We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Greenbank Hotel
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Greenbank Hotel last weekend in September 2012. We came down from London for a wedding and thought we would treat ourself to a four star hotel. We were extremely disappointed. The location is fantastic and the views if you chose to have a room overlooking the sea is amazing. However the rooms were very sad as was the entrance, bar, hallways etc. The furniture in the room was very cheap and nasty. There were a number of cracked glass in the windows. The bathroom was not clean and had generally seen better days. I think for the price they charge the rooms should be a lot nicer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wildcroft25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    733
    282
    82
    31
    9
See reviews for
208
584
31
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on business and loved it ! Free upgrade on room .. fantastic view of harbour. Restaurant food on a par with the best. Bar prices better than most !

Will be staying here out of choice for personal trip to Falmouth.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattJames69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

the first thing that grabs you about this hotel is the location right on the waters edge with its own
"jetty" as a car park the staff are extremely pleasant and the hotel is very comfortable we stayed in a deluxe room with a balcony overlooking the harbour the room was large and very comfortable the bed was enormous and the bath was a jacuzzi type and it also had a separate shower cubicle. The hotel however did have a downside for us, whilst the restaurant had fantastic views and the staff superb we felt the choice at dinner was very limited and quite expensive for what was available. whilst our room was very good it was at the opposite end of the hotel from reception and restaurant and to reach the room although on the first floor and accessable by a lift there was still quite a long way to walk through very narrow passages and lots of doors to open on the way even after using the lift we still had to walk a distance not a problem to us as we are both able bodied but anyone with walking difficulties would really struggle, we were also dissapointed that there were no leisure facilities, but of course we knew this before we booked still we believe that this hotel would benefit even further by providing at least a small gym.

Room Tip: check the location of your room before booking if you have any problems with walking and ask for use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank callyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed at Greenbank for a relative's 21st birthday. 14 of us dined in the Sundeck. The room was perfect for the party of 14, the view was stunning! We all had the set 3 course meal and all 14 meals were completely faultless and utterly delicious! The service was brilliant, nothing was too much trouble.
After the amazing meal we had the pleasure of staying the night in the hotel. Our room was shear luxury. A bay window framed the most idyllic view of the harbour which we were able to enjoy from two sumptuous arm chairs. The decor was calm and contemporary and very comfortable. The shower room was large and modern with plump, fluffy towels and lovely toiletries.
The whole stay was first class.The Greenbank offers relaxation, luxury, good food and service all in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at The Greenbank Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments. I remember the occassion well and could tell that you and your guests were enjoying themselves. This contributed to a wonderful atmosphere for the evening. I am very pleased to hear that you were so happy with your room. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at e Greenbank for 1 night to celebrate our wedding anniversary and can honestly say I can't think of one thing to criticise. We had a sea view room and the view out over the harbour was just stunning. Our room was finished with good quality furnishings and the bed was extremely comfortable. We enjoyed a delicious dinner in the main restaurant and have to say the staff were an absolute credit to the hotel and the service was professional and friendly. We were especially appreciative of the little touches such as the "happy anniversary" written on our dessert plates and the anniversary card. Breakfast was equally good and I have to mention the delicious thyme roasted mushrooms.......I could have eaten a plate of just those. There was a wedding going on during our stay but it didn't affect our enjoyment and despite initially worrying about the potential for late night noise, we weren't disturbed at all. We will definitely be going back again.

Room Tip: The view from room 103 was just amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HEC2308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at The Greenbank Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Greenbank for such a special occassion. I am delighted that you felt looked after in such a manner and that you enjoyed your dining experience with us. The Chef in particular will be pleased to read your comments. Congratulations to you both, and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2012

A special occasion demands a special hotel And the Greenbank fits the criteria perfectly. We were celebrating a 21st birthday party and had a wonderful meal situated in the sun deck private room. The food was wonderful and the service was faultless and we were made to feel that nothing was too much trouble. The room was exceptional with a contemporary twist but still gave a sense of the hotels heritage with its style and feel. I have stayed in many of the Falmouth Hotels and the Greenbank is in a different league to the rest. Thoroughly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for room with a sea view, although the whole establishment is stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at The Greenbank Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
I am so pleased to have read such a lovely review. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We were to visit Falmouth for my son's wedding at the end of September, and in late April we booked a room at the Falmouth Beach Hotel - a Best Western. Within ten days of booking, the entire hotel burned down and we chose the Greenbank as a reasonable alternative. We have just returned home from there after the best five days we have spent in a British hotel in many years.

As everyone else says, the location and views are splendid. But the room, the food, the service and general friendly attitude of the staff are beyond reproach. It's a rambling conglomeration of about seven houses, with long corridors, fire doors, little flights of six or seven stairs - all quite charming. The bar is a beautifully appointed lounge, with French windows to a patio where you get one of the best views of the Fal estuary on offer.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and could find no fault with the hotel - we hope you enjoy yourself as much as we did!

Room Tip: No real need for a sea view room, the restaurant, terrace, patio and bar all give you the best views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoffnJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at The Greenbank Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with the TA community. We are working hard to give our guests this level of comfort and service and I am delighted to read such lovely comments. If you have the chance to visit Cornwall again in the future, you will be most welcome at The Greenbank.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falmouth
1.1 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
188 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 24 in Falmouth
1,093 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#11 of 24 in Falmouth
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
873 reviews
17.4 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
19.1 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenbank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenbank Hotel

Property: The Greenbank Hotel
Address: Harbourside, Falmouth TR11 2SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Falmouth
#2 Luxury Hotel in Falmouth
#3 Family Hotel in Falmouth
#10 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Greenbank Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Float away in stylish surroundings. Submerge yourself in characterful history. Dive into delicious food and drink. Breathe in fresh sea air. Drink in the view. Nestled on Falmouth harbour, the Greenbank Hotel blends the best of coastal living with the finest in contemporary comfort, so you can experience life - on the water's edge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Greenbank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenbank Hotel Falmouth
The Greenbank Hotel Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing