We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Duchy Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Merchants Manor(Falmouth)
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trelawne Hotel(Mawnan Smith)
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$182
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$121
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anacapri Guest House(Falmouth)(Great Value!)
$191
$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$203
$189
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$123
$119
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$127
$124
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,180)
Filter reviews
1,180 results
Traveler rating
740
312
91
25
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
740
312
91
25
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbrend hotelsbrend groupterrace barsea viewlovely hotelpendennis castlehigh standardsea frontfalmouth bayindoor pooldinner menuwaiting staffwithout exceptionpublic roomssingle roomweekend breakfantastic views
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
945 - 950 of 1,180 reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I stayed at The Royal Duchy last weekend with six friends who were visiting Falmouth.

From the moment we arrived at the hotel we had a warm greeting from the very smart doorman, before meeting the friendly and efficient reception staff.

Our rooms were all spacious, clean, comfortable with all the mod cons you would expect from a hotel of this standard.

We then had pre dinner drinks in the very comfortable lounge area before heading into Falmouth for dinner. The bar staff were excellent and very attentive.

The next morning we had breakfast which had an excellent choice of cereal, fresh fruit and pastries , together with a hot breakfast option to set you up for a day of exploring Falmouth .

The swimming pool and sauna were spotless and very inviting. We especially liked the heated loungers to laze on after an energetic swim!

All in all we had a great stay at the Royal Duchy and I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to anyone.

All staff we came into contact with were excellent and unfortunately cannot remember all their names. However, I would like to say thank you to Barry the hotel manager, Gail and Naomi at reception and bar staff Matt , Hayden and Mandy for their outstanding service. They really are a credit to the Brend Group .

I am sure we will stay again, Thank you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayne187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Great hotel, staff superb and very attentive, the food, location and ambience all excellent. Could not have found a better place to stay, which I was not expecting, as my wife had booked this as a surprise. Would happily recommend to anyone.
Quiet, clean and superbly located, great hotel

Room Tip: All of the rooms are good, clean, quiet and well presented. You pay extra for a room with a sea view. Incidentally all deliveries to the hotel have instructions NOT to disturb guests and so all noise warnings are switched off, the lorries freewheel into the area!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bwedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We enjoy using this hotel,it is clean,warm and welcoming.The bedrooms are comfortable,the swimming pool area is very pleasant.The hotel has a great view of the bay.My only concern this visit was that the food could have been hotter and the portion sizes larger.We mentioned this to the hotel on the fist evening and they worked very hard to please us all.

Room Tip: Room 226 is an excellent bedroom.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ggjsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Yes, it was a luxury (for us it was anyway)...and it was cheap for what we had. Admittedly it was even better as we were upgraded two steps (without asking...a complete surprise!) from a standard inland facing room - to a deluxe sea facing (the one on the corner on the second floor...212)...but all in all it was good value for money. It was a special occasion and we stayed three nights. The staff, in our experience, were excellent. The dining room staff, the reception staff...and the cleaning staff were all good. The room was beautifully appointed. The breakfast was fabulous!!!! (didn't try the evening meal) but we did get a free cream tea and a free pasty as part of the special 'winter warmer' offer and they were served up just as though we were royalty...a nice touch! Looking at what you could pay elsewhere it wasn't outrageously expensive (but it was November, remember)...I guess it would be pretty dear in the middle of summer and if you paid for the sea facing deluxe room it really would mount up if you stayed more than a few days. But we loved it and would recommend it....providing you either don't mind paying a bit extra for this level of luxury...or you get a good offer on a room due to being out of season etc.

Room Tip: We were in 212 on the second floor on the corner and it was quiet, next to the lift, fabulous view.....not a HUGE room but plenty big enough for two. Bath with shower combined...worked fine. Nothing to complain about. Big, comfortable bed and all the nice touches that you get in the better rooms.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kestanandw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

The hotel is in a lovely location and overall is fairly good. There was a "function" on in the main Dining Room on the Friday evening when we arrived so the rest of the guests were placed in the Lounge for the evening meal. This wasn't a problem from the room point of view, however the service and the food were poor, having been told it is "fine dining". We tried desperately to get a drink prior to the meal and we had to wander around trying to get somebody's attention for quite some time before actually being served. We had a meal at Samphire in Falmouth on Saturday evening which was faultless - absolutely fantastic. On Sunday evening we ate in the hotel restaurant and it was a completely different experience (from the meal point of view!). Generally very good food and service...until we wanted drinks after the meal. Yet again there was nobody around and we drifted around the bar/dining area for around 15-20 minutes trying to find someone to serve behind the bar, which then closed at 10.20 pm, when we were told the "night man" would be somewhere around if we wanted any more drinks! Breakfast is served between 7.30 - 9.30 am. As we are people who get up very early every day during the week it would have been nice to have had breakfast served until, say, 10 or 10.30 am rather than our having to be up and downstairs by 9.30 am at the latest at a weekend. The staff were mostly polite although not altogether chatty nor did they smile much, except for Alan who was most attentive and interested in what our day ahead held. We like to think we would visit again, but it certainly isn't top of our hotel list.

Room Tip: We were "ungraded" to a Superior Deluxe Sea Facing Room. Apart from the view of the sea, the additions were bath robes, slippers, flowers and chocolates. The room itself was quite small and compact so not entirely sure what size a "standard room" would be!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews