We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing on this occasion”
Review of The Shack

The Shack
Ranked #16 of 244 Restaurants in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $41
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Welcome to The Shack - a rustic shellfish bar in bustling Events Square, Falmouth, where the food is always fresh! Relaxed dining in an unrivalled atmosphere - with the focus on sparklingly fresh, local seafood. The idea is simple: sociable food and a fun, hands-on approach to shellfish. We've got something for everyone, from shellfish of every variety to fish of the day, steak, vegetarian options and a children's menu. Open 7 days a week for lunch and dinner.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Ate here on the Saturday before Christmas and for the first time had a bad experience. Lots of stuff on the menu had run out, no shack stack and only one portion of chowder left despite it only being 12.30. The salmon mousse was so salty we sent it back, which was handled very well by the staff. Had the squid which was really quite chilli or peppery and the whitebait both a bit disappointing. The one person who got the chowder thought it tasted of potatoes....atmosphere nice but food had slipped on that day.

Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T0b123, Owner at The Shack, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thank you for your review and sincerest apologies you didn't enjoy your experience as much as usual.
The reason why lots of things on the menu had run out is because of the time of year – over the Christmas and new year period the fish markets come to a stand still meaning quite a lot of shellfish is unavailable (we always let our bookings know during this time)
Rather than closing the restaurant we stay open with what shellfish there is available including other dishes like fishcakes and pies etc etc. We have to go with the flow with what is available and delivery times and hope that you can appreciate this.
The batch of smoked salmon that we used to make the mousse was a lot saltier than usual and we should have realised that before serving it, however am glad the issue was handled well by the staff.
The squid that was really quite chilli or peppery may have been the cayenne pepper we use, however as of now I have instructed the kitchen not to use the cayenne for this dish anymore.
We hope to see you again soon

Kind Regards

Toby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (884)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

690 - 694 of 884 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2012

We had an excellent lunch my husband had 2 courses for £12, a superb chowder followed by fresh crab cakes & I had moulles which were succulent & tasty. The restaurant was clean & welcoming. The service was a little slow but we weren't in a hurray. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

have eaten here a few times and always found the changing menu a challenge in what to choose as everything is tempting..................well worth a visit..................staff very welcoming and helpful

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank HelstonMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

My partner (not usually a seafood lover) and I had a lovely meal here. We shared the Shack Stack and were very pleased with it. We don't like oysters so the staff substituted extra seafood of our choice and were very helpful in explaining how to tackle the crab. The shellfish was delicious, the house wine was reasonably priced and service was friendly but not obtrusive.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank claire_walker12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Staying for a week in Falmouth, decided to try this place for lunch on the last day as we were staying just yards away overlooking the marina. Very inviting inside, warm welcome and small but really tempting choice of seafood (plus a few other non-fish dishes).

We went for the 2 course lunch offer: starters of whitebait and fish soup, mains of hake and Coquilles St Jacques. So fresh and quantities perfect for lunch; some of the other dishes going past looked really inviting, especially the seafood platter for 2 which comes complete with protective clothing when attacking the lobster and huge brown crab!

Would have given 5 stars, except the bechamel source with the scallops was rather floury and would have benefited from a little extra cooking. That aside, fabulous and will return without a doubt.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank InvernessChoosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shack also viewed

Falmouth, Cornwall
 

Been to The Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing