakfast was very good, cooked to order, and also very quick each morning, no waiting about as in a lot of other hotels. It's a 5 minute walk into Falmouth centre where there is a lot to see and also Falmouth is ideally located to visit other attractions nearby, eg The Eden Project. I would really recommend The Greenbank Hotel and good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heathra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2010

We stayed at the Green Bank during the latter part of September 2010, and would recommend it to anyone. The room was fantastic, clean, luxurious and the view marvelous. In fact my husband and I got up early every morning (not what we normally do on holiday!) just to sit in the bay window and watch the river come to life. It was so relaxing. The staff in the hotel were absolutely great and the service second to none. The breakfast was superb, and the food in the restaurant was inspired. In fact we ate in the hotel every night. All in all a fantastic place to stay. We are looking forward to returning to Falmouth next year and would not entertain staying anywhere else but the Green Bank!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLN58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2010

We stayed in the suite as it was not significantly more than other rooms and we wanted space for our baby. The two rooms were fantastic, wonderful views and balcony. Shame there was only a shower in the bathroom, the rest of the suite was so luxurious The bar is fantastic - would not be out of place in a top quality London hotel. All the staff were really friendly and helpful. Good quality food both in the evening and at breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandJ1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2010

From the day we arrived and to the time we left the hotel, all I can say that the hotel was absolutely wonderful and the staff were so helpful all the time, especially the restaurant manager Matt Garland and also the bar manager Matt Terry who both went out of their ways to make us welcome. I have no hessitation in recommending this hotel to anyone who wish to have a well earned break either as a long weekend or a week off in this wonderful hotel

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chilledoutchick55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2010

stayed in the greenbank hotel August 2010 - had a nightmare trying to find a decent hotel in cornwall as left booking it a little late ..... had a choice of hotels ranging from £170 -£450 a night (family of 4) - ended up at the greenbank for around £200 B&B. not disappointed. very clean and spacious room, lovely view across the harbour. large sofa (turned into childrens bed whilst at dinner), nice big, comfortable bed. clean and crisp. children were very welcome in the restaurant and the staff were VERY accommodating (thank you to all ) - the only downside was that the hotel room was so very hot! couldn't leave the french doors open as it was windy and the children would have frozen to death ... but tempting all the same! will definately return

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falmouth
1.1 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
1.1 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#3 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#9 of 24 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
18.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenbank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenbank Hotel

Property: The Greenbank Hotel
Address: Harbourside, Falmouth TR11 2SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Falmouth
#2 Luxury Hotel in Falmouth
#3 Family Hotel in Falmouth
#10 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Greenbank Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Float away in stylish surroundings. Submerge yourself in characterful history. Dive into delicious food and drink. Breathe in fresh sea air. Drink in the view. Nestled on Falmouth harbour, the Greenbank Hotel blends the best of coastal living with the finest in contemporary comfort, so you can experience life - on the water's edge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, HRS, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Greenbank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenbank Hotel Falmouth
The Greenbank Hotel Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing