We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location”
Review of Poltair

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Poltair
Ranked #19 of 82 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Wigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely location”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The Poltair is a well run, friendly b and b in a lovely location. Our spotless room had a lovely balcony, which meant we could enjoy beautiful sea views. Malcolm is a friendly host and the ladies that work in the breakfast room are also very friendly and efficient. The breakfasts were delicious and always served piping hot. The hotel is only a short walk from both the beach and the town centre. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday-junkies, Owner at Poltair, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor readers
Thank you to Zeks for such a nice review. We are always pleased if guests are happy with us but are particularly pleased if our staff are complimented - it is a great motivator.
Yours sincerely
Anne and Malcolm Grimsley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    19
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
84
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lLymouth
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Despite visiting this establishment on average at least three times a year over many years now we are embarrassed not to have previously written a review expressing our delight with every aspect of each of our every stay at Poltair. Sorry Malcolm and Anne; Jo-Anne and Andy (not forgetting Oscar).
Our continued return is testiment to the fact of having spent many a happy weekend in Falmouth based at Poltair; each room always spotless and indiidual with so many of the proprieters' "special touches". The top floor rooms have breathless balcony views over the bay.
I do not believe I have ever expereinced such a diverse breakfast anywhere else with daily specials and home made produce. Anne frequently makes superb home made cakes available for guests to enjoy with tea in the afternoons. There is not enough space to highlight all the attributes so to sum up there is a sign in the hall the says enter as a guest but leave as a friend - I can honestly say that this is how we regard all at Poltair.

Room Tip: The top floor rooms have superb balcony views across the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday-junkies, Owner at Poltair, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor readers
We would like to thank Charlie F for such a kind review. We have been lucky to have many lovely guests over the years and this reviewer is one of the loveliest!
And... WOW...our 100th 5 circle review - we are thrilled. We would like to take this opportunity to thank everyone who has previously given us a score of 5 - we are truly flattered.
We would also like to acknowledge those reviewers who gave us lower marks. We know we are not perfect but we do strive to be excellent (i.e. a 5 score). If some reviewers find us less than excellent then we will try even harder in future.
Yours sincerely
Anne and Malcolm Grimsley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

My second visit to this lovely little hotel. The weather was wonderful for this trip to Falmouth and the stay at Poltair topped off a lovely few days enjoying Cornwall. The Hotel remains clean, well organised and friendly. The breakfasts are wonderful, home made yoghurt and bread and nothign too much trouble. Thoroughly recommended once again. Many thanks - keep it up!

Room Tip: Front facing offers a fine view and a balcony but all are good, clean and have lovely fixtures and e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank May27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, Shropshire UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

As always a great stay at the wonderful Poltair. We came back for the Sea Shanty Festival in June 2013 for the 4th year, so that really tells you all you need to know. 5* accommodation, amazing breakfasts (can you eat again during the day? We couldn't!) and even the grey cat had become friendly. One small observation; the breakfast local radio station was drowning conversations between us and other guests, who we recognised from the previous year. We'll go back again next year, and so should you. 10/10.

Room Tip: Beachcomber or Seagull, on the top floor facing out over Emslie Road, towards the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday-junkies, Owner at Poltair, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor readers

Thank you to RobSandy for taking the time and trouble to write a 4th review - we are all thrilled.

I will tell Anne and Malcolm about the radio - I'm sure they'll sort it out.

Guests at Poltair are lovely so I always try to be friendly (I used to be very nervous before I lived at Poltair).

Love from Oscar (the grey cat)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minehead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Another lovely stay at Poltair, we stay here every time we visit Falmouth. Malcolm, Anne and the staff are very helpful and cannot do enough to make your stay as pleasurable and relaxing as possible. Nothing is too much trouble.

Rooms are very clean and have excellent facilities, definately like a home from home! Plenty of choice at breakfast, the homemade yoghurt and bread is a superb addition.

Brilliant location with just a short walk to either the town or the seafront making it an ideal base when visiting Falmouth. We would highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curtis0105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Excellent B&B which the owners run with a real sense of pride, lovely well decorated rooms with clean crisp bedding on comfortable beds.The facilities in the room are excellent, most impressed with the small fridge, fresh milk and nice mugs and breakfast a well deserved ten out of ten.
The hotel is in a great position close to Falmouth town centre with lovely sea views, we have had a great weekend and highly recomend this accomodation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Cannot recommend Poltair highly enough, agree with everyone else's comments, wouldn't think of staying anywhere else in Falmouth, it's definately home from home with the added bonus of home made jams, breads, yoghurts etc

Room Tip: We have stayed in two of the rooms, all good, the Heron was the last one, lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarblesHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#3 of 23 in Falmouth
337 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 23 in Falmouth
1,086 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Lerryn Hotel
The Lerryn Hotel
#6 of 23 in Falmouth
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#10 of 23 in Falmouth
1,108 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 23 in Falmouth
1,047 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chelsea House
Chelsea House
#4 of 82 in Falmouth
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poltair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poltair

Property: Poltair
Address: Emslie Road, Falmouth TR11 4BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Poltair 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Poltair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poltair Hotel Falmouth
Poltair Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing