We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Should have said something!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Shack

The Shack
Ranked #11 of 226 Restaurants in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $41
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to The Shack - a rustic shellfish bar in bustling Events Square, Falmouth, where the food is always fresh! Relaxed dining in an unrivalled atmosphere - with the focus on sparklingly fresh, local seafood. The idea is simple: sociable food and a fun, hands-on approach to shellfish. We've got something for everyone, from shellfish of every variety to fish of the day, steak, vegetarian options and a children's menu. Open 7 days a week for lunch and dinner.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Should have said something!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Took our daughter and her partner, who run a bar and restaurant in Falmouth to dinner. Ordered the Shack Stack for three (extra £15 on top of £39.95 for two). Didn't want the oysters so asked for extra squid, but when it came it was clearly a stack for two (2 scallops), six prawns, 10 bits of crispy squid, small dish of mussels, one crab ... And one portion of fries. Each of us left feeling hungry, and of course there were only two crab claws so one of us (me) had to miss out on that luxury). My husband had a very overpriced steak. It was all nicely cooked, but never worth the price. I should have stuck with a crab sandwich like I'd so enjoyed there on a previous occasion!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank PinkyInky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T0b123, Owner at The Shack, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you for your review and sincerest apologies for your experience on Thursday evening.

From your explanation, it seems that you were served a Shack Stack for two rather than for 3 as you ordered. This is a complete mistake on our part which we are extremely sorry for.

With regard to the steak, I'm glad you enjoyed it, the price is in line with other restaurants in Falmouth and Truro so I cannot comment further on the pricing.

If you would be so kind enough to email me on info@theshackfalmouth.co.uk I will ensure the matter is dealt with personally.

Kind regards

Toby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    496
    195
    40
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Disappointing on this occasion”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Ate here on the Saturday before Christmas and for the first time had a bad experience. Lots of stuff on the menu had run out, no shack stack and only one portion of chowder left despite it only being 12.30. The salmon mousse was so salty we sent it back, which was handled very well by the staff. Had the squid which was really quite chilli or peppery and the whitebait both a bit disappointing. The one person who got the chowder thought it tasted of potatoes....atmosphere nice but food had slipped on that day.

Helpful?
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T0b123, Owner at The Shack, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your review and sincerest apologies you didn't enjoy your experience as much as usual.
The reason why lots of things on the menu had run out is because of the time of year – over the Christmas and new year period the fish markets come to a stand still meaning quite a lot of shellfish is unavailable (we always let our bookings know during this time)
Rather than closing the restaurant we stay open with what shellfish there is available including other dishes like fishcakes and pies etc etc. We have to go with the flow with what is available and delivery times and hope that you can appreciate this.
The batch of smoked salmon that we used to make the mousse was a lot saltier than usual and we should have realised that before serving it, however am glad the issue was handled well by the staff.
The squid that was really quite chilli or peppery may have been the cayenne pepper we use, however as of now I have instructed the kitchen not to use the cayenne for this dish anymore.
We hope to see you again soon

Kind Regards

Toby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lechlade
Level Contributor
128 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Authentic seafood in unpretentious surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We had an excellent lunch my husband had 2 courses for £12, a superb chowder followed by fresh crab cakes & I had moulles which were succulent & tasty. The restaurant was clean & welcoming. The service was a little slow but we weren't in a hurray. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“great for seafood lovers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

have eaten here a few times and always found the changing menu a challenge in what to choose as everything is tempting..................well worth a visit..................staff very welcoming and helpful

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HelstonMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A must for seafood lovers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

My partner (not usually a seafood lover) and I had a lovely meal here. We shared the Shack Stack and were very pleased with it. We don't like oysters so the staff substituted extra seafood of our choice and were very helpful in explaining how to tackle the crab. The shellfish was delicious, the house wine was reasonably priced and service was friendly but not obtrusive.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank claire_walker12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shack also viewed

Falmouth, Cornwall
 

Been to The Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing