We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 Star Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Royal Duchy Hotel
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We had our wedding at The Royal Duchy in March. We hired the whole hotel and filled it to capacity with guests during the day. The staff were excellent, from the manager who was incredibly organised and thought of every detail to the doorman who apart from being impeccably dressed was friendly and helpful and nothing was too much. The food was what you would expect from a 4* hotel even though they had a full dining room. The waiting staff were attentive and none was left waiting for food. The decor is lovely, modern yet elegant and the setting is delightful wit views across the bay and up to the castle. Watching the sunset front he terrace was lovely! A beautiful weekend from my time relaxing by the pool until breakfast with family and friends after the big event. It's not just a one off great event either, we have been back time and time again and had our daughters Christening party there. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: The Amarda Suite is worth paying the extra for! If it's a bit too much ask for the room on the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Georgina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

947 - 953 of 1,129 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

Just returned from a wonderfully relaxing weekend stay. On arrival our luggage was collected from our car & taken to our room; on booking in we were up-graded to their best suite with amazing sea view & to top it off the weather was outstanding for the whole weekend! We ate in the hotel each evening and the food was super and catered for every taste with an extensive selection of wines. Breakfast was well stocked and you could help yourself to as much as you wished. Staff were extremely attentive and courteous at all times. Didn't use the pool or sauna so cannot comment but the location is ideal for good walks and retail therapy if needed!

Room Tip: The Armada Suite it right by the car park so can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed here as a family for 3 nights in May and really enjoyed it.Our room was bright and clean with a big, comfortable bed and a great view of the sea. The food and service were of very good quality. The pool and sauna were lovely, and we especially enjoyed the heated loungers at the side of the pool.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank melNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I recently visited the beauty rooms at the Royal Duchy Hotel, Falmouth, having been recommended by friends. This was my first visit and I enjoyed a pamper day with therapist Michelle. My first impression of the hotel was that it was immaculate and very inviting to step into. I walked through the swimming pool area to the beauty rooms and again was very impressed by the cleanliness and the pool particularly looked inviting.The staff I encountered were friendly and helpful.

I enjoyed my treatments - I had a facial, a pedicure and a back massage. Michelle, the therapist, was very professional and explained all the procedures. I was able to use the swimming pool and morning coffee, lunch and afternoon tea were all included. I also used the sauna. I truly felt pampered.

I came along for this treatment on the recommendation of a friend who had recently enjoyed a similar pamper day. Although I have yet to stay there, I would thoroughly recommend this hotel
to local people looking for an refreshing and relaxing pamper day.

I will certainly be back for more!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ruthrichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The hotel itself looks very nice. Tasteful decor and very clean. The staff, without exception, were very friendly and very good at making the hotel welcoming. The chambermaid has a voice designed to get the hard of hearing out of bed, but she was still very nice. The location almost couldn't be beat with beautiful views and easy access to the beach and town centre.

The swimming pool was very nice - a good size and always free of other swimmers. The kids had a blast.

Didn't eat here as the prices for food were a crazy joke - even for exceptional food in a spectacular restaurant in one of the world's great cities the price for the breakfast was crazy. Had drinks in the evening looking out over the bay and that was enjoyable (but still whacked out prices.) The old lady sat next to us - the next youngest in the bar that night but still had 25 years on us - spent the evening talking about how much money she was leaving to charity in her will. She's lucky I'm not a con-man or she could have a lot less to leave. She had plenty of money and not much to do with it so she probably didn't mind the prices - but we've still got a few years left and many meals to buy.

The room was clean and nicely decorated but a bit small.

The 'but' and it is a big 'but' comes in the times we wanted to sleep. The neighbours in the suite next door, although very old, stayed up talking until past 11:30 at night. Now, we're not the bed-time police, but we could hear every word of their conversation as if they were sitting in our room.

In the morning on Sunday they woke up at 7 o'clock and started talking which woke us up so we couldn't get back to sleep. In the morning on the Bank Holiday Monday they kicked off just before 6:30. We heard the television from another room (or two) and a very noisy shower from somewhere else. Kind of a poltergeist type noise.

If you remember to ask at reception to make sure your room is in a quiet part of the building then you will have a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room in the part of the building with thick walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrAtticusFinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

The welcome on arrival was warm.
Hotel very inviting, the staff friendly and helpful. The meals in the resturant were superb as was the service. Our double bedroom on the second floor overlooked the Bay. The room was spotless, tastefully decorated (as was all the Hotel). The bathroom was lovely, with soft white towels etc. and nice touches ie. cotton buds, nail emery plus the usual soaps and shampoos etc. The 'turndown service' was also unexpected but again was really nice. We have travelled to lots countries over the years staying in so many Hotels, The Royal Duchy certainly is in the top ten on our list. Thankyou all
for making our break so memorable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

...the 400 mile trip. I have not rated the fitness centre or spa as we did not use it but the boys did enjoy the snooker room well into the early hours! From the moment we (four couples) arrived, everything was spot on. The meal on the evening we arrived was excellent. We only ate at The Cove the following night as we had pre booked, otherwise we would have happily eaten there again. By the way The Cove was also brilliant! We are aware of a number of other hotels in this group but have not stayed at them. However, based on our experience at The Royal Duchy, we will be looking to visit them (Carlyon Bay and Saunton Sands) soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NobleOx60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falmouth
0.1 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
213 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,205 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#10 of 24 in Falmouth
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,610 reviews
4.3 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
719 reviews
18.4 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Duchy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Duchy Hotel

Address: The Royal Duchy Hotel Cliff Road, Falmouth TR11 4NX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Falmouth
#9 Family Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range: $137 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Duchy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Royal Duchy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Duchy Hotel
Royal Duchy Falmouth
The Royal Duchy Hotel Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing