We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning view”
Review of Poltair

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Poltair
Ranked #22 of 82 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Poltair for four nights and we were very pleased. We decided to stay here as the reviews were really good. The Poltair is a medium-sized guest house in Falmouth about 10-15 minutes’ walk from the shops, pubs and restaurants in town. It is situated in the quieter part, near the beach. Parking is available outside the house and is free of charge.
All rooms have a name. We had a double room called the Beachcomber on the top floor facing out over Emslie Road with a stunning sea view and a private balcony. The room was spacious with tea/coffee facilities, fresh milk in the fridge and a digital T.V. The bed was soft but is my personal preference. The bathroom was of a nice size and well equipped.
The breakfast was really good. There was a choice of traditional full English breakfast or scrambled egg with smoked salmon or some vegetarian options. In addition croissants/muffins/ seasonal fresh fruits/juices were available with homemade bread and marmalade/jam.
The Poltair does not accept debit/credit cards but we were advised this at the time of our booking by e.mail.
The only issue for me was that during the night I could hear our neighbours talking and also their TV through an adjoining wall.
The owner, Malcolm, is a welcoming host, very friendly and always happy to assist.
Very pleasant stay. I would recommend this lovely B & B to anyone travelling to Falmouth.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rijeka_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday-junkies, Owner at Poltair, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Trip Advisor readers
We would like to thank Rijeka for such a complimentary review. We are really sorry about the sound penetration. This building is over 100 years old and although it is not possible to guarantee total sound proofing, guests generally tell us that they find it very quiet here. Looking back to Rijeka's visit we can see a possible reason. The guest in the adjacent room was not on holiday but in fact an engineer working locally and he was working an unusual shift pattern. The vast majority of our guests tell us that they like to get up early and go to bed early and hence it is normally really quiet at night. We are sorry that this detracted from their visit.
Yours sincerely
Anne and Malcolm Grimsley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 183 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

We've stayed at Poltair each time we've been to Cornwall (except one year when we were skint and tried to save money by camping which was an epic fail). Poltair is lovely. Friendly staff. Nice clean, well appointed rooms, beautiful garden, free laptop and Wi-Fi use, amazeballs breakfast (make sure you check the specials board, we nearly missed out on American style pancakes!), tea and coffee and biscuit supplies in room, sometimes fresh baked goods left for visitors at reception, really relaxed with late comers (we tend to check in around 11pm). They've got a new thing now where you can use the pool at the large hotel next door. Is fabulous idea. Didn't get to go on last visit but will definitely be making use of that next time I'm there. If you can afford it, get one of the rooms with the seaview. Best thing to wake up to. Malcolm (owner) and the staff are ridiculously helpful. Really love staying there and can't recommend it enough. Just don't go in the May bank holiday or there may not be space for us ;) lol

Room Tip: We've stayed on the ground floor, 1st floor and (on last visit) on the top floor. There's se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirstie-Bridaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday-junkies, Owner at Poltair, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Trip Advisor readers
We would like to thank Kirstie for such a wonderful review. Unfortunately the swimming offer expires at the end of August but it is good to know that it was appreciated.
Yours sincerely
Anne and Malcolm Grimsley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Can only agree with other 5 circle reviewers. Homemade cakes on arrival, homemade bread, jams, yoghurt, tasty breakfasts and one of the best showers I have used. Comfortable beds and excellent service and amenities. A pleasure to stay at Poltair.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cuthman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday-junkies, Owner at Poltair, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Dear Trip Advisor readers
We would like to thank Cuthman for such a splendid review. Anne sometimes feels guilty because she does not spend as much time with guests as she would like because she always seems to be cooking something in the kitchen! We are pleased that so many reviewers appear to appreciate the selection of home-made goodies.
Yours sincerely
Anne and Malcolm Grimsley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The Poltair is a well run, friendly b and b in a lovely location. Our spotless room had a lovely balcony, which meant we could enjoy beautiful sea views. Malcolm is a friendly host and the ladies that work in the breakfast room are also very friendly and efficient. The breakfasts were delicious and always served piping hot. The hotel is only a short walk from both the beach and the town centre. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday-junkies, Owner at Poltair, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Dear Trip Advisor readers
Thank you to Zeks for such a nice review. We are always pleased if guests are happy with us but are particularly pleased if our staff are complimented - it is a great motivator.
Yours sincerely
Anne and Malcolm Grimsley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Despite visiting this establishment on average at least three times a year over many years now we are embarrassed not to have previously written a review expressing our delight with every aspect of each of our every stay at Poltair. Sorry Malcolm and Anne; Jo-Anne and Andy (not forgetting Oscar).
Our continued return is testiment to the fact of having spent many a happy weekend in Falmouth based at Poltair; each room always spotless and indiidual with so many of the proprieters' "special touches". The top floor rooms have breathless balcony views over the bay.
I do not believe I have ever expereinced such a diverse breakfast anywhere else with daily specials and home made produce. Anne frequently makes superb home made cakes available for guests to enjoy with tea in the afternoons. There is not enough space to highlight all the attributes so to sum up there is a sign in the hall the says enter as a guest but leave as a friend - I can honestly say that this is how we regard all at Poltair.

Room Tip: The top floor rooms have superb balcony views across the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday-junkies, Owner at Poltair, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Dear Trip Advisor readers
We would like to thank Charlie F for such a kind review. We have been lucky to have many lovely guests over the years and this reviewer is one of the loveliest!
And... WOW...our 100th 5 circle review - we are thrilled. We would like to take this opportunity to thank everyone who has previously given us a score of 5 - we are truly flattered.
We would also like to acknowledge those reviewers who gave us lower marks. We know we are not perfect but we do strive to be excellent (i.e. a 5 score). If some reviewers find us less than excellent then we will try even harder in future.
Yours sincerely
Anne and Malcolm Grimsley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

My second visit to this lovely little hotel. The weather was wonderful for this trip to Falmouth and the stay at Poltair topped off a lovely few days enjoying Cornwall. The Hotel remains clean, well organised and friendly. The breakfasts are wonderful, home made yoghurt and bread and nothign too much trouble. Thoroughly recommended once again. Many thanks - keep it up!

Room Tip: Front facing offers a fine view and a balcony but all are good, clean and have lovely fixtures and e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank May27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

As always a great stay at the wonderful Poltair. We came back for the Sea Shanty Festival in June 2013 for the 4th year, so that really tells you all you need to know. 5* accommodation, amazing breakfasts (can you eat again during the day? We couldn't!) and even the grey cat had become friendly. One small observation; the breakfast local radio station was drowning conversations between us and other guests, who we recognised from the previous year. We'll go back again next year, and so should you. 10/10.

Room Tip: Beachcomber or Seagull, on the top floor facing out over Emslie Road, towards the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday-junkies, Owner at Poltair, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Trip Advisor readers

Thank you to RobSandy for taking the time and trouble to write a 4th review - we are all thrilled.

I will tell Anne and Malcolm about the radio - I'm sure they'll sort it out.

Guests at Poltair are lovely so I always try to be friendly (I used to be very nervous before I lived at Poltair).

Love from Oscar (the grey cat)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0 mi away
The Lerryn Hotel
The Lerryn Hotel
#7 of 24 in Falmouth
433 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gyllyngvase House Hotel
Gyllyngvase House Hotel
#18 of 24 in Falmouth
94 reviews
2 mi away
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
#14 of 24 in Falmouth
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#5 of 24 in Falmouth
374 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cutty Sark Inn
Cutty Sark Inn
#38 of 82 in Falmouth
8 reviews
0 mi away
Chelsea House
Chelsea House
#2 of 82 in Falmouth
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poltair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poltair

Address: Emslie Road, Falmouth TR11 4BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range: $84 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Poltair 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Poltair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poltair Hotel Falmouth
Poltair Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing