We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Falmouth's Gem”
Review of Chain Locker

Chain Locker
Ranked #54 of 233 Restaurants in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Following a sensitive yet spectacular restoration the Chain Locker, on Falmouth’s historic quayside will reopen in early September 2017. The newly renovated interiors will combine stylish and contemporary dining with the original and distinctive charm of the 16th century inn believed to be one of Falmouth’s oldest buildings. The first floor will provide unrivalled waterside views of the bustling key and spectacular natural beauty of Carrick Roads with two fantastic new balconies perfect for dining alfresco. On the ground floor the original bar has been refreshed and brought back to its former glory retaining the ambience that locals and visitors love. Our new menus combine pub classics with enticing specials making the most of the freshest seasonal ingredients. Behind the bar you will find locally brewed beers, west country ciders, fine wines by the glass, classic cocktails and barista coffees. Manager Nathan Boundy and the team look forward to welcoming you!
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We (a few friends and I) have just got back from our annual trip to Falmouth and over the last few years The Chainlocker (and now Shipwrights) has been our base in the area. We have always found the team to be very friendly and deliver great service. The Beer is well kept and they have a good selection of Real Ales (the Skinners brews have to be my favourite) however I am told the Guinness is well looked after too. Finally the setting, outside on the harbours edge it beautiful and inside the Chainlocker is full of fishing/sailing references. Shipwrights has been beautifully restored and has a great character all of its own. I would highly recommend both pubs, I only wish they were a bit closer to the midlands!

Thank Dazzie_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (320)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

251 - 255 of 320 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

New outside tables & chairs
Beer good
Doombar excellent when it was on!
Toilets need to be upgraded
Staff very friendly

Thank RichardS944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Every time that we visit Falmouth, if it's a sunny day, a must-do for us is to sit outside the Chainlocker, for a drink and a snack. It has lovely views and sitting by the waters edge is very relaxing.

We called in this lunch-time and had Nachos with Chilli Beef - it was a sharing dish (just enough for two) and cost £7.99 - it was delicious and very moreish - highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Julieann100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Great place, came back again and again to sit outside in the early evening and drink the odd pint or three. We would have likied to have eaten here but the day in question was burgers only, due to the Red Arrows display. Alas, the event was cancelled due to low cloud.

Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chainlocker S, Manager at Chain Locker, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

We are pleased you enjoyed the pub during your stay in Falmouth. It was a real shame the display was cancelled but we’re sure Falmouth Week will be back better than ever next year!
The Chainlocker & Shipwrights

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We had rotting salad on our plates and when we pointed this out to the lady serving us she acknowledged it, didn't apologise and proceeded to charge us £60! It was awful, a real shame as they used to serve good food. The prawns looked like they had been take out the freezer and run under hot water to defrost, the jacket potato was obviously cooked in a microwave, the mashed potato was seriously lumpy! There are so many great places to eat and drink in Falmouth so don't waste your time or money at The Chain Locker.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank C0rnwall1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chainlocker S, Manager at Chain Locker, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We pride ourselves on the quality of our food & so take complaints of this nature very seriously. We are disappointed we were not able to resolve your complaint during your visit. We would like to look into this further for you & would be pleased if you were willing to discuss this in further detail. Please send us an email at chainlockerandshipwrights@orchidpubs.co.uk so we can try to rectify what went wrong for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chain Locker also viewed

Falmouth, Cornwall
Falmouth, Cornwall
 
Truro, Truro District
St Austell, Cornwall
 

Been to Chain Locker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing