We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you want quiet with a view, this is for you”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Royal Duchy Hotel
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you want quiet with a view, this is for you”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Only stayed one night, a Saturday. Wasn't cheap and supposedly 4 star, but our room was smallish without a view. We had an evening in town and came back thinking we'd get a nightcap, but it was eerily quiet and closed, although not yet midnight!

However, Sunday morning was sunny and still, the staff were engaging and friendly, and we had a fantastic breakfast on the terrace with grand views over the briney.

Room Tip: Pay for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canarymike_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    274
    76
    21
    11
See reviews for
198
539
46
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arcata, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

My daughter and I stayed there in late June and were very happy overall with the room, the beds, the bathroom, the service, the food, the pool. A hot tub would have been nice, too. However, we were really surprised that ALL the other guests were seniors! We felt really out of place at dinner and breakfast! They seem to cater for that age group. Easy walk to town. We arrived by train and walked there the long way, by beach, but it was fine. Great location on the ocean, long walk to castle, but lovely walk along the coast. Gyllyngvaise beach is just minutes away. Trail to Swanpool beach right there too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Not bad, not is it great... 4 stars, £160 per night (room only) I would expect to have air con in the room (too hot), rooms smallish, very small windows, so in the hotest days of the summer, we really couldn't sleep without a fan. No hair dryer in the room. Teas and coffees were packed in some old box that was reused quite a few times.
It is a cute little hotel just by the sea, so location wise you would not miss out, but I would rate it 3 stars, and wouldn't brand it value for money. Service is good, friendly and very polite.. maybe a little formal, but then I guess they are trying to live up to Royal bit of the name.
Has got nice pool (but only indoor one). Breakfast is not served after 9:30 (a little too early, wouldn't you say??). You have to wear a tie and suit for dinner..
Overall OK, but I wouldn't chose it again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J3L3N4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Antwerpen, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stunning view over the Atlantic, large terrace and immaculately maintained garden (a great asset when the weather is nice). Friendly, helpful and inobtrusive staff. The breakfast buffet offers sufficient choice but not for those who arrive 30 minutes prior to closing. Our room had seaview but the window was small and could not be opened -- this resulted in the room being hot and stuffy, and since it had no air conditioning, it was difficult to sleep at night.

Room Tip: Don't take the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterlooville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I have stayed at the Royal Duchy for over 3 years on regular business trips and always stay at The Duchy whenever in the South West irrespective of where my business appointments are. The reason is the excellent accommodation and attention to detail from the staff, by now I am on first name terms and despite being away from home this really makes a stay at this hotel an absolute pleasure. The food is superb, never yet had a reason to complain in over 50 times I have stayed, the staff are more than helpful and can never do enough to ensure my visit is pleasurable. From the senior management to the room service team everyone is friendly and personable and it is never too much trouble for a minutes conversation to ensure you are enjoying your stay. The location is second to none on a sunny day with impressive sea views from the front of the hotel, enhancing the fact that it never feels like a business trip but a place to unwind from a busy day.
I have stayed in many hotels throughout the UK on regular business but not one has ever met the service and all round atmosphere of the Royal Duchy. Cannot recommend this hotel enough!

Room Tip: Sea view for excellent views across the bay of Falmouth, especially on a sunny day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaun t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Cannot recommend highly enough. Went with husband and 2children aged 1 and 4. We had almost exclusive use of the very clean pool. On one occasion the pool cleaner had just got all of his equipment set up to start cleaning and we arrived, without hesitation he took it all out and said he'd come back in an hour! What service! Room was not a sea view as we needed a family sized but it was huge with plenty of space for extra bed and cot plus a lovely seating area. Breakfast was delicious ( only little gripe was we were one of the early tables (due to being up early with the kids) and would have liked a table by the window with lovely sea views but had to sit at our allocated 'room' table which was on the other side of the room.) but we took our coffee out onto the patio area whilst the kids played on the pirate ship on the lawn. All staff were very friendly and welcoming and went out of there way t make sure our stay was enjoyable.
Thank you to all at the hotel - you're doing a great job!

Room Tip: There are no balconies and I think that the bigger rooms are inward facing however the views are stu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katieofthegreenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We have recently returned from a weeks.stay. at this wonderful hotel the food is fabulous, the staff are fantastic nothing is too much trouble for the staff at this hotel.
The rooms are very comfortable ,we stayed in a room with a seaview which was amazing.
Well done everyone .Thankyou all for making our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are very comfortable and larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ken m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falmouth
1.1 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#3 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#9 of 24 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
4.3 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
18.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Duchy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Duchy Hotel

Property: The Royal Duchy Hotel
Address: The Royal Duchy Hotel Cliff Road, Falmouth TR11 4NX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Falmouth
#9 Family Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Duchy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Royal Duchy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Duchy Hotel
Royal Duchy Falmouth
The Royal Duchy Hotel Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing