We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent as always!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Greenbank Hotel
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Only dined today (although have stayed in the past) but have to say service amazing as always (having first dined here when I was 15, now in my 40s). Always looked after, fantastic high quality service, dinner was perfect, as always, a lovely Easter lunch, thank you.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel_Saskia_Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at The Greenbank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Thank you for your lovely feedback on our Restaurant offering!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,160)
There are newer reviews for The Greenbank Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

916 - 922 of 1,161 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

We just couldn't resist another trip to the Greenbank having enjoyed the last 2 so much and I have to say it was as good as ever. The service was spot on as normal and the quality of food and drink really made our stay that bit more special. We ate breakfast in a different room to the restaurant but I have to say it was lovely with great views over the water and lots of space - and it was nice not eating in the same restaurant we had dinner. Tip: As we went out of main season this time we took a trip to the Maritime Museum - we are not really into boats but I have to say it was really worth visiting (ask reception at the Greenbank as they do a 10% discount voucher!)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at The Greenbank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

It's always pleasing, and a sign that we have the right approach, when our guests return frequently. I hope this will continue, and I am sure our friends at the Maritime Museaum will appreciate your tip. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed at Greenbank for one night and were extremely disappointed. The room (which was an upgrade) looked like a room in a Travelodge, the bed was uncomfortable, the bathroom in need of updating (and cleaning) and had a revolting stained loo seat. The food was indifferent, they charged £7.50 for a large bottle of fizzy water. Breakfast was in a very weird conference room rather than in the restaurant. We won't return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jojo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at The Greenbank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Of course I have been very disappointed to read your comments, especially as it is so dissimilar to so many of our reviews. Cleanliness issues concern me the most, and if this was the case, I apologise to you. I am extremely proud of the high standards achieved by our housekeeping team here at the hotel on a constant basis and I'm sorry if you felt we fell short. Large bottles of Cornish Spring Water are charged at £2.80, I am unsure of where the confusion arose here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

stayed on Friday 15th as a birthday treat.

second stay and as special as the first time. lovely room with sea view.

bottle of wine & a card from the team, nice touch!

love everything about this hotel & will be visiting again soon

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at The Greenbank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

It's lovely to hear that decided to return, and that you chose to do it on a special occassion. You will always be most welcome here at The Greenbank.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

.

We have just had a fantastic visit to this hotel where we stayed in the Master Suite.

Pluses -

Wonderful views. Good parking. Friendly Staff. Fabulous breakfast.

Minus -

This would probably only effect a few people - too much fish on the lunch and dinner menus. I'm allergic to all fish and so we didn't eat at the hotel. Found the Da Vinci italian restaurant just 5-minutes away by taxi was absolutely great though and I particularly enjoyed their pate and Fileto Dolcelatte with brandy. I realise that when hotels are near water that their menus have a high number of fish dishes but the menu offered very little else for my taste.

Not sure about the latest fad of the bath being in the bedroom. I love to bathe but I also like my privacy when I do so. If I had the light on to read then I couldn't see the view (it was night-time) and if the light was off then I could see the view but I couldn't read. Oh, dear what a dilemma!!

Funny -

Guests should be warned to keep valuables away from the coffee table when the French Doors are open. I just about managed to catch a VERY LARGE seagull on the table who flew out the doors with my husband's wallet in its beak. My shouting at it led to the wallet being dropped outside on the balcony. We would have been most bewildered as to what had happened to the wallet had I had been in another part of the suite and not seen the bird!! We had a jolly good laugh about it afterwards and it will give us a dinner-party story for the next few weeks!

We would certainly return again to this hotel and to this room.

.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbadosbelle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at The Greenbank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

A lovely, humorous review, thank you. We all enjoyed reading your story, all though I am not sure if we would be laughing if the wallet disappeared forever!
We are well known for our restaurant offerings of excellent, fresh, locally sourced seafood, I'm sorry that this did not suit your diet, although there are alternatives. The bath in the window was carefully thought about. For the benefit of future visitors, it has a curtain rail that surrounds it for total privacy, although the concept is that you can draw the curtain half way, and therefore enjoy the wonderful views across the estuary.
I really hope you will have the chance to return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We have dined at the Greenbank several times and each time the meal has been excellent, as has the service. The views across the Carrick Roads water to Flushing are delightful and add to the ambience. Nice crockery, nice cutlery and proper napkins all white linen to match the tablecloths. Excellent and recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taylors1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at The Greenbank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments about our Lunch service, and as we move towards the spring months, there are some exciting new dishes being introduced, I hope you will have the chance to come back and sample them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Absolutely superb. We had a 3 bed room. And it had 3 beds in it, not some foldaway thing. Superb breakfast, brilliant hotel. The room (124) is not on the harbour, it has the road outside but there is hardly any traffic and we were not disturbed. First time at this hotel - definitely not the last. Little bit of a walk into town over steep hills so not for the infirm.

Room Tip: Room 124 for three people.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adtrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at The Greenbank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you so much, your comments have delighted the team, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falmouth
1.1 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
198 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#4 of 24 in Falmouth
1,111 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#11 of 24 in Falmouth
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
7.4 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
893 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenbank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenbank Hotel

Address: Harbourside, Falmouth TR11 2SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Falmouth
#2 Luxury Hotel in Falmouth
#3 Family Hotel in Falmouth
#10 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range: $137 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Greenbank Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Float away in stylish surroundings. Submerge yourself in characterful history. Dive into delicious food and drink. Breathe in fresh sea air. Drink in the view. Nestled on Falmouth harbour, the Greenbank Hotel blends the best of coastal living with the finest in contemporary comfort, so you can experience life - on the water's edge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Otel, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Greenbank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenbank Hotel Falmouth
The Greenbank Hotel Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing