We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Value meals due to stingy portion size”

The Seven Stars Inn
Ranked #51 of 230 Restaurants in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Julie and sue are thrilled to invite you to the seven stars inn at the centre of the beautiful village of Flushing. With much experience in running cafes and restaurants in Falmouth, Julie and Sue came over to Flushing in 2009 where they acquired Flushing stores, the local village shop. After three years of living and working in Flushing they took over the Seven Stars Inn in December 2012. They bring to the pub a love for the village and a passion for good locally sourced produce to create delicious menus for to cater for all tastes. There is a varied wine list and also great local beers from Cornwall including, Trelawney and Doom Bar as well as great guest beers that change regularly.
Paignton, Devon
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Poor Value meals due to stingy portion size”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Ideal portions for serious dieters as so small !
We were looking forward to a special celebratory meal as we had seen the previous reviews.
When the food arrived we were shocked at how small the portions were !
The goats cheese and onion tart at £6.95 sounded great but beware it is no bigger than a cupcake and is definitely not home-made ! It was full of flavour but seriously tiny. The accompanying side salad is measly. The bread came with a small ramekin of margarine and we had to ask the waitress for butter instead -- again this is seriously stingy and unhealthy to offer margarine instead of butter and needs to be reconsidered if you are to be a quality pub.
The duck and orange salad lacked a tasty dressing and although the duck was delicious the small portion again did not fill any space !
The lamb cooked in dill sauce was very tasty and the portion size was acceptable.
Location : Great
Food taste: Great
Portion Size: Very Poor
Overall we were most disappointed and felt the meal to be poor value for money

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tessa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    28
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Thoroughly Enjoyable”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We've just returned from a weeks stay in Flushing, Falmouth and not only did we have a wonderful relaxing break we found a little gem in the Seven Stars Inn.
An exceptionally welcoming hostelry with both Staff and locals making you at ease.
Food is typical pub fayre and is of a good standard. The beers are superb but make sure if you are a northerner, you ask for a head on the beer!!
Great little local boozer

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marko1878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Gary”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is a very friendly pub with very friendly staff and locals. They make you feel very welcome and if you have a dog they make him/her very welcome as well. The food in the pub is really good and home made ( the steak and kidney pie is out of this world ) , we stayed for a week and every meal we had in the pub was impressive and very good value for money. We look forward to returning to this wonderful part of the world later in the year and the seven stars will be are first port of call again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Excellent affordable meals”
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Homity Pie for the wife and I. Beef in red wine for mum.. excellant meals and wonderful ales. We have enjoyed a very pleasant week in Flushing with a very good varied menu at the Seven Stars.. well done to all the staff... keep up the good work

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Basher99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very mixed”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

First night staying in Flushing, so we thought we would try the Seven Stars. The location was perfect. Sat at a table overlooking the river estuary, lovely. Everything started well, I had fresh prawns and my partner a very nicely prepared prawn cocktail. My main course was very nice - fish pie, clearly home prepared, could have done with a bit more fish but pretty good. My partner had the lamb kebabs and that is where a wheel came off _ tough as old boots and completely tasteless. After that we didn't bother with a sweet
They didn't charge for the lamb so all credit for that.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jean N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Seven Stars Inn also viewed

Falmouth, Cornwall
Falmouth, Cornwall
 
Falmouth, Cornwall
Falmouth, Cornwall
 

Been to The Seven Stars Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing