We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great atmosphere and good beers and ciders” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Boathouse

The Boathouse
Ranked #51 of 222 Restaurants in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $24
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Pub with locally sourced, high quality food. Casual dining; order from bar but then waiter service. Eat in our dining area, bar, al fresco on the patio or on our covered balcony, enjoying the exceptional views for which we are renowned.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great atmosphere and good beers and ciders”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is a pub with great character on different levels. Large outdoor seating area and lovely views.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mairi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    63
    14
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Defiantly more pub than restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Visited Bank Holiday – food was OK, my main was piping hot the wife’s duck only warm; guess it was ready before my tasty lamb burger. Very much order from the board at the bar and find a table – there is a nice area with view used for dining and drinking, but our table top was sticky from the last meal, no real waitress service to wipe down. The friendly bar staff brings the food. Evening had good guitarist entertaining.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jgsFalmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Been in Falmouth for the past 4 months on and off, only discovered this place in the last 2 weeks. Probably just as well, food was excellent and a good choice of beers to wash it down with whilst gazing out over the never tiring view.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank u1112046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Phabulous Phood and Phantasic Phireworks!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

What a winner, haven't been here for a year or two I guess, however, once again it's a real treatr and one of Falmouth's best kept secrets. Lovely new extended facility gives truly amazing views across the Penryn River and onto the harbour and Carrick Roads, Three excellent real ales on tap and a fully stocked bar with sensibly priced quality wines. The staff were first class, friendly, accomodating and with a keen sense of humour and a smile to boot! Menu seems to change probably daiuly and is in the form pof daily specials whicg were superb. Two of us had the Venison which was cooke to perfection with a very clever piquant sauce/jus. One Brill and one 28 day oldRump steak served very rare on a Tagliatelle base, very clever indeed. Thoroughly recommened but don't tell too many friends I want a seat next week end. Oh and the Fireworks were a bonus courtesy of Falmouth Week, thank you.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank onetonyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb meal, service and view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Picked this pub as we walked into Falmouth based on a friendly street board and potential for a lovely view. A very friendly bar lady made us feel at home. We had a lovely high quality lamb burger which was cooked excellently and presented well and with tasty accompaniments which were far above average. Enjoyed it so much we went for a sweet, a chocolate brownie sundae which was also first rate. A local beer before and good coffee after added to a great meal. Portions were all generous but not excessive, just how I like it. The bar lady was lovely, and when I asked what the music was she went to the trouble to get me the CD cover (Valerie June, good album!) - that's service that makes a difference. A friendly local said the music is always good. Superb views over the estuary, I could have watched the boats for ages. Lots of locals came in which also tells you it's a place which people want to return to, as I will if back in Falmouth.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ambrose67, Owner at The Boathouse, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write so eloquently,the food,beer and music are the easy bits,well its not rocket science but perhaps it is!! As you correctly observed theres a great mix of locals and visitors at this time of year,pleasing both is the challenge! Enjoy your hols.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boathouse also viewed

 
Falmouth, Cornwall
 

Been to The Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing