We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liked it! Steak Melt in a Baguette”
Review of Chain Locker

Chain Locker
Ranked #72 of 230 Restaurants in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Following a sensitive yet spectacular restoration the Chain Locker, on Falmouth’s historic quayside will reopen in early September 2017. The newly renovated interiors will combine stylish and contemporary dining with the original and distinctive charm of the 16th century inn believed to be one of Falmouth’s oldest buildings. The first floor will provide unrivalled waterside views of the bustling key and spectacular natural beauty of Carrick Roads with two fantastic new balconies perfect for dining alfresco. On the ground floor the original bar has been refreshed and brought back to its former glory retaining the ambience that locals and visitors love. Our new menus combine pub classics with enticing specials making the most of the freshest seasonal ingredients. Behind the bar you will find locally brewed beers, west country ciders, fine wines by the glass, classic cocktails and barista coffees. Manager Nathan Boundy and the team look forward to welcoming you!
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Did it the (almost) hard way - sailed in from the Solent.
Fed up with pasties and Marks and Spencers on board so tried their steak melt baguette which was very generous and tasty and not expensive. Rare and Medium were as requested. Beer good and location excellent. Staff friendly and has a nautical air. Free Wifi! which they want to charge you for on the Town Quay. Recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank exwife1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chainlocker S, Manager at Chain Locker, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you for sharing. We're pleased you enjoyed our pub and we hope you'll pop in when you're sailing through next time!
The Chainlocker & Shipwrights

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
There are newer reviews for Chain Locker
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

198 - 202 of 260 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

A friend and I were on a motorbiking break in Falmouth and were recommended to the Chain Locker by our B&B Landlady but the menu was disappointing and the attitude of the staff was appalling - much training required especially to let them know that the customer is paying their wages! We were ignored at the bar for almost 10 minutes whilst people around us were being served. Over two nights they probably lost around £80 of business! The setting is awesome and if they could train their staff properly it should be a great success. However at this stage, and if you want good pub grub (albeit without the view) try Wetherspoons where they know how to treat people well.

    • Atmosphere
    • Service
1  Thank Goldit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chainlocker S, Manager at Chain Locker, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

We're sorry to hear about your recent experience. We've only recently been serving our new menu which was developed to even further improve the quality & variety of our dishes. We would be keen to know why you felt the menu was disappointing so we could take on board your feedback. We are sorry that you were disappointed by our staff. Again, we would be very interested to discuss this further with you, as a complaint of this nature has never been brought to our attention. If you would be interested in sending us an email: chainlockerandshipwrights@orchidpubs.co.uk we would be pleased for you to share your feedback in more detail.
The Chainlocker & Shipwrights

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This pub is beautiful, the atmosphere in the bar great, the Guinness was good, and the waiter was polite on Sunday evening, 07/07/2013. However, the food was not good and the Caesar Salad was really bad. We waited ages for the first course, and even longer for the main courses. A couple came in after us and were told by the bar staff that there would be a 40 minute wait for food, but we, who had arrived forty minutes earlier, were still waiting. Pity because it is a lovely setting and the staff were pleasant. In fact, when we told the waiter the food was not good, he replied that the chef was having a bad day!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chainlocker S, Manager at Chain Locker, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are sorry that your food service was disappointing during your visit. Unfortunately on this particular day we experienced equipment issues mid-service which led to longer waiting times. Nevertheless, this does not excuse the poor service you received and we are sorry our staff failed to handle your complaint at the time.
If you would like to get in touch with us via email: chainlockerandshipwrights@orchidpubs.co.uk we would be keen to get in touch with you and how we can resolve this for you.
The Chainlocker & Shipwrights

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I was invited to the grand re opening of shipwrights, the moment you walk into the door you're greeted with a very warm welcome. The staff are fantastic and Amanda deserves a special mention just for her sunny smile. The food is very good wholesome fresh and good portions. In my opinion one off the best pints in Falmouth. Well worth a visit to this hidden gem. A huge well done to everyone

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tedster057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chainlocker S, Manager at Chain Locker, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you for sharing. We are thrilled you enjoyed the Re-Opening of The Shipwrights. The atmosphere was great & we managed to raise over £300 for the South West Childrens Hospice thanks to our lovely guests. Hope you’ll pop in and enjoy one of those pints again soon!
The Chainlocker & Shipwrights

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Right on the harbour edge in Falmouth this pub is full of character. A real maritime drinking hole, wide range of beers and good pub grub. The staff were friendly despite it being v busy. There are many tables outside with a friendly busy atmosphere. Went back several times during my holiday in the area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ljrNLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chainlocker S, Manager at Chain Locker, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed the friendly atmosphere and character of our pub. Hope to see you again next time you visit Falmouth!
The Chainlocker & Shipwrights

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chain Locker also viewed

Truro, Truro District
Falmouth, Cornwall
 
Falmouth, Cornwall
Falmouth, Cornwall
 
Falmouth, Cornwall
Falmouth, Cornwall
 

Been to Chain Locker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing