We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Poltair

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Poltair
Ranked #22 of 82 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our stay; we had a beautiful room with a share balcony; lovely decoration; attractive bathroom; very clean; see the sea from bedroom window; great breakfast; in a good location; good parking; a very amazing place to stay. well done to all the staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brenda j w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday-junkies, Owner at Poltair, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Trip Advisor readers
We would like to thank Brenda J W for such a great review. It is always encouraging to receive such positive feedback and we will continue to try and offer the best visit experience.
Yours sincerely
Anne and Malcolm Grimsley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 183 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

Better than large hotels down the street, partly for the price, but mostly for the personal service and assistance. When I checked in, I asked about more detailed maps for hiking; they found some immediately. When it rained all day, the room was stocked with tea and excellent chairs to curl up in, with an ocean view. The street is quiet, the bed extremely comfortable. Breakfasts are delicious, internet is free.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floors have better seaviews -- pay attention to the rooms' views when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnKast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday-junkies, Owner at Poltair, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Trip Advisor readers
We would like to thank JohnKast for such an appreciative review. We believe that John has travelled quite extensively and he does appear to be used to experiencing good quality accommodation so we are especially pleased that he enjoyed his stay here.
Yours sincerely
Anne and Malcolm Grimsley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

My partner and I spent 2 nights at the Poltair with our 8 month old daughter and found the whole stay fantastic.
Upon arrival we were greeted with a warm friendly welcome when shown to our room. It was not luxurious but was spacious enough to accommodate our travel cot along with all our bags and was clean and tidy and had lots of nice touches. The only downside for us was the suede like sheets on the bed as it was the middle of August and very hot but that is just personal preference I guess. We requested a fan as it was so warm and we were quickly and happily provided with one.
The breakfast was fantastic. Lots of homemade produce and everything was really tasty and also served to us extremely quickly; although we were not in any way made to feel rushed.
The location for us was perfect. Right by the beaches and close enough for a nice walk into town but far enough away that it felt peaceful and quiet from the hustle and bustle of a busy town.
We would happily stay here again and defiantly recommend to anyone especially those of you with young children as we couldn't of been made to feel more welcome.
Thank you to every one at the Poltair for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimgibbs209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday-junkies, Owner at Poltair, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Trip Advisor readers
We would like to thank kimgibbs for taking the time and trouble of writing a review.
We are really sorry that the reviewer was not happy with our bedding. The sheets are in fact 100% cotton. Each bed is dressed with a bottom sheet, a top sheet and a duvet. In addition, there is a blanket in a bag in the cupboard. Our duvet covers are also cotton. The reviewers had a duvet cover with a suede effect upper side and a regular finish lower side. Other guests tell us that in the warmer weather they often remove the duvet and replace it with the blanket and on particular warm nights they sometimes use only the top sheet.
We do strive to be excellent (i.e. a 5 circle score) and are very sorry that the reviewer feels that we have not achieved that on this occasion.
Yours sincerely
Anne and Malcolm Grimsley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Poltair is about a 2 minute to the sea and just up the road from Ghylly beach. The owner is very friendly and cooked a beautiful poached egg and salmon in the morning for breakfast. There is a great selection for breakfast including home made greek yoghurt. The wifi is quick and the garden is beautifully maintained. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: I stayed in the 'single double'. A single size room with a double bed, this was more than bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday-junkies, Owner at Poltair, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Trip Advisor readers
We would like to thank David U for his terrific review. So many people on business choose to stay at more 'corporate' places and we like to think that we can compete with them and offer good value so we are pleased that the reviewer was happy with his stay.
Yours sincerely
Anne and Malcolm Grimsley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed for two nights with our 11 month old who has just started crawling and so is a bit of a handful... the room was not huge or particularly luxurious but had ample room for a travel cot, plenty of space for all of our bags, space to put the steriliser, a decent size fridge, and was immaculately clean so our daughter was able to explore to her hearts delight! Malcolm thoughtfully put us on the ground floor so we did not have to lug bags upstairs or worry about waking anyone below us whilst up with the little one in the night.
An easy walk into town, and very close to the sea. Not far to the local leisure centre with a lovely child-friendly pool to.
Breakfast was tasty and very efficiently run by the girls.
A lovely friendly place to stay, we will be back, thank you!

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the hotel as we weren't fussed about the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday-junkies, Owner at Poltair, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Trip Advisor readers
We would like to thank Jenny A for this great review. We know that the reviewer is very busy looking after her baby so particularly appreciate the time taken to write this review.
Yours sincerely
Anne and Malcolm Grimsley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

After driving from the other side of Cambridge ( roughly 350 miles) me and my boyfriend were shattered. When we found the location we liked we spotted the poltair and was greeted by Malcolm who was absolutely fantastic we were so relived. There was not one thing we could pick at!! The enthusiasm of Malcolm, how clean the room was and the little touches to the room like fresh milk and bottled water for the kettle. As for the breakfast, well, just topped off our perfect stay, we would definitely stay again and recommend it to anyone! Thank you Malcolm :)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toyab588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday-junkies, Owner at Poltair, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Trip Advisor readers
We would like to thank Toyab for such a marvellous review. This sort of review certainly inspires us to try even harder to be excellent.
Yours sincerely
Anne and Malcolm Grimsley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Poltair for four nights and we were very pleased. We decided to stay here as the reviews were really good. The Poltair is a medium-sized guest house in Falmouth about 10-15 minutes’ walk from the shops, pubs and restaurants in town. It is situated in the quieter part, near the beach. Parking is available outside the house and is free of charge.
All rooms have a name. We had a double room called the Beachcomber on the top floor facing out over Emslie Road with a stunning sea view and a private balcony. The room was spacious with tea/coffee facilities, fresh milk in the fridge and a digital T.V. The bed was soft but is my personal preference. The bathroom was of a nice size and well equipped.
The breakfast was really good. There was a choice of traditional full English breakfast or scrambled egg with smoked salmon or some vegetarian options. In addition croissants/muffins/ seasonal fresh fruits/juices were available with homemade bread and marmalade/jam.
The Poltair does not accept debit/credit cards but we were advised this at the time of our booking by e.mail.
The only issue for me was that during the night I could hear our neighbours talking and also their TV through an adjoining wall.
The owner, Malcolm, is a welcoming host, very friendly and always happy to assist.
Very pleasant stay. I would recommend this lovely B & B to anyone travelling to Falmouth.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rijeka_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday-junkies, Owner at Poltair, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Trip Advisor readers
We would like to thank Rijeka for such a complimentary review. We are really sorry about the sound penetration. This building is over 100 years old and although it is not possible to guarantee total sound proofing, guests generally tell us that they find it very quiet here. Looking back to Rijeka's visit we can see a possible reason. The guest in the adjacent room was not on holiday but in fact an engineer working locally and he was working an unusual shift pattern. The vast majority of our guests tell us that they like to get up early and go to bed early and hence it is normally really quiet at night. We are sorry that this detracted from their visit.
Yours sincerely
Anne and Malcolm Grimsley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Lerryn Hotel
The Lerryn Hotel
#6 of 24 in Falmouth
432 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gyllyngvase House Hotel
Gyllyngvase House Hotel
#17 of 24 in Falmouth
94 reviews
2.0 mi away
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
#14 of 24 in Falmouth
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#5 of 24 in Falmouth
371 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cutty Sark Inn
Cutty Sark Inn
#38 of 82 in Falmouth
8 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seaview Inn
Seaview Inn
#16 of 82 in Falmouth
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poltair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poltair

Address: Emslie Road, Falmouth TR11 4BG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range: $83 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Poltair 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Poltair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poltair Hotel Falmouth
Poltair Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing