We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Duchy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Royal Duchy Hotel
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Consistently Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stay at the Royal Duchy approx 20 - 30 times a year (for business) and it meets the highest standards each and every time. The staff are professional, polite and nothing is too much trouble. It really feels like a home from home which as a single female is very important. The cuisine is fine dining, the hotel is spotlessly clean and the hotel is always wonderfully maintained.
Its smaller than some of the other Brend hotels so it has a more intimate feel, It does attract an older crowd but if you just want to get away from it all that is no issue. It's a benchmark for how traditional UK hotels should be.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CherylBl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    259
    73
    21
    10
See reviews for
191
510
45
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

A one night stay. Rooms very clean and correct. Dinner very good but not excellent.Though it is one of those places where they keep asking if everything is OK. Four times during the main course is a bit too much.

Breakfast really excellent. For once in the UK a proper full English breakfast served on a red hot plate. Good location with views over the sea. Try the afternoon tea which is good. Excellent service throughout especially Daisy in the bar.

All in all, a good hotel for a winter break.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Devon
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We have been coming here on and off for the last 9 years. I have never had a single grumble! This year we came with our 3 children and had an inter-conecting room which was fabulous. Infact...in our haste, we left 3 items of clothing in the room, which we were oblivious to. 36 hours later I received a parcel from the Duchy with said clothes!!! I love this place so much. Falmouth is just fantastic and although we only come once a year for a couple nights (finances),it really feels like a holiday. EVERY employee is exemplary. The food is outstanding. See you next year! Thankyou.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

After seeing the number of hotels & guest houses along this stretch of beach in Falmouth, we were relieved to have booked at the Royal Duchy. From the reception staff to the style & decor of the room, it was a very pleasant two nights. The view across the lawn & beach, down to the sea, was magnificent, even with the nasty weather. Being provided with a set of binoculars brought the distant ships into view and allowed us a superb look at Pendennis Castle from our room. The bath was outfitted with jets which were a welcome surprise and one we advantaged after a long walk along the adjacent pathways. The dining room served a lovely choice for dinner and we enjoyed the wine tasting option which introduced us to some that were unfamiliar. The only one very small "negative" was the sound insulation; it did become a tad noisy during the night from music in another part of the hotel. But honestly, that would be the only minor issue to consider.
All in all, we would certainly return to the Royal Duchy if going to the Falnouth area and can recommend it.

Room Tip: We had a view room and were glad we made the extra effort to book on the sea side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blondechick2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

14 of our family members met here for my mum's 80th birthday celebration over a weekend. Our room was clean and stylish, though a bit hot at night. The bed was not the most comfortable we have slept in at an hotel. The ensuite bathroom was clean with an efficient, powerful shower.
The staff were vey helpful, providing us with plates and napkins for the birthday cake which we had taken along. However we had been told that as it was a special birthday, the dinner table on Sat eve would be decorated with balloons for the occasion. Yes, there were balloons but every other table had them too; red ones as it was Valentine's weekend!
The food was very tasty but quite small portions (as is the trend for fine dining!). The breakfast was good although my niece waited 35 minutes for her cooked food.
On the Sunday morning we had to check out by 11am so were surprised when the housekeeper knocked on our door at 9.10 to service the room! We then went to breakfast and returned to the room to get our things together only for the housekeeper to knock again at about 10.30! Surely it would be less intrusive to get info from reception as to which rooms had checked out? We almost felt they couldn't wait together rid of us!
The advertised Wifi was almost next to useless.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruthyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidmouth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

A superbly appointed hotel with excellent facilities.Particularly outstanding was the friendly
welcome from the staff,from reception(thanks Naomi) to dining room.Food was first rate
and service as well.Lovely swimming pool and lounges to relax in.Real value for money.

Room Tip: Speak direct to hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeSidmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Planned ' girls weekend ' away - post Xmas! We had been here before so knew what to expect.
The hotel has been redecorated recently and looks very nice. The hotel is well staffed so there is always someone if you need them and everyone we came across was very polite and helpful. Our room was very pleasant,clean and warm.
I love the sitting room which runs along the front of the hotel, catching the sun and overlooking the seafront. There are usually quite a few ships sitting out in the bay so binoculars may be useful. We used the pool and sauna which we enjoyed ( not very big so you may want to pick your time). The evening meal was tasty,a bit 'fine dining' so it depends what you like and there was entertainment.
This is not really a young persons hotel. It made me feel like I had stepped back in time a bit but in good way-very relaxing.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falmouth
1.1 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 25 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#9 of 25 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#4 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
4.4 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Duchy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Duchy Hotel

Property: The Royal Duchy Hotel
Address: The Royal Duchy Hotel Cliff Road, Falmouth TR11 4NX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Falmouth
#9 Family Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Duchy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your The Royal Duchy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Duchy Hotel
Royal Duchy Falmouth
The Royal Duchy Hotel Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing