We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience would not hesitate to recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Greenbank Hotel
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2013

the staff were very helpfull and polite the dinner we had which started with champagne and canopes and followed by four excellent courses was to a very high standard. The room had spectacular views over the harbour were furnished to a very high standard with attention to detail making the whole experience most enjoyable. Luxury linen, soft pillows and towels, spoilt us all.

I would not hesitate to recommend anyone to stay and enjoy the hotel and area. Falmouth is a most interesting town to visist with the harbour on one side and lovely beaches on the other. A big thanks tp Paul the manager and his staff for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms overlooking the harbour are the ones to book. Quiet away from the road and with l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at The Greenbank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

I, along with the rest of the team, are delighted to have read your comments. The dining experience here has received some wonderful feedback of late, and just last week this has been rewarded with a second rosette from the AA. Thank you for taking the time to review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,012 - 1,018 of 1,263 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

Our room was spacious and clean with enough room for a cot. The staff were lovely, local and very helpful. It was only a short walk from the town centre. I agree with the previous comments that the hallways are narrow (only just wide enough for a pram) but it adds to the hotels charm. We ate in the restaurant twice and the meals were very nice and view fantastic (although a little expensive). Only negative would be the bed seemed a little small but we would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seashore163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at The Greenbank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. I hope that you will have the opportunity to visit us again when visiting Cornwall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

I loved the room as soon as I walked in. Comfortable bed. Good shower. Comfortable chair by the window to soak in the view. Lovely restaurant as well. The hallways were interesting to navigate, wiggly and a bit narrow. Loved this hotel and it's views.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmh2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at The Greenbank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

I am always delighted to hear that our guests 'Loved' the hotel! When staying for leisure purposes, decisions are often based on emotions and I am very pleased that you enjoyed the experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is one sprawling hotel! The first words that came to both my husband and I as we arrived at the Greenbank Hotel in Falmouth over the Easter break.

We managed to park the car without any problems at the hotel and left it there for the duration of our stay. Check-in was reasonably quick and when we got to the room (on the Second Floor) we found to our pleasant surprise that it was a very large room with a king-sized bed, sofa and a good-sized bathroom with separate shower cubicle.
The only issues we had with the room was that the television was too small for the size of the room and the door to the (very small) balcony did not shut properly and therefore rattled during high winds; very difficult to sleep when that is happening.

We had dinner at the restaurant which was very good, however we ordered drinks in the Bar and after 30 minutes they still had not arrived! Only when we complained to the Restaurant Manager as we were being seated for dinner, did our pre-dinner drinks FINALLY arrive - very poor service indeed.

Breakfast was served at the opposite end of the hotel in the mornings and was OK but we felt the service could have been a little more 'with it'.

Overall this is a good hotel but it is a little ragged around the edges and therefore needs some work by the staff to bring it up to scratch.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Second Floor over looking the river and Flushing are very good and very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahEJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at The Greenbank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you for your balanced review, I think your comments are fair, and in an odd way, I am quite pleased because many of the negative points you raise are easily rectified. I was disappointed to hear comments such as 'poor service' as this is an area where we generally score very highly and can only apologise for what I feel would have been an isolated incident.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The rooms that have been refurbished in the perfectly located hotel are to die for; tastefully decorated to the highest standard. During our stay the rooms were a little hot (despite it being 0 degrees outside!) so we have to sleep with the window open which did not cause too many issues.
Breakfast was well presented but service was a little slow; many other guests seemed to notice this too by continually asking 'Where is my tea/coffee etc'
Hotel corridors could do with a spruce up, but all in all a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Harbor view rooms are worth the extra money... a truly fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelgeo1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at The Greenbank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Thank you for your review, it will hopefully send the right message to future visitors that we are constantly addressing areas that need attention to improve our product. I'm pleased the refurbished rooms were to your liking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed at the Greenbank Hotel, room 235, for the first time last weekend. Although we booked a classic room with a harbour view we were upgraded to an executive room. Very large bed, and a but lumpy (probably needed to be updated). The room itself was very spacious and had a lovely view of Flushing. Bathroom was nice, with a shower room and a bath. All very clean although there was a half used shower gel bottle and used soap left in the shower when we arrived. Lampshades looked a little tired although the rest if the room looked as though it had been upgraded. Coffee cups were an unusual shape, square which made them very difficult to drink from. Breakfast was fine with again a lovely room. All in all a very nice stay, would definetely stay again.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank rixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at The Greenbank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Thank you for your comments, and a balanced review. I appreciate what you have said, and often comments like these provide us with the knowledge to implement a program that will improve our offering as we strive for excellence in all areas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Only dined today (although have stayed in the past) but have to say service amazing as always (having first dined here when I was 15, now in my 40s). Always looked after, fantastic high quality service, dinner was perfect, as always, a lovely Easter lunch, thank you.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel_Saskia_Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at The Greenbank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Thank you for your lovely feedback on our Restaurant offering!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falmouth
1.1 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
222 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#4 of 24 in Falmouth
1,166 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#9 of 24 in Falmouth
1,219 reviews
0.9 mi away
Merchants Manor
Merchants Manor
#13 of 24 in Falmouth
638 reviews
17.4 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenbank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenbank Hotel

Address: Harbourside, Falmouth TR11 2SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Falmouth
#3 Luxury Hotel in Falmouth
#10 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range: $143 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Greenbank Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Float away in stylish surroundings. Submerge yourself in characterful history. Dive into delicious food and drink. Breathe in fresh sea air. Drink in the view. Nestled on Falmouth harbour, the Greenbank Hotel blends the best of coastal living with the finest in contemporary comfort, so you can experience life - on the water's edge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Greenbank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenbank Hotel Falmouth
The Greenbank Hotel Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing