We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit the best part of our holiday so far”

National Maritime Museum Cornwall
Ranked #4 of 58 things to do in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Voted the UK's most family friendly Museum 2014, Cornwall's best Museum 2014 and silver winner of UK Heritage Attraction of the Year at the 2013 British Travel Awards, the Museum features a number of stunning exhibitions dedicated to the sea, boats and Cornwall. The multi-award winning Museum has 15 galleries, over five floors beautifully illustrating the past, present and future of this island nation. With hands-on activities, talks, lectures, workshops, rotating events and exhibitions, there's so much happening, don't miss your chance for a visit.
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit the best part of our holiday so far”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

We visited this museum after reading the good reviews and we weren't disappointed. It covers a large area with lots to see and do. The volunteers are very plentiful & happy to help and educate. The highlights for us were getting to see and go in the seaking helicopter and the under water viewing area. This place is well worth a visit and your ticket is valid for a whole year.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alysanddave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    746
    433
    152
    68
    25
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Day Out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We spent a wonderful few hours at the Maritime Museum. We went on a wet day like many others but its an interesting place no matter what the weather. The exhibits were fantastic, especially the helicoptor. I would definately recommend the museum to anyone interested in maritime history.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank HairyTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We took are two young children and they loved it, loads of interactive things for them to do and lots to keep us interested. Well worth a visit

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 98katie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Spent the afternoon in the museum and it is well worth a visit, especially on a poor weather day. Like most museums it is quite expensive but then again the ticket is valid for a year. Lots of interesting exhibits from full size (including 2 of Ben Ainslee's Olympic boats) to models vessels of all designs, especially liked the full size river cruiser. Enjoyed looking over Sea King helicopter and the interior of a lighthouse including memories from lighthouse keepers.Finished our visit with a scone and cup of coffee in the museum café - reasonably priced and friendly staff.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Annie1141476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant - we'll be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

What a fantastic place! Masses for children to do and plenty of information to engross the adults. Imaginative displays which bring maritime history to life, and a building which makes the most of its splendid location. Don't miss the tower in the corner, where you can use the lift of the stairs to go up to the top and enjoy the amazing view of Falmouth and the Carrick Roads, or down to the bottom and see the fishes swimming by! We partiicularly loved seeing the information about the day's shipping movements. My 7 year old spent ages sailing the boats in the pool learning to work with the wind machine. I also want to say a word of thanks to the excellent staff and volunteers who made us feel really welcome. And what great value! A ticket lasts for 12 months. We'll be back!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SheridanP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Maritime Museum Cornwall also viewed

 

Been to National Maritime Museum Cornwall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing