We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of a facade.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Royal Duchy Hotel
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A bit of a facade.”
Reviewed June 8, 2009

This is a very 'showy' hotel. Looking at it, you can see how it rates as 4 star. The location, food, service, public rooms, prices and attention to details all reflect this rating. I was, however, disappointed with a few things - One was the room itself. Although crammed with nice small touches - flat screen TV, free bottled water, fancy miniature toiletries, etc -the room was very small, airless, hot and overlooked a cramped and featurless inner hotel courtyard. I also felt that staff were primed to try to prise every last penny out of guests who had already paid hefty prices to stay at the hotel. Finally, I have personal reservations about how honest the hotel had been about their booking process and the prices I was charged. I won't go into details but would urge prospective clients to check their booking details very closely.
If you like to stay in a hotel that creates an impression of having high standards and is pleasing to the eye, then this is ideal. But it is a bit disppointing if you delve under the showy facade.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank troydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    631
    275
    76
    21
    11
See reviews for
199
540
46
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2009

Having scoured the brochures for a decent hotel in the West Counrty within easy reach of a railstation we chose this. The write ups looked promising and it's many years since we went to Falmouth. We booed a Superior sea view room and was allocated 115 on the first floor. Although recently upgraded and with a sea view I'd be hard pushed to identify what made it superior other than the provision of bath robes. No slippers. The bedroom was rather small and lacked somewhere to store our travel bags. We ended up stacking them in the corner on top of each other. There was a minibar taking up space in the wardrobe and flatscreen tv on a large glass topped table taking up too much floor space. This could have gone on the wall with a swing bracket thus not needing the table. The bathroom was compact, although containing a full size bath and shower over. Shelf space was again insufficient for 2 toiletry bags. The room was kept clean and made up daily. The nightly turn down service was just that, beds turned down, damp towels left on the floor and curtains not drawn. On the second night we didn't even get this service. Expecting much from the AA 2 rosette winning restaurant didn't start well with the room guide advising that jacket and tie were no longer required just smart casual dress. On being seated I commented about the discomfort from a bar which ran around the underside of the table (I'm 6'4'') and although nothing could be done at that late stage we would be repositioned from breakfast. The food served for dinner was acceptable but not outstanding and one main course dish was the wrong one. At breakfask sadly the reseating didn't occur dispite the matre d' admitting he was aware but chose to ignor thr note. The quality of food at breakfast certainly isn't 2 rosette standard with porrige the consistency of water, no offer of cream or honey, a request for a runny fried egg as part of the full English arrived hard and as overcooked as the rest of the dish which had obviously been kept somewhere warm. Although nice to see Kedgeree as an option this was very bland and certainly didn't contain curry powder of any sort. Overall disappointing and not meeting what I'd expect from a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2009

The food here is quite a shock, ie. its exceptional! I had a very grotty single room though and kept complaining until a lovely, recently refurbished double room became free and they put me in that for my last night and didn't charge me any extra and also gave me a discount for the grotty single. So the customer- service is pretty good. Restaurant staff are mostly eastern european and very pleasant. I think this place would appeal to anyone over 60 or people wanting to go away with their elderly parents - but it is expensive and not very big, ie. no garden, just a very smart umbrella-and-chair terrace at the front (too windy for us to use), a very big formal dinning room, a pleasant sun room at the front of the hotel, a dark TV room, and a not particularly welcoming small indoor swimming pool. I'm marking it as Above Average because of the food and staff only.

  • Liked — food
  • Disliked — horrible single room
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HLMWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FROME
2 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2009

After reading reviews on Trip Advisor I arrived with my young family at the "Royal Duchy" with some concerns that it might not live up to what what we expecting.These concerns were soon put at ease.We arrived on the Dec 23rd in miserable misty weather but were immediately impessed as we drove into the hotel by the excellent decorations outside,it really did look special.We were checked in very promptly and offered sherry and mince pies,the doorman ( James) took all our luggage,xmas presents and family bits and bobs to our room on the second floor.Despite its moderate size it was well presented and of a high standard with an extremely large bathroom.We settled in quickly.Dinner on the first night was excellent as was the local carol singers who came in to entertain us.The dining room was extremely well presented and looked festive but in a quality way,service was of a high standard.The staff seemed happy.The following morning after a traditional breakfast we were contacted by reception and offered a complimentary upgrade to a bigger\superior room due to a cancellation,this was great as we had a travel cot in our room.Good old James then moved all our luggage,xmas presents etc again.Christmas morning saw Father Christmas visit the dining room and presents were given to all including our 6 month old daughter.Xmas luch was excellent with a champagne reception.The high standards continued for the rest of our stay.Other treats were a lounge set up with traditional games,competitions,daily program and a Nitendo Wii linked to large flatscreen tv.We also had use of a pool and a snooker room.The view from the well furnished lounges were supberb and a great place to read a book with a small scotch particularly when we had the cold ,bright winter sun.All in all a great xmas break, not cheap a one but you get what you pay for,we wil be back!

  • Liked — Overall Quality
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OLIVERJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2009

Just had the most fantastic weekend break at the Royal Duchy-what a lovely hotel! The staff were great - really friendly, helpful and attentive without being pushy. The location - right on the beach yet within easy walking distance of the town, the Maritime Museum etc - was perfect, and the food was sublime!
Can't wait to go back!

  • Liked — Fantastic staff and excellent food
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank iloveweekends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorersx2
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2008

This is a Wonderful Hotel and to us in many ways exceeds it's 4 star rating, All staff are extremely friendly and provide excellent service.
The hotel has many great facillities, our favourites were the swimming pool, Table Tennis, Snooker, Cocktail Bar, The Restaurant, Sunlounge, Decking and great views looking out to sea.
The room we had was a Superior and was very cosy, clean and spacious and had plenty of storage (wardrobe, chest of draws), Great TV (plasma), plenty of toiliteries and we had a partial view of the sea, but this didn't matter because downstairs made up for the view.
The restaurant was beautiful well furnished, great views looking out to sea, excellent waitors/waitresses and the food was first class. In all if you are travelling to Cornwall and want a great Hotel this is it, and is in a great location for travelling to all the hot spots i.e Eden Project, Marazion, St Ives, Lands End and Porthleven.
We can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank explorersx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Devon
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2008

we are a young thirties couple with 3 kids and have come to the royal duchy for the last three years around or on valentines day. It is our once a year treat to enjoy each others company away from the the kids to just totally unwind for the weekend.Firstly i am astonished how nobody has really raved about the food. It is superb and better than most restaurants i have ever been to anywhere in the world. The service is again superb and the rooms we stay in always vary in location but never in standard or quality.
Consistency is hard to achieve in any business but this hotel does it with ease. I look forward to our return!!

MR M.Grigg from N.Devon

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falmouth
1.1 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#3 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#9 of 24 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
4.3 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
18.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Duchy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Duchy Hotel

Property: The Royal Duchy Hotel
Address: The Royal Duchy Hotel Cliff Road, Falmouth TR11 4NX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Falmouth
#9 Family Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Duchy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Royal Duchy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Duchy Hotel
Royal Duchy Falmouth
The Royal Duchy Hotel Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing