We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quick lunch time break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of National Maritime Museum Cornwall

National Maritime Museum Cornwall
Ranked #4 of 58 things to do in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Voted the UK's most family friendly Museum 2014, Cornwall's best Museum 2014 and silver winner of UK Heritage Attraction of the Year at the 2013 British Travel Awards, the Museum features a number of stunning exhibitions dedicated to the sea, boats and Cornwall. The multi-award winning Museum has 15 galleries, over five floors beautifully illustrating the past, present and future of this island nation. With hands-on activities, talks, lectures, workshops, rotating events and exhibitions, there's so much happening, don't miss your chance for a visit.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage, Stroller parking, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quick lunch time break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Lovely fresh food - fantastic views from cafe and even time for a wander round. Nothing to dislike about this place a very interesting break from work

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hannah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    731
    425
    148
    67
    25
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Informative”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Our first impression was of a very helpful female at the desk who explained in great detail what we were letting ourselves in for. She was a great saleswoman. I don't generally enjoy museums, my husband was the driving force. However, this museum is good even for people who don't usually enjoy such places. It is very well laid-out, is very roomy, lots of floors to explore and the historical detail was fascinating. I particularly enjoyed reading out someone who sailed to America after the war to marry her GI sweetheart, and stayed there, writing back to the family at home.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice if you love boats”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

So im not a great lover of boats but decided to give it a bash a little steep on the price but the staff was lovely and great open light and airy place to visit found it quite a small place and the lookout tower had a cracking view. The sos exhibition was very good with a real seaking shoehorned into a small hall and lots from the rnli which was nice to see. I imagine would be a lot better with children as there is a lot more hands on stuff for them I was not dissatisfied but felt there could have been more especially about the larger or more famous british ships.

Helpful?
Thank waynelewis01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamsinGibbs, Public Relations Manager at National Maritime Museum Cornwall, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for your thoughts and I'm glad we almost showed that we're not just about boats - hence the Sea King and celebrating our maritime rescue services. And, you're right, it was a squeeze to get the 70ft Sea King in - we only had 1 1/2 inches spare...

Just so you know, we don't celebrate major vessels because we're concerned with the national small boat collection - which is vessels under 40ft. Although, having an incredible Viking ship alongside would be breathtaking and we'd jump at the chance.

Hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“So disapppointing!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

This looked very promising on arrival. Receptionist was very welcoming (though became OTT and became difficult to get away) and explained that shop was closed as in middle of refit, and exhibition being changed etc. Seemed expensive but sounded brilliant, especially her enthusiasm about the part where we would be under the sea!! But, what a MAJOR disappointment the whole experience was. LIke other reviewers we were pretty much done in an hour - and have no desire whatsoever to use our "valid for a year ticket" ever again! There was no logic to order of displays; very little to hold interest; at top of tower the view was lovely but the exhibits were duplicated; the "under sea" bit was the biggest let down of all - just a small window on very grubby water. Only plus was that we did eat there and the food was very good and not too badly priced. We left the museum feeling it promised so much and gave so little. Sorry Museum, but I would not recommend to others.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryP250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamsinGibbs, Public Relations Manager at National Maritime Museum Cornwall, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Really sorry we didn't deliver for you the other day.It's often hard getting it right for everyone and we do try very hard to give something for everyone. Our tidal zone windows are pretty big at 6m x 1m per window, however, if the tide isn't delivering (we haven't quite worked the knack of securing the right tide when we need it) I can understand why it might not be the big wow at low tide.

Please do come back at high tide and see the change for yourself and with new exhibitions installed every few months, activities and events and free workshops during the school holiday, there's always something new to see.

So glad you liked the food - we do too.

All good wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St John-in-Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“wedding in museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

food was not bad staff kept asking if anything was needed the bride and groom seemed to enjoy themselves

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank cazbro123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Maritime Museum Cornwall also viewed

 

Been to National Maritime Museum Cornwall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing