We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely lunch of fish and chips”
Review of The Shack

The Shack
Ranked #10 of 227 Restaurants in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $41
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to The Shack - a rustic shellfish bar in bustling Events Square, Falmouth, where the food is always fresh! Relaxed dining in an unrivalled atmosphere - with the focus on sparklingly fresh, local seafood. The idea is simple: sociable food and a fun, hands-on approach to shellfish. We've got something for everyone, from shellfish of every variety to fish of the day, steak, vegetarian options and a children's menu. Open 7 days a week for lunch and dinner.
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“lovely lunch of fish and chips”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

we stop of for a light lunch, but derided to have beer battered fish and chips it was lovely and nice and hot, finished with a lemon tart, yum , and the coffee was good as well, defiantly would go again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lynnEnglandSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    503
    196
    41
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“OK”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I have had a better steak from Asda 28 day matured range , not their standard steak, which I have cooked at home. The other members of the party enjoyed their offerings.
Homely and cosy and a little on the expensive side.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T0b123, Owner at The Shack, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Point noted - Perhaps we should start buying our Steak from Asda…..rather than our local Cornish butcher..............
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We hadn't booked though did get squeezed in after having a drink in the bar next door (part of the same restaurant set up). The menu is quite small though everything we chose was very good. The only criticism was that there was quite a wait for food though in fairness we were warned this would be the case however, as the restaurant was emptying out it was difficult to understand the delay. Nevertheless still worth a visit and would go again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarieRutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Cracking little seafood gem!”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I've been here several times and keep coming back. They have a simple seafood menu, specials of the day and simple sides. The service is friendly and efficient, the atmosphere is laid back and almost continental.
I love it, it's a seafood lover's dream, whether it's lunch, dinner for two or a Christmas party. you must try it!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank LordnLadyKernow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Seafood bistro delight in Falmouth”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We have eaten in the shack many times which is why we recommended it as the venue for the start of our Christmas works night out.
It did not disappoint at all whilst catering for the 21 in our party! We virtually filled the warm and friendly restaurant and were looked after impeccably
The food was very good as always and the staff were attentive, friendly and super efficient!

The tables were decorated with Christmas crackers supplied by the Shack, on pulling them we found that some has a free cocktail voucher inside! I was lucky enough to get one and eagerly quaffed a very promptly produced potent cocktail of my choice.

If you want a great place to eat for either a large party, a romantic meal or just a much go here and enjoy!

Thank you :)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Secretspotx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shack also viewed

Falmouth, Cornwall
 

Been to The Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing