We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (503)
Filter reviews
503 results
Traveler rating
353
100
35
9
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
353
100
35
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews four poster bed sea view guest house manager peter gyllyngvase beach breakfast room no lift lovely view full english fantastic room nice guesthouse short walk small balcony friendly hotel perfect location long weekend top floor
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 503 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is in an excellent location overlooking gyllingvase beach & has stunning views from the breakfast room & terrace. I booked our room in 2018 & now wish I had re-checked prices nearer our stay as it was overpriced for our stay, It was classed as a hotel when I booked but now seems to be a guest house and the prices now reflect that. Our room was a king size sea view room (thats what I booked) so expected one of the best for £169 per night. We got the sea view (between a wall & the building in front) just about. A lovely light room but the main windows overlooked the next doors and garage roofs and also the building site a few hundred yards away (with resulting noise). The hotel was clean, no complaints there but the room was outdated with lots of chinzy curtains & soft furnishings & cheap furniture. The bathroom had only a shower & was in a small room with no windows, the shower had no-where to put anything except on the floor. The breakfast was good, some choice & the staff were fantastic, always smiling & helpful for advice on eating places. The breakfast room with the fantastic views is under-utilised, an evening menu would go down well & then the guests might use the bar more. Falmouth itself in in walking distance (down the hill) with plenty of eating places, we had a good chinese at Mings.

Room tip: Request one of sea view rooms with larger windows
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yorkslass3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Sea view-Yes. Thirty second walk to the beach-Yes. Very comfortable and equipped room-Yes. Cheerful and welcoming staff-Yes. Good breakfast-Yes. Reasonable prices-Yes. Off street car parking-Yes. Walking distance to Falmouth centre and restaurants on Arwenack St-Yes.
Falmouth itself is,of course, handily situated for castles (Pendennis and St Mawes) and gardens (Trebah and Glendurgan)

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimc352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2019

This place seems to be described variously as a hotel (website address) and guest house. It is definitely a guest house. Outside was scruffy and it wasn't clear where to park but we were shouted at in no uncertain terms when we pulled into the first turning and found the car park full. Nice! Our stay was further spoiled in the first two minutes through the door. We had arrived before check-in time and merely wanted to be polite and let them know we planned to leave a car there till later as we were going to a lunch party. Before we could speak he asked if we wanted to check in so we thought maybe a room was available. Before we could even answer properly he said ..'because you can't, check in is at three'. Not even a hello - would it realy have hurt?. Our twin room was on the second floor, no help with bags and no lift, and was tiny. Couldn't both move at the same time. One duvet was so heavy and thick it would have been OK in Norway in December but this was the hottest August Bank Holiday since records began, I had a terrible night, alternately hot and cold after throwing off the duvet. Breakfast was OK but no fresh fruit and limited choice of breads and pastries. We found this place to be very overpriced for £120 a night. Better value would have been a chain hotel but we thought we would treat ourselves to something a bit better. We won't be returning.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DevonJennywren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2019 via mobile

We called in to the Anacapri with friends for a drink. We sat on the sunny terrace which has a fantastic view over Gyllyngvase Beach and Falmouth Bay. We weren’t residents but we were made very welcome by the hosts. The hotel has a lovely friendly atmosphere. We enjoyed a thoroughly good sociable evening and would certainly go there again.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank HillyBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2019

Lovely welcome on arrival. The room was lovely. Clean and very comfortable. Plenty of tea and coffee (including decaf) and biscuits. Lovely fluffy white towels. We didn’t have a view but didn’t expect it with the good price we paid. But the breakfast room view more than made up for it! Beautiful sea views over breakfast. There were good choices for breakfast and all cooked well.
The bonus of parking is always useful. Once the car was parked we didn’t use it during our stay. Everything is walkable in Falmouth.
A perfect base for our house hunting trip.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jeanyess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews