We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A waste of £30+”

National Maritime Museum Cornwall
Ranked #4 of 61 things to do in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: With over 15 galleries, a boatbuilding workshop, exciting new exhibitions every year, interactive exhibits and a collection that spans The National Small Boat collection, artworks, maps and charts, memorabilia and other objects there’s plenty to explore. Located in a breathtaking location overlooking aptly named Discovery Quay in the centre of Falmouth, The National Maritime Museum Cornwall is an award winning museum celebrating the sea. New exhibitions for 2017!!! Tattoo: The History of British Tattoo Art Revealed A genuinely ground-breaking and comprehensive history of British tattooing, featuring cutting edge designers, leading academics and major private collectors. This is the largest gathering of real objects and original tattoo artwork ever assembled in the UK featuring over 400 original artworks, photographs and historic artefacts. Until 7 January 2018. Captain Bligh: Myth, Man and Mutiny Step into the sights and sounds of one the greatest survival feats in British history. Exploring Bligh's Cornish roots, challenging the Hollywood depcitions and bringing to life on of the greatest small boat survival stories. Until 7 January 2018. New Play Zone! - Awesome Adventurers Go on an awesome adventure this summer. Inspired by the heroic voyages of exploration by ships such as Captain Bligh’s HMS Bounty, join the crew of HMS Adventure in our Play Zone to explore the Pacific Islands. Open May - December 2017.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Stroller parking, Lockers / storage, Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Visited here over bank holiday weekend and to be honest was very disappointed. A few things to do for young kids but my 14 year old had to do with sailing a remote boart around a table high swimming pool. Not at all imaginative. I would imagine it's ok for someone who has half a day to go and read the boards about boats. As a Cornish person I found the smuggling exhibition a joke. They really need to jump into the 21st century in the way in which they present things. It's all a bit tired and felt like the place was half empty. Nice view from the cafe which served awful coffee - the food was nice but a bit expensive. Will probably go back for a snack in the cafe for the view with our annual ticket but won't bother with the museum.

1  Thank CORNISHGIRLXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,645)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,168 - 1,172 of 1,645 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2014

The museum contains many interesting items and displays for both adults and children. We are a mature couple, but we could see that there were interactive items that would appeal to children, some of them quite educational.

Thank Voyager042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

great time and great experience from sailing a boat to learning about the importance of our Search and Rescue Heroes.

1  Thank wendyt558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Pretty good value for money as you get free entry for a year when u buy a full ticket. Might be a little challenging to keep very young children focused but as an adult solo visitor, I found plenty to keep me interested. Worth going up the tower as the views over Falmouth are amazing.

Thank genie26c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We love the Maritime Museum. It's perfect for those with mobility problems. Easy for parents with buggies. On this occasion we were desperate for a coffee so took the lift to the second floor and the panoramic cafe. Decided on scones with our tea and coffee. Good choice. We relaxed in comfortable seats while we munched and enjoyed the view. Afterwards we made our way down through the galleries and exhibitions. This year the smuggling exhibition is very interesting. I particularly like the the suspended boats in gallery two. For children and the young at heart, the Air Sea Rescue exhibition is fantastic. I can't rate the Museum highly enough. Every year it's a must.

Thank Worldstar44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Maritime Museum Cornwall also viewed

 

Been to National Maritime Museum Cornwall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing