We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prince of Wales

Prince of Wales
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Prince of Wales
Ranked #31 of 81 Falmouth B&B and Inns
plymouth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

friendly welcoming atmosphere good old traditional pub. service a+++ rooms clean and spacious. location ideal owners pleasant to chat to would recommend to all my friends
well definitely return for wknd break next year

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maddydoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    14
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
23
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Great hosts, great food, big room which was very clean. The only downside is that this is located in a central location which means you do get a bit of noise which woke us up but the bed was so comfy we fell back to sleep almost straight away.
Breakfast is worth a mention as it is fantastic and served in the room was an added bonus.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We needed a hotel in Falmouth as we were dropping No 1 son off at Falmouth Uni and, as it was also our wedding anniversary, we decided to make the most of our Saturday night in Falmouth. Accommodation in Falmouth is now seriously expensive so I was delighted when I spoke to Jane and discovered that they had had a last minute cancellation. The room was huge, spotlessly clean and the bed was very comfortable. The shower was excellent and the cooked breakfast (which we had at the table in our room which overlooked the pier) was superb. Dave and Jane were very welcoming and helpful (both on the phone and whilst we were there) and we would definitely recommend the Prince of Wales to anyone looking for modestly priced accommodation (we paid £60 for bed and breakfast for a room with a Queen sized bed which also had an additional single). Car parking was to be found 5 minutes away in Town Quarry car park (which does have RINGO) which cost £5.50 for 24hrs from Saturday afternoon onwards. The only real downside was that we were kept awake by the flags outside the pub flogging all night due to the onset of a storm, which wouldn't normally be a problem. The only suggestion would be to secondly glaze the window at the front to cut down noise (including late night revellers walking through the town). Overall though, we thought that it was a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobeTrottingBrit_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

This B&B is of a good Central location opposite the pier! My family found this accommodation very homely. We had a spacious room with comfy beds and a strong shower! Friendly, helpful owners! We parked in a residential area 15 mins walk away near the train station to avoid paying for parking in Falmouth. Would stay again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tallulah8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westonzoyland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We where a bit apprehensive at first in booking a room in a pub as we usually stay in hotels. BUT this was a fantastic find in the middle of Falmouth.
The hosts, Dave and Julie, are very friendly as are the rest of the family :)
Nothing was too much trouble for them. The breakfast was exceptional value for money. Hubbie had full english, whereas I ate continental with lots of coffee!
The ensuite room was HUGE, with views out to the Prince of Wales Pier and beyond.
The room could do with a bedside table (to put your specs) and maybe a lamp or a switch near to the bed to turn of the light.....but it didn't detract from our overall experience.
The music in the pub wasn't too loud in the room but if you did want to hear more...open the window!
Can't wait for our next visit :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

Stayed here a couple of weeks ago as was down in Falmouth to go to an event in Events Square. Had been looking at hotels in the town only to see prices were £80 + for one night quite far out from the town centre. I found quite by accident Prince of Wales. Only £50 for the night so I booked.

What a great little find! Slap bang in the middle of the town. Seriously, a fantastic location! Really friendly owner. Massive rooms spotlessly clean. Ok so it's rooms above a pub, you're not going to get The Ritz. It's a little out-dated but who cares, the place is still spotless, and the room is massive.

If an early night is what you're looking for, perhaps this isn't the place for you as they have live music playing quite a bit from what we could see. On the evening we stayed there was a live band playing til late but we loved it, we were able to come in from our night out, sit in the bar and soak up the atmosphere of a live band playing to a packed audience.

Will definitely be staying here next time we visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

Enjoyable stay at the Prince of Wales. Very friendly hosts. Lovely full English Breakfast. Evening entertainment was varied and different but enjoyable.
Very central and some lovely walks in the local area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holidayersSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.5 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#10 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jacobs Ladder Inn
Jacobs Ladder Inn
#47 of 81 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seaview Inn
Seaview Inn
#15 of 81 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Headlands
Headlands
#10 of 81 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lyonesse Guest House
Lyonesse Guest House
#11 of 81 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oasis Guest House
Oasis Guest House
#29 of 81 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince of Wales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince of Wales

Property: Prince of Wales
Address: 4 Market Strand, Falmouth TR11 3DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Prince of Wales 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Prince of Wales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Of Wales Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing