We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great little hotel-clean,warm, welcoming and dog friendly :)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lerryn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Lerryn Hotel
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
264 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
“great little hotel-clean,warm, welcoming and dog friendly :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

The lerryn is a great little hotel with onsite parking close to the beach, and falmouth town. Having lived in falmouth i would say this hotel is in a excellent location . The owner/staff are very welcoming and friendly the lady who checked us in was lovely, and made us feel welcome straight away, she even made us tea and biscuits. The room was very clean and the bed super comfy the room also had a good view.
After having a meal out with family it was lovely to come back and find the heating on and the room all cozy.
The en-suite was clean and there was plenty of hot water.
The breakfast was lovely with a choice of cook breakfasts, cooked to order, cereal, juice etc. We had the full Cornish which was lush esp the hogs pudding!
The hotel is also dog friendly!! my little dog loved looking out the many window in the room. A great hotel would stay here again when visiting family :)

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ALCBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    91
    20
    4
    2
See reviews for
93
126
52
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Ross on Wye
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

What a lovely surprise to find a guest house which offers just about everything in the way of welcome, customer service, food, comfort and cleanliness. We shall certainly be returning to The Lerryn and wish the new owners every success in their new venture. We are regular visitors to Falmouth and have stayed in a variety of hotels in and around the town. We have no need to look for alternatives in the future!

Room Tip: Room 15 has a wonderful sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BSHRoW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Excellent little hotel and I'd have no hesitation in returning again.

The owners/staff made us most welcome, and I got the impression that everyone really enjoyed working there. Rooms were neat, clean and tidy, and the breakfast was quite possibly the nicest I have ever eaten away from home.

The only negative was that we were slightly crammed in to the dining room for breakfast.

Next time we're in Falmouth, I'll not bother loooking round and will just book the Lerryn again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gyponline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We have just returned after a relaxing weekend in Falmouth. Warm welcome by a friendly lady who made us a drink/biscuits and brought it to our room.....nice touch after a long drive. Room was facing the sea with balcony which was great as so was the weather that weekend! Basic room but very clean, bed very comfortable. It was very busy at breakfast time when we stayed but the staff couldn't do enough to make sure we were well looked after, also the breakfast was excellent with lots of choice. Very close to the beach and about 10 minute walk into the town which had lots of restaurants, pubs, and shops. Overall a great stay!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

It's so hard to find a good hotel that is welcoming of dogs these days.
But when I found myself needing a room in Falmouth one day in July, the lerryn was the place I decided to try.
I was welcomed by exeptionally friendly staff. The room was clean, tidy, albeit a touch out of date, but other than that, the room was perfect, at a very reasonable price.
I spent the early evening in the lounge/bar area which was excellent. Again, clean, tidy and welcoming. With a well stocked bar.
The breakfast in the morning was brilliant.
Overall I would highly reccomend the hotel, and I intend on staying there again soon.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wild_smurf001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bude
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

We have just returned home after our 'weekend away' at Falmouth, and we would like to share our experience of The Lerryn, we were welcomed warmly by the owner who showed us to our room, the room itself was basic but exceptionally clean, the facilities in the room were of a good standard, the only minor negative was a very hard bed ! but it was fine :-), the breakfasts were lovely and again the the family running the hotel were exceptionally cheery and attentive, we thought the hotel was ideally situated as its close to the beach and a ten minute walk to town, whilst in the town we discovered some wonderful shops, gorgeous cafes (try Millie's, the cakes are Amazing)!, a fantastic foodie shop (can't remember the name), but it was full of incredibly yummy stuff and all locally made :-) All in all a fab place to escape to for a weekend away !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank baytree69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

stayed there one night in August 2012. The welcome was extremely nice with a cheerful, smiling woman who offered me a nice cup of coffee and shortbreads in the living room area, which is also a bar. My room wasn't facing the sea and she apologised as the Hotel was quite full, but it was very cute anyway. About ten minutes walk both from Falmouth Docks station and the town centre, which makes it a quiet place in a peaceful location, but at the same time not too far away from the attractions. very close to the beach and to some nice views of Pendennis Castle, especially at night. Very close to Princess Pavilion, where I bumped both in a wedding photo-shoot on my way into town, and in a classical music concert on my way back. what a lovely place!

Breakfast was very nice with a wide choice (cornish, vegetarian, poached eggs with or without salmon, toast and jam, cereals, fruit, ham and cheeses). All staff was very kind (even if one of the guys entered my room not much after my check-in, he probably thought I wasn't there yet, no big deal and I should have locked the door, but he should have knocked!) and I would go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#4 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 25 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#8 of 25 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
2.0 mi away
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
#13 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lerryn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lerryn Hotel

Property: The Lerryn Hotel
Address: De Pass Road, Falmouth TR11 4BJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lerryn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lerryn Hotel, under new management from March 2012, is family-run with an accent on quality and a warm welcome for all. We are located two minutes' walk from Castle Beach and within easy walking distance of Falmouth town centre, beautiful old harbour, marina, docks, and stations. Situated in an ideal position for sailing, walking, family holidays and business, the hotel has 20 bedrooms, many with sea views of Falmouth Bay and Pendennis Castle. Our elegantly proportioned Edwardian hotel offers en-suite rooms, all with free WiFi, residents' lounge, licensed bar, relaxing garden and car park. Two fully accessible ground floor rooms are provided for less able guests, one being a large twin room and wheelchair friendly, with a roll-in shower facility. Full English or continental breakfast is provided using locally-sourced produce where possible; we cater for special dietary needs. Pickup from the local station or Newquay airport available by prior arrangement. Well-behaved dogs welcome and enjoyed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Lerryn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lerryn Hotel Falmouth
The Lerryn Hotel Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing