We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely - definitely recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crill Manor Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Falmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crill Manor Hotel
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in Falmouth
York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lovely - definitely recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2007

My husband and I stayed for just one night and were very optimistic about the hotel from the reviews we had read on Tripadvisor. We booked direcly with the hotel and were sent a leaflet about the hotel, a sample menu and directions. The owner was also very friendly on the phone.

On arrival we were certainly not disappointed and can see why the hotel is highly recommended. The room was lovely, clean and spacious. The evening meal and service was fantastic. We had no compliants at all and would re-visit again ourselves and recommend it to others.

  • Liked — Service and food
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Abi53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    2
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2007

We stayed at the Crill Manor over Easter. We were dubious about staying at a 2 star hotel but had read the reviews so decided to take a chance. We were not only pleasantly surprised but more bold over by the standard of this privately owned hotel. Chris and Gerry Reilly, the owners, go out of their way to make you feel welcome from the moment you step through the door, nothing is too much trouble - you only have to ask. The food was worthy of a 5 star hotel - we should know, we've stayed at plenty - and the wine list would delight any Connoisseur with very reasonable prices. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and clean - as are the public rooms. We would certainly be back and wouldn't hesitate to recomend a stay here to our friends. Gerry even got us tickets for the Eden Project and saved us standing in a queue!

  • Liked — Food and large bathroom
  • Disliked — Bit remote
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Barton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex.England
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2007

We stayed here over Easter 2007. The hotel is exactly as described on
thier web site. However,they are not able to "blow thier own trumpet"
regarding the standards they keep. The decor is very pleasing with lots of areas for "quiet time".The room we had (room 2) was very light and airy with a view of the rear garden and adjoining field, with horses. The food is excellent and very varied. The hosts (Jerry & Christine) are most welcoming. Totally no smoking throughout makes this even more pleasant. The lack of children running wild is very acceptable!. This is definately more than a 2 star establishment.

  • Liked — the attention to detail
  • Disliked — We don't drink, apart from wine with a meal and we felt a little "pressured" to have a drink before dinner.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Essexgirl2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Devon, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2007

Well kept,
Well fed,
Well slept,
Well bed,
Welcome,
WELL DONE

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank liveD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2007

We spent 3 nights here in 2006 and found it an absolute jewel of an hotel. We prefer owner-run hotels with character, and this certainly meets both those criteria. The Reillys were very visible and very friendly, and on hand to serve food, drinks or generally give advice about the area. The rooms were very comfortable, the food was excellent, I found the wine-list good with a broad range at fair prices.
Its a great location to explore Cornwall from and we used it as a base to hit Lands End, Penzance, Padstow, St Ives and the whole rugged and beautiful Cornish coast-line.

The McBrides

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welshpool
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2006

We stayed for 2 nights in September on a DB& B basis. There was a very warm welcome on arrival at reception. The bedroom was a good size [room 9] as was the bathroom with good shower over the bath. The view overlooked the rear garden/back of the hotel was not great and a room at front would have been better. The lounge /bar area with its different levels and tasteful decor was very pleasant with many comfortable sofas. Really comfortable area for a pre dinner drink and menu selection.The service was very prompt and friendly. Although the menu range was limited it was sufficient and the quality was excellent. Also menu changed every day. The hake we had was particularly excellent and so was the chocolate torte.The wine list was very good and the prices reasonable.
All in all an excellent stay and when back in the area we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank rayglyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2006

After enjoying a week at Crill Manor last year, my wife and I decided to return this August for another generous helping of this excellent hotel's hospitality.
Gerry and Christine are the welcoming hosts who, along with their professional and friendly staff, helped make our second visit to Falmouth a truly memorable experience. The food and the level of service would not be out of place in a 4 star hotel so don't be put off by the hotel's 2 star rating.
We would recommend the Crill Manor Hotel to anyone who expects excellent food, service and value for money but, BE WARNED - once you visit you will want to return again and again......


Elizabeth and David Tacchi

  • Liked — Very high quality of food and service
  • Disliked — No lift
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank SunnySomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
1.8 mi away
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
#13 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
0.3 mi away
Broadmead Hotel
Broadmead Hotel
#20 of 25 in Falmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#10 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.6 mi away
Membly Hall Hotel
Membly Hall Hotel
#15 of 25 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.8 mi away
Penmere Manor Hotel
Penmere Manor Hotel
#16 of 25 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crill Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crill Manor Hotel

Property: Crill Manor Hotel
Address: Budock Water, Falmouth TR11 5BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in Falmouth
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Crill Manor Falmouth
Crill Manor Hotel Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing