We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delicious fish in a fun atmosphere”
Review of Waterside

Waterside
Ranked #67 of 229 Restaurants in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“delicious fish in a fun atmosphere”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This charming and original restaurant is particularly strong on local and fresh fish. The menu changes each day according to the catch. We had scallops in their shells with dashes of sausage and salad and delicious home cooked fish cakes followed by hake with spinach and a lovely paella (hardly any rice and mainly fish). Lemon posset followed as did a tray of yummy local cheeses. John is a friendly manager who manages to make you feel at home and makes helpful suggestions on the ever evolving wine list.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sherrydebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    19
    8
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic Meal”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We were warmly welcomed by John the manager and shown to our table which had a fantastic waterside view. My husband started with home made leek and potato soup - a glass of red wine for me. The beef and ale pie was tender and tasty - my husband's choice. I had the delicious fishcakes. Scrummy puds to follow. A great meal, fantastic location and very welcoming staff.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank H d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great restaurant”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

we go to this restaurant regularly as the menu changes frequently according to what's in season and what's been caught fresh that day.
The fish is local and it's very well priced.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stopped for a lunchtime drink and a snack in the middle of a long walk on a cold day. The place was almost empty but the owner was friendly and welcoming and we had a lovely lunch. Would definitely return if in the area as we felt like valued customers even though we didn't spend much.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JanuaryLantern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic seafood”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Delicious & varied seafood dishes, relaxed atmosphere and great service. We have visited this restaurant twice (so far) and thouroughly enjoyed both meals, particularly the scallops & hogs pudding. There is no children's menu but you can order a child's size meal from the menu.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterside also viewed

 
Falmouth, Cornwall
Falmouth, Cornwall
 
Falmouth, Cornwall
Falmouth, Cornwall
 

Been to Waterside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing